Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Until We Reach Home, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books Until We Reach Home, Large Print

Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
Review 1 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY interesting!

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't even finished this book but I have to say that it is very interesting. Never had I read a book with the background being that of immigrants sailing to the United States at the turn of the century. So this book is also quite informative as one learns of the conditions, requirements and process of immigrants during that time.
This fictional story of three Swedish sisters touches the heart and soul and captivates the mind. There is a pleasant balance of the spiritual, making it quite inspirational.
It was easy to give this book a loud "5"!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marvelous!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my sister's first book by Lynn Austin and she is now a devoted fan! Like I did, the biggest reason she fell in love with the book was her (Lynn Austin's) unique way of writing. She truly has a gift of making her books memorable and knows how to find her books forever homes. Until We Reach home was an amazing book in itself though which also helped strengthen her (my sister's) love for the book greatly.
We both absolutely loved the book and it was so much fun talking about it after we both read it. She is not a great fan of fiction you see so this was a rare pleasure!
We both agreed that our favorite part about it was the wonderful characters. Both of us cared for the characters and we loved how easy it was to relate to them. They were beautiful characters who were beautifully written.
The whole story was a joy to read though. The book was about three sisters who seek a new home in America. Throughout the book, each sister is faced with her own struggles but in the end, each one comes to understand something great. And that is the true meaning of the word, 'home.'
It was filled with many twists and turns so I was always kept guessing. Which is something I for one, absolutely love in a book!
Anyway, I totally recommend this book. It is a true treasure and is totally worth your money. You won't be disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good story with unexpected twists...

