Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Love's Pursuit, Large print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Love's Pursuit, Large print

In the small Puritan community of Stoneybrooke, Massachusetts, Susannah Phillips stands out both for her character and beauty. She wants only a simple life but soon finds herself pursued by the town's wealthiest bachelor and by a roguish military captain sent to protect them. One is not what he seems and one is more than he seems.

In trying to discover true love's path, Susannah is helped by the most unlikely of allies, a wounded woman who lives invisible and ignored in their town. As the depth, passion, and sacrifice of love is revealed to Susannah, she begins to question the rules and regulations of her childhood faith. In a community where grace is unknown, what price will she pay for embracing love?

Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love's Pursuit, Large print
Review 1 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susannah Philips lives in a Puritan community in Stoneybrooke, Massachusetts. Just as her faith in God is seemingly preordained, so is her betrothal and marriage to John Prescotte. A beautiful redhead, she is unaware of how her appearance affects members of the opposite sex. She is only concerned that her goodness must be apparent to all, because the thoughts she harbors in her head are exactly what her community condemns.
When the community is threatened by Indians, a military captain is sent to protect them. Captain Daniel Holcombe is precisely the kind of man Susannah knows she should stay away from, but something about him draws her like a bee to honey. The way he views God is completely against what the Puritans have taught her, and the way he approaches everything in life is contrary to what she thinks she believes.
So when the town's wealthiest bachelor, Simeon Wright, asks for her hand in marriage, she is taken aback and confused as to what to do. Having no real reason to deny Simeon, her confusion about her feelings for Daniel only increase, and her bewilderment over John not stepping in to claim her only serve to spin her future in hapless circles. Will she be able to sort out her feelings in time? Or is a love greater than that of any man pursuing her?
This read more like a tragedy than a romance. I really got into this story, despite my intentions to the contrary. As I sat there and read about Susannah's struggles and the ever-observing eyes of Small-hope, I couldn't help but wonder if girls like this existed in the past. The pain of Small-hope's past and the heartbreaking future awaiting Susannah are just some of the things you will have to read for yourself. I promise you it will be a pleasant journey. Just don't expect a light, fluffy, happy ending. This one will get to you, and the story will stay with you long after it is over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susannah Philips lives in a Puritan community in Stoneybrooke, Massachusetts. Just as her faith in God is seemingly preordained, so is her betrothal and marriage to John Prescotte. A beautiful redhead, she is unaware of how her appearance affects members of the opposite sex. She is only concerned that her goodness must be apparent to all, because the thoughts she harbors in her head are exactly what her community condemns.
When the community is threatened by Indians, a military captain is sent to protect them. Captain Daniel Holcombe is precisely the kind of man Susannah knows she should stay away from, but something about him draws her like a bee to honey. The way he views God is completely against what the Puritans have taught her, and the way he approaches everything in life is contrary to what she thinks she believes.
So when the town's wealthiest bachelor, Simeon Wright, asks for her hand in marriage, she is taken aback and confused as to what to do. Having no real reason to deny Simeon, her confusion about her feelings for Daniel only increase, and her bewilderment over John not stepping in to claim her only serve to spin her future in hapless circles. Will she be able to sort out her feelings in time? Or is a love greater than that of any man pursuing her?
This read more like a tragedy than a romance. I really got into this story, despite my intentions to the contrary. As I sat there and read about Susannah's struggles and the ever-observing eyes of Small-hope, I couldn't help but wonder if girls like this existed in the past. The pain of Small-hope's past and the heartbreaking future awaiting Susannah are just some of the things you will have to read for yourself. I promise you it will be a pleasant journey. Just don't expect a light, fluffy, happy ending. This one will get to you, and the story will stay with you long after it is over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Needs a sequel

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Happy Mom of 4
Location:Quebec Provence
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was intense, full of intrigue and emotions. The fact that comes across in the end is very true and worth remembering, that no one can be saved by their own works.. God's grace and His work does it all. But I was disappointed with the ending, kept wishing that her story would go on to a better more positive, happy conclusion. It would be great if the author could write a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Best Book. And I highly respect her work.

