Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NAV Press Chasing Francis

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

NAV Press Chasing Francis

When the death of a child in his Connecticut congregation sends minister Chase Falson into a tailspin, the elders not-so-gently suggest a sabbatical. So Chase heads for the hills of Italy---searching for himself and a second chance. What he finds is a long-dead saint and an ex-con! Does God have answers Chase can't yet see? 272 pages, softcover from NavPress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chasing Francis
Review 1 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Want to get answers to questions about Faith read

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
ddc812
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have questions about Faith that have been unanswered read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

found myself wondering...

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
suzanneslu
Location:Livermore, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book, but as a former evangelical who has fully embraced and fallen in love with Christ in the Catholic church (as have about a zillion other evangelicals?!), I found myself wondering why Chase decided to go back and start his own version of Christianity. Why not join the church that Jesus Christ founded; of which Francis was a part? This book brings out a lot of beauty/truth of Catholicism, but stops short of actual Truth and then lets itself be re-absorbed by the evangelical "I've-found-something-new-think-i'll-start-my-own-church!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
In his historical novel, Chasing Francis, Ian Morgan Cron explores the life of St. Francis of Assisi. Instead of simply writing another biography of the early Catholic priest and friar, Cron retells the story through the perspective of a modern evangelical minster, named Chase falcon, who has lost his faith. Midway through a service, Chase breaks down and admits his growing doubts about Christianity. Shocked and outraged, the church elders advise Chase to take a leave of absence from the church. Chase travels to Italy where he is lead on a spiritual pilgrimage that introduces him to the ancient teachings of St. Francis.
Cron seamlessly incorporates theology lessons and history into his novel without distracting from the plot. The novel includes several of Chase's journal entries that reflect on what he is learning about Francis. Although Chase is a minster at a megachurch, he comes across as somewhat childish with respect to the Catholic faith. Early in his journey, he often jokes about religious activities the priests engage in. By having other characters correct and explain things to Chase, Cron is given more opportunities to insert historical information.
The book's plot is entertaining and enjoyable. Most characters are dynamic and believable. Maggie's story, however, is slightly cliché. She is an ex-convict whose young daughter has recently died. Instead of returning to drugs and crime, she becomes an important figure in the Chase's church. Nevertheless, Chasing Francis is a great read for anyone interested in learning about St. Francis, or wanting to read a Catholic conversion story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeper journey of faith

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron is a novel that follows the senior pastor of an evangelical church who, in crisis over a longing for deeper faith, joins his uncle in Italy to embark on a pilgrimage to learn more about who St. Francis of Assisi was and how this humble monk became the first postmodern Christian. The reader is challenged to look at the way we “do” church in the twenty-first century and evaluate whether or not we are fully living the gospel of Christ and being faithful to it. What can we learn from the myriad followers of Jesus who have gone before us? Is there benefit in preserving our spiritual history and not dismissing it as ancient and arcane?
As a Christian who has been challenged over the last year to evaluate the way I have “done” church, the discovery of this book could not have been more timely. The traditions of the church, the symbols and architecture, the deep appreciation for the arts, and the centrality of the Eucharist all speak of a deeper understanding and expression of the faith that I had yet to experience. Chasing Francis, along with its study guide, has given voice to some of my spiritual longing that had yet to be fully understood.
This book is an excellent guide for anyone who is mildly curious about the more traditional ways of doing church, for those who want to take their faith deeper, and the ones who want to spur their church on to become more intentional in living out the Gospel of Christ.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am an armchair traveler. I love to read books, both fiction and nonfiction, that take place in faraway lands. So many times these places that a strong historical impact on the Christian faith. In Chasing Francis, Chase Falson is the pastor of a large church who is having a crisis of faith. The elders of his church strongly suggest that he take some time away. So, Chase decides to go far away to visit his uncle in Italy where he learns more than he thought possible about St. Francis of Assisi and his own faith.
This novel has three very strong aspects that made it an interesting and inspiration book. I loved the travel to a place I have never been, but would love to. This book is an excellent history lesson, but the history is woven into the story through conversations and Chase’s observations and reflections, so it is never dry or boring. Chasing Francis also has the everyday scenario that all Christians face sooner or later – a crisis of faith and restoration. All of these things come together to make for an unforgettable reading experience. This book is a fast read and a relaxing read. I really enjoyed Chasing Francis and recommend it for all readers who enjoy a book that lets them learn, travel and rediscover or strengthen their faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Think outside the box