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
louise
Location:Escondido, CA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story was a sweet one about 3 sisters seeking a new home in America. The author took us on many twists and turns and gave us an historical perspective of Ellis Island and immigration struggles in the 1900's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lover of Books and Art
This was an excellent book by an equally excellent writer. I've enjoyed other books by her more, but that doesn't take away from the beauty of this story. You care about each of the girls, and it's very easy to relate to them. I found each one of their love stories very moving, but I thought Sofia and Ludwig's was particularly sweet and beautiful. The raw kindness and love between the two makes me cry every time I read it (I have read it amny times). A very enjoyable and recommended read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nickname
I liked this book very much it was the first of her books that I read and was the one that made me want to read more . She is a very good writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brianne Dirks
This was an excellent and captivating story. I was hooked from the opening paragraph and had a very hard time putting it down. It was a treat to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
A sad but beautiful tale. I cried so much in the telling of the story but the ending is happy. I especially loved the sisters wonderful character despite all the hardships that they experienced they still remained sweet. It is a touching story. A definite must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janalyn Voigt
Three orphaned farm girls abandon their native Sweden for the promise of new life in America. They leave behind everyone and everything familiar and step into the unknown carrying only a trunk filled with practical necessities and precious momentos.Elin, the oldest, frets over her sisters' safety. Adventurous Kirsten rebels against Elin's restrictions. Sofia, the youngest, wails with annoying regularity that she wants to go back home. Elin, who bears the weight of a terrible secret, knows the safe, ordered existence Sofia led at the farm could not last. Kirsten, dogged by her own secrets, finds she can't escape the past.Hardships arise in the sisters' travels but also transcendant moments. As Sofia observes: "To me, this whole adventure wasn't about reaching a destination and finding a home - it was about the journey."Each girl, in the course of events, makes her own voyage of personal growth. Each encounters God's grace. Until We Reach Home by Lynn Austin presents true-to-life characters and believable resolutions against an authentic late-1800's background. While this book appeals to an adult readership, I also recommend it for teen girls because of its honest, moral look at sexuality and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Landreth
Coming from a family that came from Sweden in the late 1800s, it gave me insights into what a woman faced coming to this new land. Thanks to Lynn Austin for writing this for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth
This is an excellent book. I love Lynn Austin's books! You cannot go wrong - buy all of her books! She is a master storyteller! She does an excellent job of pulling you into the character's lives!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liz
This book was very interesting from start to finish! I read half the book after church one rainy Sunday because I could not stop. All the characters and experiences come off the page. I love Lynn Austin books and this one does not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elissa Kroeger
This is an excellent book!! I am of Swedish descent and I loved it. The personalities of the characters reminded me of family members and the story was wonderful. I don't want to give anything away, it is such a good story...from a good author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
Loved this book! Hope we will hear more about these three sisters! Listened to it on CD, from our library. Pleased they have stocked a quality, uplifting item. (Please support the demand for this at our library and check it out if you are someone that doesn't have time to sit and read it in print).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
JoAnn
The book was absolutely great and the characters very real and endearing. I would like to see a sequel on how the three characters begin their marriages and new lives in America. Lynn is a talented author and this book is a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Deniston
I've only read part of this book, but immediately liked it. My roots go back to Sweden, so it's of special interest to me, since my Grandfather was born there. I know I'll enjoy this book. I've also noticed that anything Bethany House publishes, I like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
No longer safe or wanted in Sweden, Elin is determined to find a home for herself and her two younger sisters, Kirsten, and Sofia. The girls embark upon a difficult journey to America, paid for by their uncle in Chicago, or so they think.Suffering through squalid steerage accomodations aboard ship to an unwelcome greeting by Auntie in Chicago, the girls realize America is not the "heaven" they imagined it to be. Having no money or desire to return to Sweden, the girls find a job with a wealthy, demanding woman to clean her home which is being sold out from under her by her son and daughter-in-law. All the while, the three sisters are hoping and dreaming for a home... a real home.Lynn Austin's descriptions of Ellis Island in the late 1800's were amazing to me. I guess I naively thought that immigrants had a pretty easy time entering America. Austin tells of confused detainees and dirty dormitories...and the insufferable language barrier! Until We Reach Home was well-written and an easy, enjoyable read. However, the book ended somewhat unsatisfactorily for me! I'm hoping Lynn Austin will continue the stories of Elin, Kirsten, and Sofia! I believe another book could be written... pretty please?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy
This is the first lynn Austin books I've read and I thought it was absolutely wonderful!! Oh my goodness, I thought I was right there with the three sisters, I could not put the book down. I'm looking forward to reading more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
I tried Lynn Austin's A Proper Pursuit a few years ago and hated it, so I admit to being skeptical about this one, but wow. I am so glad I stuck with it. Elin, Kirsten, and Sofia, as well as their dreams and struggles, are well-developed and easy to root for and sympathize with. As a melancholy temperament who also loves to sing and does her best to lean on Jesus, I also found myself identifying with Sofia often. The plot twists make this a fascinating book, and Lynn keeps several questions--such as if Ludwig will ever find Sofia or if Elin will ever be a nurse--up in the air until you feel lightheaded when they're finally answered. My one and only criticism is that this book seemed overly long in places--but it was worth every page. If Lynn produces other books like this, I will definitely be back for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
In my opinion Ms. Austin is one of the best historical fiction authors at putting her characters in impossible situations and showing how God provides a way in the midst of heartache. She shows how God allows it to make His children grow in faith, and that He is always there even if He doesn't always take away the hardship and pain. And He can transform even the hardest of hearts when people love Him and each other like the Scriptures say. The relationship that Sophia developed with Ludwig was so amazing it took my breath away. I NEVER would've thought to draw out the character's faith and introduce them to true love through sharing God's Word the way the author managed to do. And to use the Bible as a tool to communicate between their languages was brilliant. This tender relationship was beautifully developed and one of my favorite parts of the story. It made my heart sing!I can't say enough good things about this story. I'm definitely putting this book on my list of favorites for 2008!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Until We Reach Home, Large Print
This review is fromUntil We Reach Home.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
This is a fantastic book! It follows 3 sisters as they leave Sweden for different reasons and journey to America before the turn of the century. They each have to figure out who they are and overcome their pasts to become who God made them to be in America. I didn't want to put it down when it was finished and I hope Lynn Austin follows up with these sisters again (but I don't think she is going to). I love these epic kind of stories and though I have never read any of Lynn's other books, I'll be looking for them now. What a beautiful story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>