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
jamr
Location:Astoria NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a woman of faith, please read this book.
I will not give anything away. This is not my favorite
time period in history much less fiction. That did not
detract from my experience reading this book.
Siri is in a class all her own when it comes to
"Christian fiction." Her research and excellent
story crafting should be acknowleged in the
mainstream publishing world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kim S
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Siri Michell's writing always surprises me and leaves me wanting to read more of her work. "Love's Pursuit" had an intriguing plot that left me wondering what would happen next each time I turned the page. It seemed to have a deeper message hidden in an entertaining story that caused me to ponder just how much God really does love each of us. The ending or even the last 1/4 of the book was not quite what I expected, but it was what this book needed. If you want a light read, it may not be for you, but if you want excellent, thought provoking writing this book is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Puritans fascinate me and this book does an amazing job of portraying what it might have been like for them. Susannah Phillips is endearing with her rebellious thoughts that she tries so hard to keep under wraps. Captain Holcolme is an intriguing match for her, with his vastly different approach to life. The ending nearly ripped my heart out since I prefer fairy tale endings. That would be my only complaint about this book, though the ending was very believable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
I really enjoyed this book. It made me laugh; it brought tears to my eyes. It made me curious; it made me wonder. The writing is skillful, and the imagery is vivid. The plot is steady and engaging. The romance is tender; the conflicts are tense. The historical detail is educating. The characters are three-dimensional and well thought out. I felt myself wanting to comfort the women and give insight to the men. Most of all, I loved the growth that the two main women experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emilee Douglas
I just finished reading "Love's Pursuit". So different from anything I've ever read! It's very dark and intriguing. I definatly would recomend to all historical fiction fans. "God is only good", I love how it was brought out that nothing we do is good, we can never get to God by who we are or by what we do. It's only by Gods amazing grace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emilee
This was the first of Mitchell's books I had read. I just finished it and I would definatly recomend it to all historical fiction fans. It is very different from most of the books I read but I liked it a lot.It took me a little longer to read because of how it was written. I think the ending really did show God's grace and goodness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
This is a story that gives a side of historythat is often misunderstood. It shows howhard it can be to balance love and grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marta Hoelscher
When I started this book, I thought it was going to be a typical historical fiction romance. This book is anything but typical. There is a depth and beauty to the story that really is far beyond the norm. The writing is beautiful, and I really look forward to reading more by Siri Mitchell.I have to admit that at first I was really drawn to the cover. I am a total sucker for a good cover, and in my opinion this book has a great one! Once I started reading, I was really drawn into the story. The story is very complex and not at all a light fluffy romance. The characters are well rounded, and both the characters and the story take the reader to unexpected places. There was an incredible amount of information just about the daily lives of these early Americans.I'd highly recommend this book. While it's labeled as Christian Fiction, any lover of historical romance will enjoy the book. As I stated before, this isn't a light, fluffy romance. This story will pull you in and keep you reading. I finished the book in one day - I couldn't put it down. Definitely a book worth reading and recommending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Wow! Siri Mitchell really is a great writer. I recommend you get all her books! This one just drew you in and kept you there and then had twists and turns you wouldn't see coming which are always great in a book! Our Book Club did this book, too, and each one of them loved it. They felt like it became their own world!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
angie davis
I found Love's Pursuit to be a very enjoyable read. The characters were developed well in that I cared about what happened to them. The author wasn't too quick to explain everything and this allow me to participate in the story. As the tension built I was worried about the ending but was relieved to find that the author did not take the easy way out. I would have been disappointed with anything else. I found the historical part of the book very interesting. Also, I feel I have a better understanding of those who have suffered abuse. I had some problems at the beginning knowing who was narrating the story. Over all a enjoyed the book very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
This is wonderful story about coming of age and deciding what you truly believe about God, life, family, and love. Susannah has been raised in a strict and traditional Puritan home. She follows all the rules and says all the right things. When Daniel is sent to the area to guard against Indians, Susannahs heart is capture by someone so different then herself. A manipulative man bullies her father into accepting a marriage proposal for her. Susannah must decide if she wants to keep the life she has always known and marry an abusive man or flee with the man she loves and start a new life. This book doesnt have a predictable happy ending but Susannah transforms from a girl to a woman and must stand for what she believes in on her own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
A. Henderson
Non-fiction is my forte', but this time period in pre-USA history fascinates me and I appreciated a non-witch hunt perspective. The story is interesting, but lacked a Christian message with characters only contributing tidbits of religion.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
BK
This was a very different story. It was more like real life then your happy ever afters. I enjoyed it. I think it had a sad but hopeful ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Apple
I cried! I also laughed and smiled. Not what I expected, but a very compelling read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emma Smith
Haunting and powerful. This book really moved me. Wish there were more books written in this time period.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jamie Driggers
I don't know how Siri Mitchell does it. For all the talk I hear of author branding, I never know what to expect from one of Siri's books. You can count on a strong female character with lots more going on INSIDE her head than she let's on, but that's about it. Don't count on a stereotypical "Christian Fiction" ending, but let's face it, life rarely works that way. What I do know is that I can't ever wait to get my hands on her next book and once I do, you won't be able to pry it away from me until I've read it cover to cover. Love's Pursuit is just another wonderful example of Siri's extraordinary writing talent. I can't WAIT to see what she comes up with next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love's Pursuit, Large print
This review is fromLove's Pursuit.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
I have read a few of Siri's books now and I really do think that she is just so original in her writing that I always wonder what she will bring me, the reader, next. In "A Constant Heart" she took us inside Queen Elizabeth's England and the unbelievable trends and lifestyles that went along with being a part of her court. In "Love's Pursuit" we go into early America and a Puritan community where Susannah is considered one of the ultimate, perfect Puritans. Only she knows better, she has many flaws but she really tries to please. All she wants is to get married to John and start a family like her friends. It seems so simple until life starts to get very complicated. A non-Puritan comes to the community to train the militia against the threat of savages. The captain lives with them while he trains the men and Susannah starts to feel things for Daniel that she has never felt for John. But wait, Susannah's betrothal to John gets foiled by the one person she can't stand and things go from bad to worse. Can Susannah ever find happiness in her pursuit of love? A story so well written that it will catapult you through time to join Susannah as she struggles to find her true love. I really enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.