Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print

Reading, knitting, and laughter abound in Sweetgum, Tennessee! In this charming sequel to The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society, the ladies tackle another book list while Eugenie's newlywed bliss falters; young Hannah begins dating; and restless Camille resists a romance that would tie her to the small town forever. Will friendship keep them from coming unraveled?
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Review 1 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Women's club

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was not the typical book I would have chosen. It took a while to get into the story and it seemed a bit drawn out. It was an easy read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Knit Lit, not Christian Knit Lit, faith and daily struggles of the Christian lady today are not discussed. This is a book about women who meet together to knit and discuss books. There is no bad language, and it is an enjoyable, quick read. The characters do not discuss their faith, we have to assume they are belivers. The only "Christian", church lady is a meanspirited, manipulative, busybody, who seems to take joy in making others do as she pleases, by whatever means possible. The pastor's new wife refuses to discuss her belief or faith because she and her husband feel it isn't anyone else's business, which leads me to question why bother to attend their church. The ladies in the group all atttend this church, but it appears to be more of a social activity, not a faithbased activity.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
It takes a special gift to be able to bring a group of 6 special gals to my attention and then have them equally share in the storyline without any one of them stealing the spotlight. I think ensemble books are incredibly hard to write, generally one character takes the lead while showing or telling what is happening in the lives of the others. Beth Patillo has a true talent for ensemble writing. "Sweetgum Ladies Knit For Love" is book #2 in the Sweetgum Ladies series and while I really enjoyed the first book, this second book was a sheer delight to me. The way she balanced telling about the lives of these 6 ladies who were connected once a month by their book club and knitting group and yet by so much more was amazing to me.Eugenie, the librarian who has finally found her first love again. Esther, who has just lost her first love. Merry, the young wife and mother who only thinks she knows that love is overwhelming. Hannah, the youngest of the group at 13 who has experienced more of life than some of the grown-ups already. Camille, who's life has been all about sacrifice and is now about solitude since the death of her ailing mother. And now the newest member of the group, Maria, who is trying to find where she fits in.These ladies quickly become old friends and I really wanted to see how everything would play out for them. The ending was beautiful and bittersweet, not everyone gets their lives wrapped up with a red bow (good for Beth!) and yet I was so satisfied at the end. You do not have to enjoy knitting to enjoy this book, a truly pleasureable read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
"The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love" by Beth Pattillo is a warm and welcoming story! I almost felt as if Id been invited to join the group (though I certainly dont knit). The characters are honest and flawed, each with their own struggles and triumphs. Each of the ladies in this group is going through her own stuff and in many ways it seems an awful lot like real life complicated, messy, difficult, and heavy at times, but it doesnt stay that way. Following the stuff there are second chances at life and love, surprising twists, and even happy endings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Knit for Love" was about a lit club group of woman who read classic romantic literature in which they saw lessons about their own romantic lives. Though they knitted projects to go with each lit club book, knitting had a very small role in this novel.This book is the second about these characters, but you don't need to read the first one to understand this one. It's a charming story with more depth than I expected from the fluffy-sounding back copy, but it was still very light & predictable. The characters were interesting and varied, and the details of small-town life were good. Their small, Southern town doesn't match mine in their expectations of other people, I could see this type of town existing.Though one of the characters was a pastor's wife and the rest attended the same church, there was no depth to their faith and little mention of God. Their church attendance came across to me as purely social or for appearance sake. Their faith makes no impact on how they behave.There was no bad language and no sex. Overall, it was well-written, clean reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
A knitting and reading group combined, the Sweetgum Knit Lit Society gathers once a month to discuss the book they have read that month and to share their knitting projects.Made up of 6 women, Eugenie Carson the minister's new wife and town librarian and leader of the group. Merry McGavin, wife of a local lawyer, Camille St. Clair, the owner of Maxine's Dress Shop, Esther Jackson, Sweetgum's social leader, Hannah Simmons, a teenagers that lives with Eugenie, and new member, Maria Munden the owner of the local five and dime. The Knit Lit ladies are all in for a surprise this time around. Eugenie has chosen love as the theme for this season's session. Books on love, classic love stories, even the look book in the Bible. Each woman is battling her own lesson in love, dealing with family deaths, new loves, new lives and new homes. Follow along as Beth Pattillo leads you through a wonderful story of women learning to love, themselves and others. See the romance as new love blossoms among different members of the group. Cry as they grieve their lost family members, deal with frightening sicknesses. Giggle and worry through the angst of teenage love. Be amazed by the wonderful story that Beth has written. Truly a wonderful story and an easy book to read, you will not want to put this book down, until it is finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, Large print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amanda
In this second installment, The Sweetgum Ladies Knit for Love, we return to the small town of Sweetgum, where everyone knows everyone and everyone's business. Our ladies, Eugenie, Hannah, Esther, and Camille are back and are now joined by Merry, the newest member of their group. We read about their amazing book choices, this time around they are all based around love stories, their knitting projects, and of course, their personal problems. From finances, babies, new loves, and old flames, each woman has a story to tell and her love of knitting and reading mixes in with the problem she is currently facing.A very "down-home" read, this is a feel-good story filled with sweet women. I enjoyed the book as much as the first and look forward to seeing if Beth Patillo brings out a third for us!Recommended for fans of Debbie Macomber and Neta Jackson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.