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
krispinc
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read this book twice, once on my own and once in a home group setting. The discussion it created was incredible. We were able to explore the differences of our church cultures and practices, coming to appreciate the various nuances of each denomination represented. While a work of fiction, it gave us a better understanding of God's gentleness and of how we can care better for his creation and each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Janes
A more accurate title for Cron's book, Chasing Francis- A pilgrim's Tale, would have been: "My Coversion to Roman Catholicism from Evangalism". Cron's work tells the story of a dissapointed, dissolusioned, pastor, who has a spiritual break-down following the unexpected death of a child in his parish. Unable to find solace within God's word, the hero, the young pastor named Chase, seeks to find "another Jesus", whereas on page 37 he states: "I'm sure there's another Jesus I haven't met yet. How on earth do I find him?". Yet, this is in direct opposition to Paul's warnings in his letters of the new testament of the bible, when he explains that some followers will abandon their faith and the truth that they learned for a false gospel or a false depiction of Christ. Also Jesus tells the parable of the seed, how it fails to grow when it becomes entangled with thorns- a metaphor for those whose weak faith is broken in the face of hardship. The response of this Pastor to tragedy is disheartening and discouraging for anyone who has faced personal tradgedy yet found solace in God.Is it required that one just leave his home and go on an expensive, nostalgic siteseeing trip to get away from the pain of life? Chase openly declares on page 43: "I want to find a new church and a new way to follow Jesus". The books is subtle and cleverly written that it could turn any unsuspecting reader into a Roman Catholic, endearing almost anyone into believing in the legitimacy of the intercession of the Saints, the priesthood, the mystical visions/ appirations of Mary, the authority of the pope and transubstantiation. Key Catholic terms (on page 33), such as the Eucharist and the intercession of the Saints are repackaged and redefined in order to make the concepts more palitable to those with bible based faith. Rituals, to see more go to http://pjtheemt.blogspot.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron is what my friend would call "literature." Chase has a crisis of faith when a little girl in his congregation dies. Not sure if he believes in Jesus or the Church anymore, he goes to Italy to visit his uncle Kenny, a Franciscan friar. Kenny directs Chase on a pilgrimage, where he learns about the life of St. Francis of Assisi and how St. Francis relates to Chase's life and the modern-day church.This one's really hard to describe - probably because I'm still processing some of what I read. There's a lot of great history in the novel and I learned a lot about St. Francis. I made several new realizations reading the book, and felt like I went on a bit of a pilgrimage myself. (I even stopped reading and started discussing with my husband a few times!) There is also a little journal type section at the back of the book, which would really help readers glean even more from the book.I really enjoyed the book and learning more about the subjects that the author addressed. Not easy summer reading, but definitely one I would recommend!I received this book for FREE from NavPress Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorie
Chase Falson is the pastor of a New England Mega-Church who becomes disillusioned with evangelicalism. His crises of faith comes to a dramatic climax during a Sunday service, after which the elders of his church ask him to take a leave of absence. Chase ultimately ends up on a spiritual pilgrimage through Italy with his uncle Kenny, a Franciscan Priest. Kenny and a few other interesting characters teach Chase about the life and faith of Saint Francis of Assisi.Chasing Francis is a novel which seeks to entertain as well as teach. The subject matter made for a strange mix of fact and fiction. While the topic is deeply spiritual and requires soul searching, the story line was somewhat simplistic and amusing. The kind of escapist fiction that is read in an afternoon. The spiritual aspect of the work required much more personal investment.Throughout Chases pilgrimage I was drawn to ask myself many important questions about my own walk with the Lord and challenged to filter these things through the Word of God. The ideas introduced by the author have potential to be spiritually life changing. This book helped me understand why so many people are currently leaving the modern evangelical church in favor of more liturgical or mystical method of worship. While I do not personally agree with all of the conclusions drawn by the author, I appreciate the well balanced approach he takes in his writing. Overall, a very enjoyable read.I received a free copy of this book from NavPress for review in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
