Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover

Tyndale House NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover

One of today's best-selling study Bibles—the Life Application Study Bible—has been updated and expanded. Over 300 new Life Application notes, nearly 350 note revisions, 16 new personality profiles, updated charts, and a Christian Worker's Resource make this best-seller even better.

New Features:
  • Over 300 new Life Application notes and significant revisions to nearly 350 others
  • 16 new Personality Profiles
  • Most charts revised to clarify meaning and importance, plus eight all-new charts
  • New information on the intertestamental period
  • Christian Worker's Resource, a special supplement to enhance the reader's ministry effectiveness, includes:
    • How to Become a Believer,
    • How to Follow Up with a New Believer,
    • Mining the Treasures of the Life Application Study Bible,
    • So You've Been Asked to Speak,
    • Taking the Step to Application
All this is in addition to the excellent collection of features that have made the Life Application Study Bible a best-seller.
  • Thousands of Life Application notes help explain God's Word and challenge readers to apply the truth of Scripture to life
  • Personality profiles highlight over 100 important Bible characters
  • Book introductions provide vital statistics, overview, and timeline to help readers understand the message of each book
  • 200 thumbnail maps highlight important Bible places and events
  • 260 charts help explain difficult concepts and relationships
  • Cross-references
  • Harmony of the Gospels built right into the text of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Words of Christ in red letter
  • Daily reading plan
  • Additional features:
    • Presentation Page
    • Family records section
    • Single Column Format
    • Side-column cross references
    • Index to Notes
    • Index to Charts
    • Index to Maps
    • Index to Personality Profiles
    • Dictionary/Concordance
    • Scripture Text: 8 Point
    • Notes: 8 Point
    • 16 pages of color maps & diagrams
    • 6 3/4" x 9 1/2" x 2"
    • Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Review 1 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a gift to my step dad

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Betta
Location:Oswego, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is large print which helps him see the text better
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Application Bible

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
zenagirl
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoye the Life Application and highly reccomend it to all, especially those new Christians. It is a great study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Response to "amen" about inconsistent NLT wording

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
tucker
Location:Kansas City
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amen: You wrote, "Bought two for my kids so we could read it together daily, out loud. (I have one already). Did not give high score to "meets expectations" because the wording is not exactly the same in both Bibles even though the IBS nos. on the covers are the exact same. On each page, there was a word or more different than what the other Bible used. Was confusing to my youngest. Raised eyebrow on how that can be..."
The reason for this is because one of your Bibles was using the terribly inferior 1996 text, and the other Bibles were using the vastly superior 2004 revision of the NLT text.
If you are going to purchase a New Living Translation (NLT) product, make certain that you are not being sold the awful 1996 version, but the immensely corrected 2004 text.
I own a wonderful inline cross-reference NLT Bible, except that it uses the very poor 1996 text. When I bought it, I was unaware of the hugely improved 2004 text, and the seller gave no warning that the 1996 version I was purchasing was known to be a very inferior version of the NLT. That was, I think, a bit deceptive. It is also discouraging because I have never found the volume with the 2004 text.
I still use the Bible because of the inline cross-references (i.e., related verses printed in their entirety right there on the same page), but I know now to look elsewhere for vastly more accurate translations of the text.
In short: Make sure your NLT is comprised of the *2004* (or later, if one exists) text, not the sloppy, erroneous and misleading 1996 text.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
biblestudent
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This study bible is ok (using as a secondary source) because there are no thumb tabs.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very helpful

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad that a friend told me about this product.It's very helpful, and full of details. I am impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great NLT with Awesome notes!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking to deepen your Christian faith by living it, then the Life Application Study Bible is for you. This is not the type of study Bible that merely presents history, background, and facts. This study Bible takes scripture and teaches you how to apply it to life and actually live the Christian faith.
This is a hardback edition, which is not as durable as bonded or genuine leather, but is good for studying at a desk.
I can't speak for all editions, but mine was printed and bound in the USA. The text is in single column style rather than the two column traditional setting. This makes it read more like a book and increases smoothness and flow of the text when reading. The red lettering is very consistent, but is on the lighter side. The font is a very readable 9.5 point type.
The Bible itself is on the larger side, but about the average size for a study Bible. It measures in at 9.25x6.25 inches. If you are purchasing a cover, you will need a size X-Large.
It has a presentation page, and a concordance. It has side column references rather than down the middle. Each book has a very concise but interesting introduction, with a timeline, key verse, main idea, and all the other essential information when studying the Bible. One of the interesting features is the character profiles of many popular Bible characters that gives you everything there is to know about their life.
As far as translation issues go, this edition comes in the New Living Translation which is a great version for new Christians who are looking to gain a basic understand of the Bible as a whole.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Clem
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. I have purchased several copies of the NLT for new believers. They have all said how much it really helps them. I myself have the NASB. Love it! Would highly recommend to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read. Practical study notes.

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rodney Ruberg
Location:IN
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NOT my choice for a Study Bible. BUT for a new Christian who is unaccustomed to the more literal version, this dynamic equivalent version provides easy-to-read and understand text. The notes and tables have some good practical values as well -- especially for those new to the Christian Faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LRB07
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NLV translation has become my favorite over the past few years. Combine the translation of this Bible with the wonderful life application notes, and you have an excellent tool for seeking to know God and His Word better. I have been using this version daily for my own edification. It is a bit big though, so I'm not so inclined to use it as my Bible for church. All in all, I highly recommend this Bible for anyone that wants to dig deeper into the Word and practically apply it to modern day life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Content

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kim H
Location:Tampa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible. I used mine daily for the past 2 years and it has fallen apart. I would buy this one again if it weren't for one thing...the pages are very thin and I like to add tabs. The tabs will simply tear off so I wouldn't add them. Content is fantastic and loaded with extras to help with understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:Schertz, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two as gifts for a couple earnestly seeking truth. I think they will be blessed by the translation and the study notes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
monica
Location:Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome study Bible loved all the detailed information that it provides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrsKing
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good Bible...lots of notes! Great for Bible enthusiasts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Hanover, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item several years ago for myself, this one is a gift for my husband for Christmas. He used mine recently in preparing a Bible study lesson and found it very useful and helpful, especially the commentary explanations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent Bible

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
mswmullis
Location:monroe, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third purchase of this Bible. Excellent readability, with detailed notes in the margins that are insightful and helpful (especially when you are studying). Maps are easy to read, with enough surrounding data to give you excellent perspective of the region.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent features

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
akres
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wait (which wasn't long) was well worth it! I am thrilled to have this Bible. It's filled with every extra you could want. I have already told my kids that they need to get one. I know that they will.
Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features...

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
amen
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought two for my kids so we could read it together daily, out loud. (I have one already). Did not give high score to "meets expectations" because the wording is not exactly the same in both Bibles even though the IBS nos. on the covers are the exact same. On each page, there was a word or more different than what the other Bible used. Was confusing to my youngest. Raised eyebrow on how that can be...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ugly cover

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love Life Application study Bibles. I buy them for my graduating seniors and usually individualize them based on their personality and such. I bought the hardcover one for a girl who is vegetarian for "moral" reasons so I wanted to be sensitive and not get her one that even looked leathery. I thought that this cover was black but it is not. It has the weird cover with the words all over it that is not at all pretty. I'm keeping it in my ofice for a reference bible and had to go to a bookstore to buy her another one at over double the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this product

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
lynda
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter said this was "the only Bible she would ever have." Now I know why. I love the version and the referenced study material. Easy to understand and referenced well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Life Application Study Bible - Updated Edition Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Study Bible!!!

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift to a very special friend and she loved it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.