Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print

When the host of a popular radio talk show is murdered, the Triple Threat Club must narrow down the lengthy list of suspects who wanted him dead. Outspoken radio talk show host Jim Fate dies tragically and dramatically when poisonous gas fills his recording booth while his show, "The Hand of Fate", is on air. In the ensuing panic, police evacuate downtown Portland, leaving FBI Special Agent Nicole Hedges trapped in a high-rise building. Crime reporter Cassidy Shaw is the only journalist brave enough to report from the scene as chaos overtakes the streets. And federal prosecutor Allison Pierce must rescue a child separated from her family even as she escapes the danger herself.

In the days following Fate's murder, these three colleagues and friends team up to piece together the not-so-public life of Jim Fate in order to uncover the stunning truth of who killed him - and why - in a mystery where the stakes are very personal.

Average Customer Rating:
4.033 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Review 1 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
This review is fromHand of Fate - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it! I couldn't go to sleep last night until I finished it. I had no idea who the murderer was until the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It keeps you interested.

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donna Lacy
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the series and I was looking forward to reading it. It doesn't disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a very good 'read'

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
oleo28
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, I was not disappointed by Liz's unique style of writing a truly wonderful mystery. It kept me guessing up until the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Hand of Fate by Lis Wiehl is the second book in the Triple Threat series. Three women - a TV crime reporter, a federal prosecutor, and a FBI agent - work together to solve crimes and the problems that pop up in their lives. When Jim Fate, a controversial radio personality, is murdered, the three friends come together again to solve the murder. In addition, each struggles with their own personal situation - pregnancy, addiction, and facing the past.I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. I love a good suspense novel and this one reads a lot like James Patterson's Women's Murder Club series - not too graphic or scary, but with enough to keep you hanging on. I also liked how the author worked spiritual themes in through one of the characters ... more realistic than many Christian books. And while this is the second book in a series, it seems that each pretty much stands alone. I can't wait to read the other two books in the series.I would definitely recommend this book if you enjoy suspense / mysteries. I received a FREE copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
"Hand of Fate", the second Triple Threat novel by Lis Wiehl (with April Henry), was a race-to-the-finish read for me. I was intrigued the whole way through. Not only does it have an intense murder mystery, but each of the three female friend characters brought her own story line to the pages as well. While telling these amazing stories, Wiehl explores social problems and issues including big government, free speech, terrorism, drug addiction, illegal immigration, abortion, assault, racism, domestic violence, and more. A reading group guide at the end of the book includes questions to help readers further explore their thoughts on these. Characters in the book form and offer their personal opinions, too.I wouldnt classify the book as Christian fiction, but one of the characters is a Christian. She and one of her friends wrestle with the question, If God is loving and good, why does He allow suffering and pain? Also, both of these characters found themselves in a crucial moment, simply praying, "Please." I thought that was beautiful. As you might have guessed by now, Wiehl has packed a lot of ideas into this one great book.Of course, the biggest theme of the series is the friendship the three women share. They knew each other in high school, reconnected later in life, and hold jobs that coordinate and cooperate. They work together often, but also meet regularly to catch up on each others lives, support one another through lifes trials, and enjoy each others company. Their intertwined lives help solve the big and little mysteries of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
This review is fromHand of Fate.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emme
This is the second book in the series featuring three sassy, sexy, amazing female crime fighters. When someone was murdered, the three ladies try to solve his murder and try to piece together his death and uncover the truth. Since this is a mystery novel, I dont want to ruin the ending for anyone. This is a great read, and I highly recommend it, because it is suspenseful, captivating, and definitely not just a subway ride to work read. I stayed up all night to read it, and could not stop turning the pages! I love the female empowerment, and this entire book kept me on alert for hours on end, so this is truly a good book for anyone who is looking for a thrill and a great suspenseful mystery read. Awesome book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marsha Boley
After I read the first book by Lis Wiehl, I was looking forward to this book. Most second books don't always hold up to the first, but I was surprised with this one. I didn't know who the killer was in this story. When I picked the book up to read, I didn't want to stop reading until I had finished it. Now I am waiting on book three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
