Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print

A mysterious incident leaves Susan Brandt dead---and her husband, Ben, devastated. Three years later, a similar accident occurs. The victim looks exactly like his late wife and carries Susan's name on a crisis center's card---but this woman survives. When somebody wants her dead, will Ben risk his life and his heart to save her?
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Review 1 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Forget Me Not will be quickly forgotten. The storyline is so complicated that it's difficult to keep track of all the players, who is family, friend or foe? I found myself having to frequently replay the names and places of some characters, taking away from enjoying the story. By the time I was two thirds of the way through, I started skimming (a really bad sign), hoping that I could pick up a thread of interest. But determined to finish the book, I did and I was left disappointed. This was my first book by this author, and probably my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping suspense that will keep you guessing

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gripping suspense story that will keep you guessing until the end.
I really enjoyed this book. Not only did it have a strong suspense angle and a dash of romance but the faith angle was very good. No matter what happened, even losing her memory in a very traumatic way, the heroine never wavers in her faith. I do tend to get a little tired of the heroines in suspense stories having to find their way to God, so it was nice to read a story about a girl already there who is also strong enough in her faith to withstand anything thrown at her. Our hero has lost sight of his faith but little by little he finds his way back to the perfect Love.
That said, the heroine, is not a perfect goody-goody. She loses her temper at the hero and firmly puts him in his place when they first meet, she clobbers a bad guy that breaks into her cottage, she even uses a few interesting items as weapons including a fire extinguisher and a water hose. She is scared but still tries to do what is right.
The hero has some issues to work through, amongst them is guilt over failing to protect his wife and son. Grieving and bitter he still tries to do the right thing. He does help our heroine even though he thinks she might be some kind of con artist trying to get his money.
I felt the characters were flawed and had their own foibles which made them all the more believable.
The mystery has as many twists and turns as a Louisiana bayou. You never quite know what to expect next. Is the amnesiac heroine somehow Ben's deceased wife, Susan? If she isn't, then why does she look like Susan and how did she get Susan's necklace? Who is after her, is there more than one person? And why is she so frightened of the little seaside town?
If you want to know the answers to these questions than I suggest you hurry and get a copy of this exciting story.
I am so glad I have the next book in the series so I don't have to wait to find out what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian thriller

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first of the Crossroads Crisis Center trilogy, and it is a great Christian thriller. The heroine has people wanting to kill her, and she now finds herself beaten and with no memory of who she is. She just knows she’s in danger and shouldn’t go to police or authorities for help. Slowly, the reader learns bits of backstory and meets secondary characters, but who can be trusted and who can’t? What is the carefully constructed conspiracy that surrounds her? Who is Susan? Who is Kelly? What happened three years ago? What in the world is going on now? Who or what is NINA? The role of God as her protector and her assurance of her identity as a child of God is the one truth she clings to even when all else is a frightening unknown to her.
