Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books The Edge of Recall, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books The Edge of Recall, Large Print

Tessa Young, an up-and-coming landscape architect who specializes in the design and creation of labyrinths, has immersed herself in the mythological, spiritual, and healing aspects of the elaborate structures. She also is searching for God and hoping to make sense of the nightmares that have plagued her since childhood. When Smith Chandler, an estranged colleague--with whom she'd half fallen in love a dozen times before catching herself every time--calls to propose a project he claims is the opportunity of a lifetime, she reluctantly agrees to check it out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
Review 1 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
"The Edge of Recall" is a Christian romantic suspense novel. Both men and women will enjoy it. The pacing was very good. The suspense built as the mysterious intruder on the work site progressed from vandalism to violence and as the truth about Tessa's nightmares came closer to being revealed. Tension was also provided by the various strained relationships. The characters were interesting and complex. The world-building was good, with vivid setting details and some details about the jobs.Tessa built prayer walk labyrinths as a way to help people find God (by walking them). However, as the story progressed, she realized that she also used them as a way to keep God impersonal and at a distance. Her father abandoned her family when she was young, and she's afraid God will, too. As her nightmares spilled into reality, she learned to trust and developed a closer relationship with God. While there were some prayers and God talk, it was not a constant topic.There was no sex. There was no bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this enjoyable novel as well-written, clean reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2009
---Not A Spoiler!!--- I think "The Edge of Recall" has been one of Kristen's greatest books yet! Although if you're new to her books, this one is out of her genre. This was a Fabulous Suspense. It's dramatic, while being funny, romantic and....educational! I'm always "waiting for Kristen Heitzmann's newest releases!" Both me & my husband have enjoyed every one of her books (without a doubt-she's an awesome, gifted, and God-fearing Author)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy
I thoughly enjoyed this book.I stayed up past my bed time more than a few times. I am looking forward to reading more books by Kristen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melanie Stevens
Wow! This book was amazing. I could hardly put it down. It keeps you on the edge of your seat in suspense, but also teaches many lessons. Things are not always what they seem. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an exciting journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
Kristen Heitzmann pens another winner with her novel The Edge of Recall. In this story, the reader tags along with an expert labyrinth architect who is forced to deal with a mysterious monster that plagues her dreams, a father who abandoned her and a college crush who laughed at her goals. Tessa is by no means a weak character, possibly because of how well she has come to know herself in therapy. But is she strong enough to deal with re-creating a labyrinth on a project where she finds herself working for a man who jilted her? Especially when there is a very real threat spying on the team and sabotaging the project.This tale is masterfully told by Kristen Heitzmann, who drops bread crumbs of mystery and romance and long-buried memories that surface at just the wrong or maybe its the perfect time. The supporting characters are as significant as the main players that they evoke a dramatic response in the reader. This book makes me want to construct my own labyrinth in my garden!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Claudia
I just finished " The Edge of Recall" WOW I have loved all Kristin's books, but I could not put this one down. At first I wasn't sure about it, but when I got into it... It is awesome. She never fails me. She always keeps me guessing, and most of all. Her books are good clean reads. Thanks so much, keep them coming. I don't know how, but they keep getting better and better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Smith
Loved this book! Didn't want to put it down once I started reading it. This goes on the bookshelf to read again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Barr
This book is a combination of mystery and romance, well balanced. My favorite kind of book. Educational. The daily Christian references included naturally. I have all of Kristen's books and they keep me up LATE! I don't want them to end either as its an intriguing story. Such a variety of subjects she uses in her books.I appreciate how she uses words and doesn't give overly long unecessary details.Tessa was someone I could identify with in her fears, searching, uncertainties and Smith also had his issues to deal with. I'll probably reread it next year again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rena Clemons
I can hardly put this one down. I think Kristen Heitzmann is a wonderful author and can hold you spellbound
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
I loved this book! I had trouble putting it down from start to finish and I didn't want it to end! It was my first book by this author and I am now a fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
I like Heitzmnn and this book lives up to what I thought it would be. I enjoyed it and will look for her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Neigh
I really did enjoy the book. It kept you on the edge of your seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
TE
This was the first book I read by this author and I'm debating if I want to try another one. I thought this was a good book but not great. It dragged at times and I need to really like the main character, but I found Tessa somewhat annoying at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenn
What can I say about this book that the other readers haven't? I loved the research done on the labyrinths. I have never known about labyrinths as being part of a spiritual journey to meet God in the middle. By that way Tessa Young thought to seek and find the God that seemingly has eluded her. When Smith Chandler, the man whom she has vowed to forget calls her up with an offer of a lifetime. A exquisite labyrinth in Maryland. The memories locked away in the edge of recall haunts her. She also finds herself falling once again for the handsome architect who has betrayed her once before. One night while working in the labyrinth, Smith and Tessa are attacked and Tessa's nightmare begins again. What an incredibly awesome story. The research done was amazing. I learned so much by reading this book. Kristen has always been a favourite author. I do hope that she will be writing for many more years. I look forward to her next story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joy Keen
I love Kristen Heitzmann! I couldn't put this book down. I highly recommend all Kristen Heitzmann's books to everyone. I appreciate the way she encourages readers to think past the romance of the book and really concentrate on the lives and struggles that all believers go through. It is a nice change from all of the "Amish" books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
jg
This was a terrific book, very difficult to put down. It had a ending I never would have predicted. I read both for enjoyment and to broaden my knowledge and spiritual awareness, and appreciated learning about the role labyrinths have played in spirituality throughout history and their potential for future healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ann Beauchamp
I have all of Kristen's books and was definitely anticipating her next one....I believe this was my favorite of them all. I loved the labyrinth theme and the spiritual insights portrayed through it. I also appreciated the fact that it was not your "run of the mill" Christian fiction book....Kristen did a fabulous job and I highly recommend it--definitely five stars!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
D. J. L.
A fascinating read that I couldn't put down. I read a lot of books, and all to often I've figured out the ending long before I get there. I wasn't even close with this book, which I love. A great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Monique Graafland
Kristen Heitzmann is one of my favorite authors. At first I wasn't sure where the story was going, but soon I got into it and injoyed the intrigue and romance. It's definitely worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Edge of Recall, Large Print
This review is fromThe Edge of Recall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joey Koski
I loved the book. I was so captured by Tessa stuggle and how Smith helped her. I so enjoyed how Donny was discovered and how Tessa was able to protect him and get him the help he needed. I've read all of Kristen's books, she has a way of bringing the characters to life and she always keeps me on the edge until the end. This is one of my favorite books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>