This review is fromHand of Fate.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Special Agent Nicole Hedges, Federal Prosecutor Allison Pierce, and crime reporter Cassidy Shaw are back in Lis Wiehls second installment of the Triple Threat series, Hand of Fate. When radio personality, Jim Fate, is murdered in what at first appears to be a terrorist attack the three women find their careers and personal lives intertwined once again. Fate, a not-so- veiled replica of the Rush Limbaughs and Glen Becks of the real world, is murdered in his radio booth and the city of Portland is thrown into panic. As before, each of the main characters must face personal issues often more daunting than the murder they are investigating. Cassidy continues to face the reality of younger faces in the television journalism world and the consequences of how she has tried to defy age. Allison has yet to tell her friends she and her husband are finally expecting a child. Nicole is still raising a young daughter alone as she balances her FBI duties with motherhood. Issues of faith are presented through the eyes and hearts of each of these women: the shallow news reporter, the true believer, and the hardened agnostic. Though handled with more maturity than her debut novel, Lis Wiehl and her co-author April Henry give us an ending that still seems hurried. For such a great buildup the conclusion is a bit disappointing. Hand of Fate is what we call in my part of the world, a beach book. If you are looking for intricately woven plots and thought-provoking dialogue you may want to look elsewhere. But if you want a fun read, with strong female leads doing something more than falling for the first hunk that comes along, this one just might be the ticket.With Heart of Ice coming next year the Triple Threat Club isnt finished so perhaps we will still see the satisfying ending I believe this writer is capable of. Until then, grab a chair, find something chocolate, take the afternoon off, and join Cassidy, Allison, and Nicole as they look for a killer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
This review is fromHand of Fate.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Hand of Fate, Lis Wiehl's second installment in the Triple Threat series, is action packed to the very end. The story opens with the murder of popular radio talk show host Jim Fate. The three crime-fighting colleagues from Face of Betrayal again use their wits and friendship to solve the murder, but even they don't suspect the twist that unveils the killer on the last page. This is not bedtime reading material, but it's definitely a page turner. While not overtly Christian, the author's biblical worldview does peek through the pages occasionally. Overall, I'd give Hand of Fate two thumbs up! I'm a member of Thomas Nelson's blogger club and they provided me with a free review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Burke
I haven't read this book yet, but based on the previous book in this series I'm sure I will find it a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Canaan Roling
I would like to say that I wish this book was more memorable, but it wasnt. Which I think is very sad, because we need more well written, enjoyable, and memorable Christian novels. Hand of Fate was a well written murder mystery, with the three main characters being friends from high school who have developed a tighter bond post college. The story moved quickly, and was interesting while I was reading it. The problem is that once I closed the book the story disappeared into the mist of generic mysteries. The only thing that really sets this book apart from the other generic mysteries is the fact that while dealing with modern day issues of sex and violence they were not the plot drivers. I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that one of the main characters is a vocal female Christian voice, she is the light and salt for her two friends to discover the truth of Christ. Even after she suffers a personal tragedy, she is able to recover and still believe in Gods goodness. All in all, this was a pleasant, uplifting book, just not one that stays with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie
I received a copy of this book to review from the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger Program which is called BookSneeze. So a Big Thanks goes out to Thomas Nelson!Hand of Fate is story is about a talk radio show host who gets murdered and the Triple Threat Team all gets to work on this case just like they were all able to work together in the first book. I read the first book in this series and loved the story itself but the character development wasn't so great for me. However after reading this book, I was very pleased to learn more about the characters that make up the Triple Threat but the story line itself was a little so so for me. Overall though I really enjoyed this book. I think the reason why I had a hard time with this story line was because there wasn't even the first clue to point to the person who done it in this book where in the last one I knew at one point in the book who the person was but by the end of the book I had switched my answer to someone else to who I thought done it.With all that being said I think those who enjoy mystery novels will love this book and I look forward to the 3rd installment of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
I absolutely loved this novel. It was a page turner from the first chapter, with great point of view and scene changes with each chapter.The reporter, Cassidy, is not a believer and the lawyer, Allison, is. The author did an excellent job showing how these two characters handled compassion and faith by comparing their actions based on their internal belief system.The main plot, the death of the talk show host, is believable and intriguing. The subplots stick close to the main story, yet add additional conflict and characterization. I highly recommend Hand of Fate a suspenseful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Who didn't want to kill Jam Fate - the controversial talk radio host?In this second triple threat novel, a trio of strong female characters who formed a bond of friendship in the first novel of this series are back. One of the women is much closer to the investigation than she would like, having been close enough to the victim to be considered as a suspect herself if she isn't careful. The other two ladies are dealing with their own struggles, one has an ugly event from the past resurface and the other handles a personal crisis with grace, thanks to her strong faith. A faith that isn't shared