The heroine’s attempts to make sense of her feelings of loneliness, guilt and imminent danger add to the pulse-quickening suspense for the reader who shares her confusion and sense of urgency . So many plot twists and turns with many characters not being what they appear to be kept me guessing until the satisfying ending. This book is all a thriller should be and can be read as a stand-alone in spite of being the first in a series.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest opinion. The opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Forget Me Not - Vicki Hinze- March 2010
When Kelly wakes up after being left for dead , she has no recollection of who she is - all that she has on her is a business card with "Crossroads Crisis Centre" scrawled with the name Susan and a cross around her neck that reads "To Susan Love Ben". Once, Kelly arrives at the Crossroads centre desperate to remember exactly who she is - she is bombarded with memories of a woman named Susan and the likeness is uncanny. The only thing is that Susan and her son were murdered three years ago. Soon Kelly with the help of Susan's husband Ben , will unravel both the mysteries behind Susan and her son's death but also Kelly's mugging - are they related and what happens when they discover it is part of a deeper organisation called NINA - a group of bio-terriosts - have they gotten themselves in too far and will Kelly whose escaped death this time around be so lucky to escape it again and will Ben discover the closure about his wife and son's murders. A novel that proves that by having God's faith- we can overcome the worst of situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2010
Benjamin Brandt, owner of Crossroads Crisis Center, had an ideal life--his faith, his wife and son, and his work. In an instant, he lost all but his job. His family had been murdered. Although grief-stricken, he continues to search for the murderer(s)--but it's been three years and leads are slipping away fast.One day, a woman, who looks remarkably like Benjamin's wife, Susan, is brought to the Crisis Center, seeking help and answers. She's been the victim of a beating so severe she doesn't know who she is. Why? By whom? She's lost everything, except her faith.Ben's mistrust of this 'Susan' woman, and the mystery 'Susan' woman's confusion about her identity and life, get magnified out of proportion, yet they must work together to figure out who and why someone is willing to kill them to keep the truth hidden from them. The situation goes from dangerous to deadly once 'those someones' are able to track her whereabouts. Will they find the killer(s) before they are killed?Forget Me Not, by Vicki Hinze, is an action-packed, intense, crime-laden novel that changes plots on a frequent basis, keeping you alert, absorbed and hooked to the end. It's complex, but that's what makes it good!Vicki is definitely keen on character reactions and emotions. The intricacies of the many characters were handled very aptly. They were consistent throughout the book. Evil was punctuated with good, which were great antagonists throughout. In the life of crime, do you really know who your friends are?It kept me wondering what would happen and when, with either the evil, vicious end of the book, as well as between Ben and the mystery 'Susan' woman.For this, my first introduction to Vicki's writing, I know I'll definitely be reading more of her books! The spiritual truths of God's unconditional love is relevant to everyone.This book was provided by Susan at The Suspense Zone for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Usually in amnesia books we know all about the victim and watch while they learn about themselves but in this case, we learn along with the victim. A twist that I really enjoyed. This is Vicki's first Christian themed book although she is a famous mystery writer. The mystery is indeed polished, entertaining, and suspenseful. The Christian background, although heavy in places, suited the personae of the victim. The romance was of course predictable but then aren't they all! It was definitely a page turner with lots of twists and turns and unexpected connections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie
I couldn't finish this book. An unbelievable plot about a woman being chased by a terrorist group. Of course, the woman is not armed and has no special training but she is able to somehow evade a mysterious professional criminal group for over three years. The woman and Ben start out behaving antagonistically toward each other but you can guess what direction the relationship heads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
This story was a rocket ride. At times I felt like I needed to keep a score card to keep all the players straight. There was a lot of action and interaction and I couldnt skip over text for fear of missing a key component. The author pulls you in from the beginning and keeps you guessing. She tended to give you just enough information but not too much for you to figure it out all the while keeping your hooked on the story.I loved the main female character. She had such depth of character and despite all she had been through her honest and open faith stood strong. It took me a little longer for me to warm up to Ben, but throughout the book he touched my heart as he dealt with his own issues. The supporting characters were wonderful, though there was one character from the Crisis Center that I questioned whether or not she was who she was suppose to be.Without giving away too much, I loved the journey that the main characters traveled. It was touching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story was pretty good, but a bit complicated. I liked that it was fast paced and that the characters had scars and needed emotional healing. I also liked being in the thugs' heads every now and then to see what their diabolical