Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print

when Bertha Biddle meets an enigmatic charmer named Annie Monroe in 1877 Jefferson, Texas, she's hoping to learn the art of how to woo a man. But just how far will she go to win her heart's desire? Thaddeus Bloom is torn between meeting his father's demands and declaring his love for Bertha. Which path will he choose? When faced with racial bigotry, Sarah King is in danger of losing respect for her husband and perhaps his love. Will she stand by her man? Or will a woman's murder provoke a startling twist of all their fates?
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Review 1 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
ruthie
Location:Delmar, De
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this series and then gave all three books to my 82 yr. old mother to read. She absolutely loves these books as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Thaddeus Bloom is the only person Bertha Biddle wants to spend the rest of her life with. However he doesn't seem to notice her. When a fancy lady from Boston comes to town, Bertha thinks she can find out how to get Thaddeus to love her. What she doesn't realize that she has the power. So in setting out to find the answers she makes friends with Annie also known as Bessie. Annie's story is sad but she still has so much kindness she shows to others.There is also a story of Sarah and Henry woven throughout this book too. What I learned from this book was friendship, how God uses us to reach others, and hardships do come but we can overcome them. Little did I know in the midst of reading this book I would be praying for my brother-in-law with a brain anyruism. But this book prepared me before this hit and lifted me up faith wise.Also within this story you can see how race can sometimes hinder friendships but one has to do the best they can and realize everyone is not the same. There is good in every race.I read this book in 3 days and could not put it down.Marcia is an excellent storyteller and told life's problems just as you would feel them yourself. You feel like you are walking through the pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
This new author has done a good job of showing how conflict in our lives can causelots of problems when we do not seek God'splan instead of our own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
In her first novel, Diamond Duo, Marcia Gruver gives us a look at the historical town of Jefferson, Texas and its rather unusual citizens. When a beautiful young woman named Bessie steps off the train in this small town, Bertha Biddie decided then and there that the woman would be the perfect one to help Bertha charm Thaddeus Bloom. The friendship grows into a close relationship that Berthas friends dont understand. Thaddeus is confused by Berthas behavior, and even though he wants to proclaim his love for her, Bessies needs keep getting in the way by calling Bertha away. A subplot along the way also make for interesting reading with Sarah and Henry, freed slaves who are trying to make a life in Jefferson. Marcia weaves all these lives together in an engaging story that will have you laughing and crying all the way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Marcia Gruver transports the reader to 1877 Jefferson, Texas, a real town with a rich historyand a murder. Using the facts from the actual event, Ms. Gruvers fictionalized account is a gem of a story resplendent with well-developed characters and emotion.When mysterious, elegantly attired and bejeweled Diamond Bessie and the menacing man with her arrive in town, young Bertha Biddie is certain the gorgeous, self-assured woman knows the secret to catching a gentlemans eye and befriends her. Thaddeus Boom, equally captivated by Bertha, puts duty before love and heads to military school, leaving his beloved behind.Ms. Gruver sweeps the reader into a fast-paced story. Sarah King, a black farmers wife dealing with prejudice, plays a significant role in the story, as do Berthas parents. The addition of these character and others added much to the story. The book is definitely a romance, but its also a wonderfully told tale of the life-changing effects the crime has on a close-knit community and how seemingly disparate individuals overcome their differences. The growth of the major players is wonderful to witness.When I pick up a book from a new author, I never know what to expect. In some cases disappointment, in others satisfaction. Every now and then, though, Im so mightily impressed that I add the author to my must read list, which is the case with Marcia Gruver. Shes an artist whose canvas is the page and whose medium is carefully chosen words. Author Kathleen Ybarbos cover comment reads, A masterpiece waiting to be found. I agree.I heartily recommend Diamond Duo to any reader who enjoys a historical inspirational. And the good news is that if, like me, youre left wanting more, the sequel, Chasing Charity, book two in the Texas Fortunes series, is coming spring 2009. Its on my gotta get it list for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
This is a really good historical western romance from debut novelist Marcia Gruver. I loved the way she took a true story (a murder that actually happened a LONG time ago in Jefferson, Texas) and brought it to life with wonderful characters and period settings. I was almost surprised at how quickly I read this book because I really didn't want to put it down! If you are looking for a fun, entertaining and irresistible western with a great plot, romance and murder then you must pick up this book...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon A. Lavy
This novel was one I could not put down until the end. The message I received from this book: You can not judge a person by how they look. You can only judge them by what they do, and sometimes you don't always know the real story then.The novel is compelling and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendi B.
