Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print

Jolene Yoder returns to Indiana to teach lip reading and sign language to the newly deaf Amish man Lonnie Hershberger. As she begins falling for Lonnie, Jolene wonders if she'll ever see "signs" of his love for her. Lovelorn Lonnie is fighting his attraction to Jolene, especially since she seems smitten by Jake Beechy. And Ella Miller is worried the roving Jake will end up breaking her cousin Jolene's heart, never realizing that Jake has really set his sights on her-Ella! Who will end up with whom as these cousins face challenges in love and life?
Average Customer Rating:
4.841 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
Review 1 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this final installment to the Indiana Cousin Trilogy, Jolene Yoder returns to Indiana following the van accident that took her hearing. She is to be the teacher to two deaf Amish children that are new to the community, and though she has her misgivings, she is determined to be a good teacher as she once was.
Lonnie Hershberger is deafened by an accidental explosion, and is having a hard time adjusting to a world of silence. Jolene offers to help him learn how to communicate in his new world, but Lonnie is reluctant to go steady, especially since she seems sweet on Jake Beechy. But Jake Beechy is fighting his attraction to her cousin Ella, despite her continual rejection. Will these young people find God's will - and each other?
I loved this charming series, but one thing I noticed in this book was how accident prone the characters were. It seems as if the author used convenient "accidents" to force characters to action, and there was just so much of this going on in the book. I really had to wonder whether some of the end results and actions were because everyone kept getting into one predicament or another.
Despite my qualms on the excessive accidents, this book gave a very insightful view on life with no sound. Due to previous introduction, the characters kept my interest the whole book through. It was a decent sequel to this wonderful series, and made me realize a very important truth; Amish people are just like us. They aren't perfect, they have their problems, just as we do, and they don't have an easy life. But they keep the faith, simple lifestyle, and sound moral values as best they are able to glorify their Lord Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product sounds interesting

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
patty
Location:Pennsville, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not read this book yet, but by reading the back cover, the story sounds very interesting. I have read many books by Wanda Brunstetter and have enjoyed them all. She is a wonderful auther. I can never put her books down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This series was very ho-hum. Predictable.

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skeeter
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My first experience with this author. Certainly did not contain any objectionable material - which is important to me - but was really rather boring. Not nearly enough "twists and turns".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
cakelady
Location:Woodinville, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Loved all the books I have purchased, and have recommended them to others. I share them with people at church, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great story line, too many characters

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:Springfield, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the series altogether, but the last book really should be divided into at least another book. It focuses too much on too many characters' lives, making it hard to get to know each chararacter more individually like the first 2 books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slightly disappointed!

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have really enjoyed the entire series, but this book was not as good as it could have been! I felt like it was rushed near the end. I think it would have been better if there were two separate books based on Ella and Jolene so that we could discover more of there character like we did with Loraine and Katie! I did however like that we were able to see more of Eunice's heart in this read because in the second book I highly disliked her, but she begun to have my sympathy in this read! Overall I would say it's a pretty good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this final installment to the Indiana Cousin Trilogy, Jolene Yoder returns to Indiana following the van accident that took her hearing. She is to be the teacher to two deaf Amish children that are new to the community, and though she has her misgivings, she is determined to be a good teacher as she once was.
Lonnie Hershberger is deafened by an accidental explosion, and is having a hard time adjusting to a world of silence. Jolene offers to help him learn how to communicate in his new world, but Lonnie is reluctant to go steady, especially since she seems sweet on Jake Beechy. But Jake Beechy is fighting his attraction to her cousin Ella, despite her continual rejection. Will these young people find God's will - and each other?
I loved this charming series, but one thing I noticed in this book was how accident prone the characters were. It seems as if the author used convenient "accidents" to force characters to action, and there was just so much of this going on in the book. I really had to wonder whether some of the end results and actions were because everyone kept getting into one predicament or another.
Despite my qualms on the excessive accidents, this book gave a very insightful view on life with no sound. The characters were as big as life, and they kept my interest the whole book through. It was a great sequel to this wonderful series, and made me realize a very important truth; Amish people are just like us. They aren't perfect, they have their problems, just as we do, and they don't have an easy life. But they keep the faith, simple lifestyle, and sound moral values as best they are able to glorify their Lord Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply outstanding read!!!

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Cousins series and is by far the best of the three. It was so good I didnt want to put it down. I now wish there was a 4th one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bloom where you are planted

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:LA, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great reminder how to take circumstances that are given to you and use them to help others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
boots
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I havent read this story as of yet, but I have read the other 2 books, and love them dearly. I am having surgery done in a few months so I am keeping all the books to read until then because I will not be able to do anything but read. I know that I loved all the rest of the books that I have read on Wanda Brunstetter, and I know that I will love these other ones that I bought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was a good book

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
mimi
Location:Oviedo, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series was just wonderful. I enjoyed reading the 3 books very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I love Wanda Brunstetter's books and have this whole series and most of her books. I loved Jolene and her work with the Deaf with sign language and lip reading. I too have worked with the deaf. My husband was the one who is good at lip reading. Being a pastor, he has had some comical experiences lip reading. This book is beautifully written and the romance that is intertwined is great. I highly recommend this book. I loved it and am so pleased to have it as part of my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
June Thompson
I loved the book and i have a huge library of amish fiction books and i plan on hanging onto them and maybe eventually read again. But have let friends and neighbors also read some and all agreeing Wand Brunstetter is a fabalous author and will keep buying her books as long as she keeps writing them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlene Voris
I have enjoyed the whole series and would highly recommend that everyone read them. Wanda is an excellant writer of the Amish community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
The book is good. It seems there are are lot of "tragedies" and other "issues" in this one that are sometimes difficult to keep up with and keep sorted. It seems the author was trying to get a lot into the final one and get it over with. It is not as good as the other two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Dykes
Very good book. I love reading stories about the Amish. They are very down to earth people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Corbin
Having read the intire series and this last book was great and injoyment to own. The author gave great quality to the series with out gaps in each book, with fantastic story line . Would buy any books by this author. I read only the Amish love stories for the purity of values I was raised by.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Eubanks
I thought the book was great and up to her usual standard of books. she is one of my favorite authors. I enjoy all of her books every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carmen Fonseca
This is my first time reading a book by this author. I so enjoyed this story. It was real life. There were births, deaths,weddings and love. I will be ordering the other two books in this series. Wanda please continue to write real life stories. They are so enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Cousin's Challenge #3, Large print
This review is fromA Cousin's Challenge, Indiana Cousins Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie
Highly recommended, loved it! This is the final novel in the Indiana Cousins series. What an amazing conclusion! As always I can't seem to put Wanda's books down. All I want to do is read it to the end. I can't seem to stop once I pick them up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.