Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street The Bride Collector - eBook

Center Street The Bride Collector - eBook

He loves them because they are beautiful. He kills them because he loves them.

A Virtuoso killer is carving a path of death across the west,intent on killing only the most beautiful women, all in the name of love. He has claimed six victims and slipped through the FBI's fingers, each time leaving behind a hand written note and a bridal veil.

Full of surprising wit and hair-raising twists that will keep you riveted to the end, The Bride Collector will haunt you with a new way of looking at beauty, love and the world in which you live.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bride Collector - eBook
Review 1 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disturbing & lacking in value

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nicole4Revival
Location:Saginaw, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read almost half of this book and had to throw it in the trash. The graphic details of murders committed by an insane individual were over the top. Although CBD was offering this book, I saw no relation to Christian faith, God's Word or anything that would have redeemed this dark, unprofitable storyline. There was no foul language, but that did not save this book. As believers, we should be careful about what we take into our minds--I saw absolutely no value in this book--I neither learned anything of value nor was I entertained in a fashion that was God-honoring or noble.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bride Collector was an excellent book to read. After the first 100 pages, it got really hard to put the book down. Ted Dekker did an amazing job putting the book together, it was a good christian thriller. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes thrillers. It also had a little bit of romance along the way which I admired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting point driven home!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
cjdoppler
Location:Anthem, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure what I would think of this book because I don't read much fiction. However, I took a chance on this one for some reason and I did truly enjoy it. In fact, I couldn't put the book down after the first few chapters. I'm partial to psychological thrillers as movies to begin with and this was right up my alley. First read from Dekker but if his others are like this, I will be a return reader! Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
reader
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Ted Dekker is one of the best christian authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

absolutely wonderful

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
shorty
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Ted Dekker novel was one of the better ones I have read. It keeps you in suspense but not for too long. I read this book in two days because I could not put it down. Absolutely a must read for all Ted Dekker fans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
ILJC
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I expected something inspiring since it is a christian book. I understand that it's horror or suspense but I have read christian suspense books that have really inspired me in a way where even in the most difficult situations keeping a level head and waiting on God have allowed the character to survive. From my point of view, I feel that this book is a good starting point for people that are curious for the lord or just want to read somthing a little God inspired. Overall, it was alright, nothing to brag about.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hauntingly Beautiful!

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
M Tanavamel
Location:Lake City, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Psychosis unabridged and unbiased, the reader is left to judge the so-called crazy characters from the normal. Dekker has a way of presenting new perspectives on the uncomfortable things of life. Unconditional love is this novel’s overall theme, though it may difficult to discern at the beginning. I love it when a plot comes together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tatyana
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was okay. I read a lot of reviews before purchasing, and maybe that had build up my expectations for this book-it was average. Good message, already gave it to somebody else to read and she loves it. 2 out of 5 stars
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momo
Location:Denair, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well paced, interesting characters and as always, Dekker puts you inside the mind of most of his characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Fernaays
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was great. I gave it to my daughter and she loved it too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Wright
If you are a fan of surprise endings and can't wait until you get to the next chapter, then this is the book for you. It keeps you guessing right up to the very end. You will love this book from start to finish!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica
I found this novel to be quite thrilling, but my parents have told me not to read any more Ted Dekker because of the violent images it creates. Even though the murders are shown in the right way, being horrible acts, they still don't put pure, holy images in my mind."Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirableif anything is excellent or praiseworthythink about such things." Philipians 4:8
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andie
Another excellent read by Ted Dekker. I am a huge fan, and I really liked this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Theresa
What is beauty? What is love? What is sanity? Who is really mentally ill? What does normal really mean? What if the answers that youve always held true to all of these questions were suddenly flipped on their heads? What if your perception was turned upside down and inside out? Thats what just might happen if you read the story of The Bride Collectorwho just might kill all the beautiful ones.Ted Dekkers newest novel is the story of FBI agent Brad Raines, serial killer Quinon Gauld, and the exceptional young woman named Paradise. More than that, it is the story of Gods favorite, and therefore the story of all of humanity. Gould is the killer known as The Bride Collector. And he is making good on his promise to kill the beautiful ones. Raines is the agent trying desperately to end the collecting. His search for clues and answers leads him to meet Paradise, and meeting Paradise turns his world upside down. The story Dekker tells of love and of beauty and of what it means to be the favorite and of what it really means to be normal stopped me in my tracks, broke my heart, and opened my eyes. After reading it, you will not see everyone else walking through the world with you in the same way as before. Highly recommended. One of Dekkers very best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vickie Gress
Very good book fast moving, If you are a TED DECKKER fan (like I am) it is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Ansel
This is one of the best Dekker books so far. It was intense. Loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Bride Collector by Ted Dekker is another terrifying novel from the king of Christian horror. Brad Raines is tracking a serial killer who has come to be known as the Bride Collector for his posing of the victims. When the FBI runs out of leads, a letter the killer leaves behind takes Brad to a mental institution where he finds that some of the residents may have insight into the mind of the psychopathic murderer. One of the residents, Paradise, is rumored to see ghosts and be able to see the last moments of the dead, but when Brad pulls her into the case, they both find that the case has suddenly become frightening personal. Dekker, who is the Stephen King of Christian fiction, creates a surprisingly intelligent twist on the typical serial killer pursued by the FBI novel. Paradise, and the rest of the patients, are treated with enormous compassion, and the reader will find their eyes and hearts opened to their need to be loved right alongside Brad. Often when an author reveals the murderer to the reader early on, the story loses some suspense, but Dekker keeps the tension ratcheted skintight as the killer continues to evade and outwit the police. His ability to so convincingly climb inside the head of the criminally insane gives the story an unsettling believability. The climax is completely unexpected and shattering. I do hope that Dekker isn't finished with Paradise, Roudy, Andrea, and Cass, they make a fascinating set of crimefighters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Melton
This is the second book I have read of Dekker and it will be the last one. I have no idea why his books are sold at christian bookstores as there is no faith message. This book gets into some very questionable spirititual philosophies. Also, it was very unrealistic that a "normal" guy would fall in love with a woman with so many mental problems.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Overmiller
Ted Dekker has done it again! I could not put this book down! Very suspenseful! The book overall gave me lots to think about, as well as kept me on the edge of my seat!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Bride Collector - eBook
This review is fromThe Bride Collector.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Cocker
Another good book from Ted Dekker that I found hard to put down. He is good at creating psychotic characters, and the killer was definitely crazy. I really like his stories. I was disappointed that he didn't save one of the characters who interacted with the main character, Brad, just because he allowed the reader to come to know her. But, overall, it was a good read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>