Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Under the Cajun Moon, Large print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books Under the Cajun Moon, Large print

Chloe Ledet's larger-than-life father, the famous New Orleans restaurateur Chef Julien, seems invincible---until he's shot under suspicious circumstances. Returning home, Chloe quickly discovers that their whole family is in terrible danger. Can she trust the handsome, mysterious Cajun who's helping her---or has she gone from the frying pan to the fire?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
Review 1 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of present events mixed with old tales

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adey
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had recently purchased and read The Amish Midwife and The Amish Nanny co-written by Mindy Starns Clark and I thought they were quite well done. I decided to try 4 of her stand-alone books including this one and WOW! I found them easy to read, and yet the storylines were unique and mysterious. The books had enough substance that it made me want to keep reading even if it was late at night :)
Highly recommend all 4 of Mindy's stand-alone books (Whispers of the Bayou, Shadows of Lancaster County, Under the Cajun Moon and Secrets of Harmony Grove). She starts with a climax in the first few chapters and keeps the intensity there throughout the rest of the book! Next on my list to buy is her Million Dollar Mystery series and I can't wait!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Mindy Starns Clark

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
ReadingTeacher
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy the suspense, mystery, romance and unique writing style of Mindy Starns Clark. This is a great page-turner. I read it in 2 days and loved every minute. My only regret is that I wish it would have lasted longer! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
suzyQ
Location:Kelso, WA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was a great read. Thoroughly enjoyed it and have already loaned it out. Enjoyed how the past and present all tied together, usually I don't like the bouncing around but the author did a great job tying it all together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Gripping Mystery

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Murder, mayhem, mystery, kidnapping, snakes, alligators, hidden treasure, romance, God's grace -- you'll find all these and more in Mindy Starns Clark's Under the Cajun Moon!
Chloe Ledet is an international business etiquette expert, living in Chicago. When she gets a call from her hometown of New Orleans that her father has been shot, she quickly flies there to be near him. Before she can get to the hospital, though, she finds herself at her father's famous French Quarter restaurant, hearing a story of family treasure and mystery. The next morning she wakes up in an unfamiliar hotel room and learns that she has been framed for murder. When Travis Naquin, the grandson of her father's sometimes partner/sometimes adversary appears on the scene and seems intent on helping Chloe, the quagmire of mystery and danger grows deeper. As the story unfolds through the lakes and bayous and marshes of south Louisiana, Chloe (as well as the reader) finds herself doubting the motives of almost everyone she knows. And one of the biggest questions she struggles with is whether she can trust God to know or care about where she is and what is happening to her.
In the midst of the modern-day story, Mindy Starns Clark weaves an 18th-century tale that provides an intriguing backdrop to the setting. In her masterful style of storytelling, she takes you back and forth between centuries without ever breaking the flow. I would highly recommend this gripping mystery that you're sure to have trouble putting down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen S Wolford
This book was fast paced and I couldn't put it down. I think it would make a great movie!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
We read this book for local book club last month and our group gave it five stars. We all could not put it down and love how the story was in the past and now at the same time. The values and morals of family, faith and culture was interesting to read about. The characters came so alive and very well written by the author. This was my first book by this author and I will be reading more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Llarilyn Buckingham
I really enjoy this author. The story was exciting and interesting. I liked the information on the culture in that part of the country. The parallel history was also interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
The author has done it again. She drops the reader into a fresh locale -- New Orleans -- and completely had me there. And it had a different feel to other books I've read set in that locale. Chloe Ledet is called home to New Orleans after her father is shot in a remote bayou area. The next morning she finds herself smack in the middle of a murder scene -- with no memory of what happened. Then that murder leads to another murder and Chloe is running to find answers and stay alive. Fortunately, she isn't alone. She has a Cajun friend to help her find more than the truth.I thoroughly enjoyed this book -- and the clash of cultures. The book had high tension, but also moments of humor that kept the mood from getting to dark and heavy. And there was more than just a mystery to solve. Romance, family conflict and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Owen
This was an excellent book. I enjoyed it so much that I purchased another one to give as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dianna Karnes
This was a great read, as is any of this author's books. It was a little different than her other works, but kept you wanting to keep reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Awesome read. Never read anything by this author before, but I loved the book - great mystery & suspense
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
I thought this book started out to slow. I did not like going back and forth from two different rime periods. The author writes good mysteries but this was not one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Helen Billingsley
This author fascinates me. This is my second book of hers, both in the Louisiana setting. Ms Clark keeps me magnetized to her pages, particularly in the way she weaves the historical novel in with a current day novel; brilliant! Since I have lived in Louisiana my entire life, I enjoy her vivid descriptions of the locale, weather, nature, just everything. The mystery of this novel is spell binding!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
a concerned parent
I loved this book! It was incredibly well written and suspensful! Very difficult to put down. Mindy Starns Clark has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Can't wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lyn Cote
I absolutely LOVED Under the Cajun Moon. I loved the intertwining of the past and the present. I loved the setting and the characters. I could not stop reading till the end. And it was a satisfying believable ending. What more could a reader ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Under the Cajun Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder the Cajun Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vicki Monette
I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down until I finished it ! I live in the Cajun country that Mindy describes, Houma, just 45 minutes from New Orleans, so I wanted to see how the author would handle our unique culture down here.She brought amazing insight into the history and current events of our area. Things I had observed as an outsider but never realized the origin of customs and the strong family values the Cajuns have. The story was great, exciting, believable and kept me glued to the book until it was finished. I hope the author writes another book like this one. It is one of my favorites ! I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.