A fascinating story which takes place throughout January of 1877 in Jefferson, Texas. Readers find out at the end of the book that the characters are based on real people. As a reader, we get a good look at life from that time. The physical labor, the class differences, neighborly help, significance of race, etc. I loved the dialogue, but could have done with a little less tears.Characters: The characters were each wonderfully different from the other. I think my favorite was Bertha's father. He was a strong, loving and supportive person, with the ability to confront his wife in a loving manner. He also showed wonderful support to his daughter, while coaching her through some difficult situations.Story-Line: I think the story-line(s) were very interesting, tying together nicely in the end. I was especially interested in the story once I learned that it was based on real people.Readability: This book provided a nice, enjoyable read. The different speech patterns among the characters made it that more interesting.Overall: A nice period book, written with a Christian influence. This was the first book of the series, and I look forward to watching for the upcoming sequel Chasing Charity (I sure hope we get to catch a glimpse of Bertha!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2008
This is a really good historical western romance from debut novelist Marcia Gruver. I loved the way she took a true story (a murder that actually happened a LONG time ago in Jefferson, Texas) and brought it to life with wonderful characters and period settings. I was almost surprised at how quickly I read this book because I really didn't want to put it down! If you are looking for a fun, entertaining and irresistible western with a great plot, romance and murder then you must pick up this book...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2008
Marcia Gruver has penned a thrilling romantic suspense western in Book One of her Texas Fortunes series, Diamond Duo. Bertha loves Thad and Thad is crazy about Bertha. But neither of them knows it. When Annie arrives in town, Bertha is concerned that Thads heart will be stolen along with all of the other men. But when a mystery man follows Annie, and a murder thickens the plot, romance will have to take a back seat to safety.This is a charming, witty, solid romantic suspense story with brilliant writing. I cant wait to read it again so I can actually savor it rather than trying to come up with a review by a deadline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Diamond Duo, Texas Fortunes Series #1 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2008
No one in Jefferson, Texas is prepared for the eye-catching Annie Monroe as she steps off the train in 1877. Annie turns heads including young Bertha Biddies. Bertha simply must learn how to sink her hook into Thaddeus Bloom and reel him in for life, and shes sure Annie is the keeper of secret techniques for setting that hook. But will Thad even notice? Is he too wrapped up in a world of his own to take the bait?And what about Sarah King, another resident of Jefferson who is fighting a battle of her own? A battle deeper than attracting a future spouse and a battle that Annie Monroe unknowingly alters the course of. Sarahs battle is one involving prejudice and respect, for not only herself but for her husband Henry as well. Will Sarah learn how to handle the rampant prejudice surrounding her, or will she and Henry succumb to bitterness and despair? Diamond Duo is a beautifully written historical rich in authentic period details with well-developed characters, and a plot that keeps you turning the pages. Author Marcia Gruver brings us a bit of suspense, a sweet and unpredictable romance, and life lessons along the way. She expertly weaves the lessons into the book and while you are being entertained by Bertha Biddies spirit and adventurous nature, you come away with a strong faith message. One among many fully developed characters, Bertha Biddie will capture your heart. She is a character that stays with you long after you put the book down. Her tenacity in bringing Jesus to Annie Monroe sets an example that can and should be applied to hurting people in our world today. Bertha reminds us that all people, especially those who feel theyre completely unworthy of salvation due to their questionable life style, must learn of Jesus before it is too late. Diamond Duo not only entertains but youll come away with questions about your faith and a sense of urgency in bringing the Good News to those in need. What more could you ask for in a Christian fiction novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.