Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print

When ownership of a country bistro falls into Caroline Sweeney's lap, she wants to drop it like a hot potato! But she soon discovers she loves the restaurant business---till her blossoming relationship with country musician Mitch O'Neal threatens to place it on the back burner. Can a devastating fire help Caroline sort it out? Will she finally put herself first, instead of taking care of everyone else and not herself?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Review 1 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
I loved this book. It is funny at times (love the race) and the characters seemed so real I thought I was eating in the diner. I loved watching Caroline and Mitch grow, be redeemed and grow some more. You can't go wrong with this book in my opinion. As you read it, keep in mind that Caroline is not saved in the book. This is the stuff we see out in this world and we should be able to deal with these situations and love the person. Great read. I read the second book first, which did spoil things for me a bit. This is definitely the better of the two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
lexi
Before this book I hadn't really heard much about Rachel Hauck, and I must admit that I was surprised at how good this book was. I love Caroline (even if she is a bit 'rough at the edges'). The book has drama, quirky characters, and humor when you least expect it. It is well written and I never lost interest. On the downside, some of the characters are rugged, and some of the content is a bit too compromising, in my opinion. Keep in mind that this book is about Caroline searching for God.... and though she is a 'good girl' she's not exactly living a Christian lifestyle.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
jrt
This was a great book with a strong message for young women who are trying to trust God to send them their mate-put Him first. I gave this to my college daughter to read; very fun and surprising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa Carabott
This is such a wonderful book! The author gets a hold of you, and has you fall in love with the characters, and the local. It is filled with enough emotion to keep you reading long past your intent. Pull up a comfortable chair and be ready to enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Sweet Caroline is quite the book, and she is quite the person. She is a normal human being, in a normal life. Tough decisions need to be made, and only Christ knows if she is making the right choices. This book grips your heart and doesn't let it go. I love it from the heart-head-ear conversations to the screaming in my head what I thought she should do. :) This story of a girl in her late twenties growing up is something that anyone could benefit from reading. Caroline's situations remind me of...more Sweet Caroline is quite the book, and she is quite the person. She is a normal human being, in a normal life. Tough decisions need to be made, and only Christ knows if she is making the right choices. This book grips your heart and doesn't let it go. I love it from the heart-head-ear conversations to the screaming in my head what I thought she should do. :) This story of a girl in her late twenties growing up is something that anyone could benefit from reading. Caroline's situations remind me of some of Jane Austen's tales, where you really want it to end one way, but with more thought you want it how it is, and then you go back to the other. Over all this book was a comfy read and caused more giggles and grins that I care to admit. The whole cast of characters was a hoot and found a warm place in my heart. I cannot wait to read more through Love Starts with Elle. Rachel Hauck has a real winner here and I'm definitely putting her future books on my TBR lists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenn
This is the first book I've ever read from Rachel Hauck and I really enjoyed it. I was especially touched by how God kept showing Caroline how much He loved her. Through the circumstances in her life, God was everpresent and wanting to love her through them. The story didn't end the way I expected it to, but it was a good read and I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynetta
Rachel Hauck tells such an engrossing, true to life story with all the Southern charm and wit one would expect in a chick lit novel. Caroline is an endearing character from page onewe are captivated by her dilemmaa sense of obligation and the desire for something big and exciting in her life. Hauck employs the present-tense, first person point of view typical in the genre, with seemingly little effort. As readers we are actually there with Caroline, watching her every move and hearing her every thought. With each hilarious catastrophe, God softens her do-the-right-thing heart into a heart that trusts Him every step of the way. As He woos her to Himself, we are reminded that He goes to great lengths to draw each of us closer to Him. I loved this book! This is the best chick lit I've read in a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
Author Rachel Hauck certainly did her research. As you read this book, you will be transported to South Carolina as you are drawn into the life of Caroline Sweeney and all the lives she touches. All the characters in this book have depth and purpose and help to thicken the plot. Hauck writes with depth and heart. You will be surprised by the twist and turns this story takes. Once I started reading it was hard to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
I really enjoyed this book. I loved the relationship that Caroline had with the regulars at the coffee shop, and I really enjoyed the romance between Caroline and Mitch! What a wonderful story of what God can do in our lives if we will give everything to him. Read and enjoy this magical book. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Melton
This was a fun, quick read although the ending wasn't what I would pick, it does make you anxious for part two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Georgiana Daniels
I adored this book. Absolutely. At one point, tears sprung to my eyes and I leapt off the couch so no one would notice. A few pages later, I giggled, and Giggled, and GIGGLED until my husband asked me to "Be. Quiet. Already." Spending time inside Sweet Caroline was like truly relaxing and hanging out with friends where all you can think is, "I so want the best to happen for these people." The spiritual message rings true, and the ending is so natural and unforced I was pleasantly satisfied when I finished reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I wasn't sure what to expect with this story. At first I thought it would be a straight chick lit, and in some ways it was. However, Sweet Caroline touched me in a deeper place than most lits do. I actually got choked up a few times. I rarely do these days. There were some very funny moments, some truly enjoyable girl times, and some romantic interludes that sizzled and popped. Best of all, though, was a spiritual awakening and a discovery of one's place in this world that was breathtaking and yes, sweet.I loved this story. It was hard to put down once I got past the first few chapters. I loved the old folks, the lowcountry charm, and the author's voice. The honesty and self-examination Caroline had to deal with in order to grow was truly inspirational. She was strong, yet totally emotionally vulnerable, and for good reason. I loved how Caroline was so perceptive of other people's needs. She was also brave and willing to tackle her issues.When she helped her brother tackle his bitterness there was a genuine God moment that was unforgettable. I am rarely as moved as I was during that pivotal point in the story. Of course I'm being vague so as not to spoil the surprise. At any rate, this story is probably my favorite story penned by Hauck. Does it get any better than this??? Seriously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
While I was reading Sweet Caroline, a friend of mine and former South Carolina resident picked up the book and flipped through it. Youre going to have to let me read this when youre done, she said, I can already tell the author nails it. So there you go high marks for authenticity!Not only is the setting authentic, but so are the characters. In particular, Caroline Sweeney is going to have you cheering her on and she struggles between doing whats right for her friends and following her own dreams. Its a compliment to Ms. Hauck that she keeps you guessing till the very end. Theres no formulaic ending here. Readers will be satisfied and even a little surprised to see the twists and turns Carolines life takes as she grows in her faith and learns that God really is on her side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
I loved the book, I love the way Caroline has a need to help people and has a real heart for her friends. In the book she ends up as owner of the cafe shes been working in and her friend offers her a dream job in Barcelona. We see her with many choices and challenges and I loved seeing how she dealt with each situation. Also the reintroduction of her old boyfriend Mitch and the deputy sheriff JD at to the drama. I really enjoyed how Rachel tackled the different situations and there were several twists I didn't see coming which made it even more enjoyable. I look forward to the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
When Sweet Caroline arrived in the mail, it leapt to the top of my TBR pile. I have thoroughly enjoyed Rachel Hauck's NashVegas books and wondered if this one would measure up. Let me tell you, I loved every page and did not want to see it end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sweet Caroline, Lowcountry Romance Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tracy Ruckman
Sweet Caroline is one of those rare books that I could not put down. I was immediately drawn into Caroline's world, didn't want to leave. The story was full of wonderful surprises that literally took my breath away, and the message was strong, clear, sweet. This book is beautiful, sweet, fun, and powerful. I plan to give this book as gifts throughout the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.