Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase

Oxford University Press The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase

This edition served as the basis of Episcopal worship until 1977, when the prayer book underwent a massive revision to update the language, simplify the seasons of the church year, and add more flexibility to the worship services. Many who miss the beauty of Elizabethan English still prefer it. 611 pages, Hardcover wrapped in burgundy bonded leather. Oxford University.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Review 1 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paul
Location:Kent, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
The book meet my expectations. It was exactly as advertized and as I wanted.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fr Jim
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful edition. It has become practice to give a copy to each confirmand at my church. I would use no other book in my worship services.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Product!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Rehberg
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the prayer book I use in my daily devotions. Growing up with the theologically and liturgically ambiguous 1979 prayer book, I was initially hesitant to change to the 1928. Something about it, however, kept nagging me, and I couldn't put it down. Ultimately, it's the beauty, solid theology, and unapologetic "reformed catholicity" of this liturgy that has made it my favorite. As Dom Dix wrote, the Book of Common Prayer is the best expression of the Protestant ethos of Sola Fide within the context of the ancient liturgical settings. Unlike the 1979 prayerbook, the 1928 BCP is solidly within that heritage. Why settle for fast food when you've been invited to a steak dinner?
This specific edition is absolutely gorgeous. It's so pretty I'm almost hesitant to carry it around in daily use. It's perfect for baptismal, confirmation, wedding, or ordination gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
L Hockaday
Great Product! We got it for my mother's birthday and she loved it. The price was the best around. I would by from them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sueva Terry
I was very pleased when I opened it. The prayer book is beautifully bound. It is going to be a gift for my husband. I'm sure he will love it, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Hancock
I was thrilled to find that you had this item, and your quick delivery (including personalization on the front cover) allowed me to get this to my daughter, who had lost hers, very quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Colescott
Very nice edition. Makes a very nice gift on confirmation. Every Anglican should have it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betty Hoffman
This is an excellent edition of the 1928 Book of Common Prayer. The 1928 Prayer Book has proven its worth over years of use by traditional and conservative Christians. It embodies, in scriptural form, the worship tradition of our Anglican Orthodox Church and is faithful to the doctrine and intent of the Englich Reformation. WE use it alone for our worship and liturgy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The 1928 Book of Common Prayer, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with slipcase
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Erik B. Cowand
I find that this version of the Book of Common Prayer to be quite superior to the more recent(1979). The liturgy is more Christ-centered, and it shows that Christ is indeed in the Book of Common Prayer.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.