minds were plotting. It's just like evil to double cross itself, so watching the "best laid plans" fall apart was gratifying. I enjoyed the mystery of discovering who "Susan" was a little bit at a time as she discovered things about herself.There were a few murders that happened while you were in the victim's heads (while they were being killed) but nothing over-the-top creepy or disgusting like I've read in other books. I liked the spiritual thread even though it seemed a bit heavy-handed at times. I appreciated the author's attempt to make that part work in the story but sometimes those things distract from it as well.The plot was complex and well-developed and the characters were pretty distinct. I enjoyed getting to know them all. I especially loved the romance element and the tension developing between the two main characters. It was sweet and touching, and I loved it when they finally succumbed and kissed each other. Their dialog was honest and gripping, too, as they worked through their trust issues. That was very gratifying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
A woman who is a look alike of another woman who is supposed to be deceased causes quit a stir of emotions to many. Who is this woman? I enjoyed this book of twists, turns and trying to figure out who the "bad people" were. The book is intense and dramatic, entertaining and fast paced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Thompson
She wakes up in the woods, beaten and left for dead. She remembers vaguely the men who were trying to get her car from her. She remembers little else. One thing she does remember is her strong faith in God. Who is she? Why is she here? She finds a card in her pocket with the name Crossroads on the front and the name Susan on the back. Also, a cross necklace is with the card. She is found and taken to the Crossroads Crisis Center where she sees a large photo of the founder, Susan Brandt, on the wall. Looking at the picture is like looking in the mirror, minus the bruises and swelling of course. So, she must be Susan. The only problem is that Susan has been dead for 3 years.Benjamin Brandt has been trying for the last 3 years to find the killers of his wife and son. He has also been consumed with guilt that he didnt protect his family. Isnt that what a husband and father is supposed to do? When hes called to the shelter about this mystery woman named Susan, its the first time in 3 years hes been in the Center. At first he is certain that Susan is there to extort money from him. But after she tells her story and begins to remember tiny pieces of her past, he begins to believe her. He sees how hers and Susans lives have many common connections. Ben believes that maybe this is the lead hes been hoping for after 3 long years. Can this mystery lady help him discover who killed his family?The book is full of suspense, intrigue, romance and Christian principles. Vicki doesnt beat you over the head with the Christian aspect of it. I really enjoyed Forget Me Not and would highly recommend it. I was provided an advanced reading copy of this book by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Buckle-up as you prepare to read Vicki Hinzes first Christian Fiction suspenseful adventure, Forget Me Not. I was so thankful to receive a review copy of this book. I was hooked from the very first chapter as a murder, then a carjacking takes place and the main character is left for dead. The main character is running for her life and wakes up in the woods, badly beaten. A Good Samaritan arrives and helps her to the Crossroads Crisis Center. One problem - this isnt a medical facility and the woman doesnt know who she is! Weirder still...she discovers at the center that she looks very similar to Susan Brandt, founder of the Crossroads Crisis Center. The main character says to Ben Brandt, (the founders husband)who hasnt treated her nice, Someone wants me dead and I have no idea why!...I intend to find out who I am and I hope that includes insight into your wife and sons murderIf you want me to share what I learn, then you need to adjust your attitude toward me, because Ive tolerated all the indignity and disrespect from you Im going to. Vickis characters grabbed my heart and attention from the start. I could feel the main character's pain, relate to their spiritual struggle and followed the plot twists closely as she revealed surprising details and turns that shed light into her situation. I had no idea how all the pieces would be put together; it definitely kept me reading! The author writes the story from the view of the young woman who has amnesia. The reader discovers, along with the girl, about her life has it unfolds. This story is full of intriguing plot twists that got more intriguing with every page I read. Vicki is a master at weaving a surprising plot, with rich characters you instantly care aboutI enjoyed the main characters spiritual journey and how she listened to the Holy Spirit to guide her. Nora St. LaurentACFW Book Club Coordinator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Toews
A woman who cant remember who she is or what happened to her. A man who cant put his life back together after his wife and son are murdered. Yet, his wifes gold cross necklace connects them. This is the premise for the first of Vicki Hinzes Christian Fiction series set at the Crossroads Crisis Center.At last Vicki has found her niche, a place where she can combine her passionate faith and pendant for romantic suspense. In FORGET ME NOT, her skill at creating a taut thriller that exposes a terrorist plot shines through in a forget-me-not read. When you start this story, make sure you are not going anywhere because once you begin, from the first page to the last, you will not be able to put the book down.But more than the rollercoaster ride is the storys lasting message of faith, that no matter what abuse or sorrow or shattering experience you suffer, you can endure if you love and trust God. Vickis Christian heroine whole heartedly relies on God, and that reliance is woven seamlessly into the characters dilemma and search for her identity, after countless attempts to kill her. Seeing the result of her faith wins over a man who has lost everything, including belief in himself. To the non-believer, this may seem impossible, but for those of faith, it is the reality that sustains us day by day. Congratulations, Vicki. A five-star read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