The book Chasing Francis by Ian Morgan Cron gives us a look at St. Francis of Assisi. For 20 yrs Chase Falson thought he knew all the answers, but a senseless death shakes his faith. When he has to bury 9 yr old Iris Harmon, a little girl whom he had baptized at three months old, he could no longer hold it together. Iris's death had been a senseless tragedy, she had fallen off her bike and bumped her head and never woke up. He is with Iris mom Maggie, when she decides to turn off life support.When she turns to him and asks how god could do this he had no answers. Four days later he has a meltdown in front of the whole congregation of his church.So as you can imagine the elders of the church aren't sure what to do with him so they decide to give him some time off. He goes to Italy to visit his uncle Kenny a Franciscan Priest. Kenny decides to take Chase on a pilgrimage thru the teaching of Saint Francis of Assisi. Throughout this book I felt like I was on the pilgrimage right along with Chase. The vivid descriptions of the places he visited were just magnificent. Even though this book is a work of fiction I came away from it feeling I had been a little more educated about Saint Francis of Assisi. This is a very well written, thought provoking book. If you have ever struggled with your faith, then this book might be for you. Even though I was provided a review copy of this book from NavPress it in no way alters my opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
debs
This book is about Pastor Chase Falon from a rich New England town church and has lost his faith and passion for the Christian life. The book begins as the church elder members have decided to put Chase on a leave of absence. Chase decides to go to visit his uncle Kenny that is in Italy, a Franciscan Priest. Kenny is very happy that Chase comes for a visit, he feels that Chase shall learn about Francis of Assisi (a catholic Saint). The book is the adventure of Chase learning from Kenny and his friends on daily trips through history of where Saint Francis did all his mission work. The pilgrim's journey that Chase is on, is a lesson of what Christianity is all about.This book has many colorful characters and a very unexpected ending. I had a hard time with the history parts of the book, but the whole concept was very appealing and enjoying. If you like history then this book is definitely for you.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
This book took me a LONG time to get into, but around the 1/3 of the way point, well, I could barely put it down. Basic plot: Evangelical church planting minister has a major crisis of faith. Calls on his uncle, who happens to be a Franciscan monk over in Italy, and is invited to come on a pilgrimage. Learns about St. Francis, but even more about himself. Comes back to his church a different man, and deals with the repercussions of that.The story is semi-biography (of St. Francis of Assisi), but also something of a tour of modern Catholicism, at least as carried out by the Franciscans, through the eyes of an evangelical pastor in need of some major healing and a fresh perspective. It is somewhat of a commentary on the church of today. Somewhat of a recipe for what might be needed for the church to stay relevant in post-modern culture. And at points, it is laugh out loud funny. His description of the Italian nuns boarding a bus... very funny.I knew little about St. Francis before reading this book. And it is a little weird for me to be looking at Catholicism through the eyes of an evangelical, since I'm not in either camp. But the story gave me so much to think about. I highly recommend this to, well, pretty much anybody.I found the parallels drawn between our time and the time of Francis to be really interesting.I didn't even see the study guide in the back of the book until I was about halfway through. So I will have to come back to the book and work through that on my second journey through. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
While some things in this book were a bit foreign to me because I dont know a lot about the Catholic faith, I found this book easy and enjoyable to read. The book itself is not about the Catholic faith, per say, but about the life of Francis, who gave all he had to give to those around him. Chasing Francis gives you insight into a historical figure of the Middle Ages while weaving a modern day story of the modern church and its struggles throughout its entirety. You follow along Chase as he rediscovers his love for Christ and reclaims his desire to lead a church that gives their all to the Lord.A few of the stories about Francis did seem a bit far fetched and I am not able to say I agree with all that was within this book, but overall, I would say it is a fascinating book. If you enjoy reading and learning about historical figures, I would definitely recommend this as a book to give you insight into the life and teachings of St. Francis of Assisi.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chasing Francis
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
DJ Brett
An extremely interesting read. It will challenge you to examine your paradigm for church. Cron uses the life and writings of Francis of Assisi to offer a new way of doing church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.