Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers The Practice of the Presence of God

Whitaker House Publishers The Practice of the Presence of God

Brother Lawrence was a man of humble beginnings who discovered the greatest secret of living in the Kingdom of God here on earth. It is the art of "practicing the presence of God in one single act that does not end." He often stated that it is God who paints Himself in the depths of our soul. We must merely open our hearts to receive Him and His loving presence, where ever we are, be it in a bustling kitchen or on our knees in prayer. A classic in Christian literature. This edition is abridged and updated, while keeping the essence of the message intact. It contains 4 parts: Conversations, Letters, Spiritual Maxims, and The Life of Brother Lawrence.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Practice of the Presence of God
Review 1 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A great disappointment

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Location:Bath, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sorry, I really wanted to like this book. I had hoped that it would help to deepen my relationship with the Lord. It didn't. The material is basically repeated over and over again. It is very simplistic. I had hoped for something more indepth and practical than this. I cannot recommend this book at all.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very special book

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Kula, HI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first found out about this book when I read a small quote from it in a book by Watchman Nee. I keep going back and reading it again and keep a copy on my desk. Reading a few paragraphs is certain to lift my spirit in a hectic day. Now I try to keep a few copies on hand to share with people as it is so inspiring and gentle and helps us to remember how near and approachable is our God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Christian Experience

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Practice of the Presence of God" has totally changed my life and my relationship with God. This is "THE" book for any serious Christian who wishes a closer walk with God. No words can adequately express the beautiful results in your life of this "Practice of the Presence of God". This is a little book that you will read over and over again - and be blessed each time it is read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Thompson
A must-read for any born-again, blood-bought, child of the Living God regardless of church affiliation. This book will lead the reader into a deeper pathway of developing that 24x7 cognizance of the Lord's presence. What an awesome experience!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Faith Price
The updated text makes this otherwise difficult-to-read classic a joy to read! If you're wanting to go deeper with God, this is required reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy
It's a very easy read, yet holds profound truths in the simplicity of its writing of how to grow in your relationship with God. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rachael
Brother Lawrence's amazingly simple, yet AMAZINGLY PROFOUND nudges toward God in our everyday activities. Definitely a life changer. Small enough, I carry it in my purse. After losing and retrieving it, I wrote "This book belongs to Rachael, but if you've found it, READ IT before giving it back to me!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diane
This man gets it. Simplicity, yet the unending quest of just yielding. The Bible and this book is all you will ever need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Practice of the Presence of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jack Fewx
This book was first lent to me by a dear friend, and judging by the size of the book I jokingly told her that I would have it back to her the next day. That was over a month ago, and I still have it. I'm buying my own copy so that I can return her copy.I so strongly encourage every Christian to pick up and meditate on this book, that any of my friends that can't afford it (college students) I'm buying it for them. This book has become my daily reading during my time with God. Basically, if you want to find the truth on how to grow and walk in your relationship with Christ, pick up this book. If your heart is tuned in to God, you can't read this book and not be touched in some way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.