I like a good mystery and this is definitely a good mystery. After reading Forget Me Not I shall be watching for more books by Vickie Hinze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
I enjoyed this Christian mystery from beginning to end. A mysterious women wakes up in the woods after being car jacked. She has lost her memory but a card with the Crossroads Crisis Center and the handwritten name of Susan is her only clue."Susan" arrives at the center only to learn that she is the spitting image of the owners dead wife Susan. Quickly it becomes clear that someone is out to kill her but the reasons why, remain locked up with her memory loss.This book was a page turner and I would highly recommend it! It had a Christian theme from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Forget Me Not by Vickie Hinze is the first book in the Crossroads Crisis Center series. Benjamin Brandt still hasn't recovered from the murders of his wife Susan and son Christopher three years ago. He's abandoned the crisis center they had built together as well as his faith in God in order to pursue every lead to find the murderer. He's stunned when a woman calling herself Susan and wearing his dead wife's necklace shows up at the crisis center claiming that she was carjacked, beaten, and now has amnesia. They're going to have to work together to save her life and just maybe solve the murder of Ben's wife. Hinze has taken a predictable plot and turned it on its ear. Throwing in bioterrorism and the crisis center elevates the story above your average romantic thriller. The plot is thickly layered with the bad guys double crossing each other which keeps the tension high. It's a quick read with likable characters and a compelling plot. I can't see what crisis pops up at the center next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
dk4him
This my first time reading this author and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. It has a very nice mix of romance, mystery and suspense while at the same time having a good Christian Fiction base. I really liked the main character Kelly. I loved how her faith was portrayed and how she lived it out and clung to God and that faith during some very difficult times. I also liked Ben and the way his story ends just gives you one of those warm fuzzy feelings. You will find your heart going out to both Kelly and Ben and even some of the bad guys who seem to be bad guys with a conscience.. ha! Good stuff! It was a nice change to have the suspense of a good Mary Higgins Clark story in a Christian Fiction book. Really liked that! I would definitely recommend this book. Be sure to check it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Forget Me Not is very exciting from the prologue. You will be drawn into this story of mystery, deceit, power games, and murder. The characters are very well written and as the story unfolds, you will be able to understand how they feel as things from the past do not stay buried and have to be dealt with again, three years later. The characters also deal with their personal struggles of faith and accepting God's love, protection, and guidance in the midst of their healing. You will not be able to put this book down because the suspense and twists and turns will keep you turning pages to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Bennett
Jane Doe wakes up in the woods beaten, her head bashed by a rock and her memory gone.the only thing keeping her alert is the killer headache pounding in her skull and the old mans head shes about to smash. Luckily for Clyde (the old man) he escapes the head beating and convinces the woman hes there to help. All that she has is a business card with the name Susan on it and a cross necklace. For reasons unbeknownst to her, she decides she must be Susan and trusts Clyde who then takes her to Crossroads.Shortly thereafter Susan meets Ben- the owner of Crossroads and husband to deceased Susan, who has an uncanny resemblance to the living Susan. The meeting is not friendly and although intense I couldnt help cracking up at the dynamic of these two characters. I knew once Ben could get through all the glaring and necklace snatching he would see Susan in a different light Never a dull moment and the plot moves very fast. Almost too fast-We go from murder, to beatings, to a huge mystery to love and romance with no breather in between. The first few chapters are confusing, it was hard to make connections to the prologue and pull the pieces together until about mid-way through. Its pretty much non-stop until the end and has a great climatic finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forget Me Not, Crossroads Crisis Center Series #1, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
I couldn't decide if I liked this book or not. I spent the first half of the book trying to figure out if I was missing something. It felt like I jumped in to the middle of a story without having any background information given to me. About halfway through the book, when the author began to connect the dots for the characters, did it finally get to a point where I enjoyed it and wanted to see what happened next. Overall it was a pretty good book, although, I did find the start of it confusing and frustrating at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>