by her two friends ... just yet. I applaud the authors for their ability to create a thrilling story, full of plot twists and an array of possible villains, yet keeping the personal stories moving along for their three main characters. Their friendship grows tighter. We are able to see how events in their lives have shaped their characters, and how the faith of a friend can inspire hope in the lives of their friends - even if they don't quite understand it.This is one murder investigation that keeps you guessing right up until the end. There are so many possible killers ... This novel is fast-paced and SO easy to get sucked in and unable to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Beginning with a murder, Lis Wiehl along with April Henry deliver another great suspense novel titled, "Hand of Fate." If you enjoyed the first "Triple Threat Novel" you will not be disappointed with this one! Picking up soon after the last case is resolved, three friends Nicole, Cassidy and Allison are thrown back into working a case together as fear and panic take over the city while these three women are going about their daily lives. This panic begins when Jim Fate, a controversial talk radio host, is poisoned by a gas in his studio while delivering his daily show. While the novel focuses on finding Fate's murderer and the cause for this horrid incident, the three women are dealing with secrets of their own. They will realize that they really do not know each other that well and that often friends do need to be relied on in order to make it through trials that are faced in life. This book is very well written and holds the reader's attention right up until the last page. Wiehl and Henry kept me intrigued and guessing through the last page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
If you are looking for a suspense-filled thriller to read in a weekend, then, you need to read the book, "Hand of Fate", by Lisa Wiehl, a second book in her series of books, by Thomas Nelson Publishers. One thing that truly made me want to initially read the book was that it is a Christian novel, that alone is a plus in itself. The story setting takes place in downtown Portland. Outspoken radio talk show host Jim Fate tragically and unexpectedly dies, while his own show is on the air! Throughout this twist of irony & mystery, three women find themselves looking to each other, as one of them was secretly dating Jim, therefore one of them had unlimited access to his home and personal life, as well as possible evidence. In the days following Jim's death, it must be decided who is telling the truth and who killed Jim. this mystery was exciting and will keep you on the edge of your seat while reading it; you definitely won't want to put it down! Although this is the second of Lisa Wiehl's books in this series, it was the first that I had read and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I received a complimentary copy of this book from "Booksneeze", through Thomas Nelson Publishers, in exhcange for my review. My opinions are my own and were in no way influenced positively or negatively. Disclosure statement made as per FTC guidelines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberley
The book begins with the death of outspoken talk show host, Jim Fate, during a broadcast of the Hand of Fate. The Triple Threat Club, Allison Pierce, Federal Prosecutor, Nicole Hedges, FBI Special Agent and Cassidy Shaw, crime reporter, work together to decipher the circumstances of Fates death. One of the ladies had been personally involved with Jim Fate, further complicating the solving of the crime. The story unfolds as they search for the killer while dealing with personal issues they are each facing, some devastating. Will they discover who the killer is? And the motive behind the killing before it is too late?This book is fast paced and suspenseful. There are a few twists and turns as Nicole, Cassidy and Allison seek the answers to the many questions. The characters are well rounded and intriguing. I could not recommend this book as a Christian novel. There are too many references to drinking, immorality, and shallow Christianity. We often allow our teens to read adult fiction but not this book. As a Christian publisher, should I not expect a strong moral content? I realize characters need to develop and learn but there was little content that would lend itself to a change brought about by Scripture. I would not recommend this book. I received a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Preston
Hand of Fate by Lis Wiehl was a complete and pleasant surprise. From the first page to the last I was completely taken and read it almost in one sitting! Lis Wiehl is a storyteller. The characters are compelling and believeable. I found myself on the local library website looking for more novels by her.The book is about a popular radio host who is murdered by sarin gas in his studio. Murder mysteries are not my genre of reading but this was fabulous! The best part...I didn't figure it out ahead. It was not predictable or boring, just the opposite.Disclosure of Material Selected: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cecilia
I had the opportunity to review Hand of Fate by Lis Wiehl early. I was not familiar with the series before I received this book, so I have not read Face of Betrayal. Even so, I felt like the author did a good job at introducing the characters without assuming you had read the first book. Reading this book was a nice change of pace for me, a suspenseful novel starring a trio of female characters: Nicole Hedges, an FBI special agent, Allison Pierce, a Federal Prosecutor, and Cassidy Shaw, a crime reporter. Though the characters have worked together before and have a history (all three went to private school together) this book probes their relationships and challenges their ability to trust each other. Hand of Fate tells the tale of a popular and controversial radio talk show host who is murdered. The radio host, Jim Fate, is a very polarizing character, so the list of suspects is not short. There are a few nods to the headlines, and I appreciated how it made me reconsider how I interpreted those events. Though I have read crime novels before, I was pretty ignorant of the TV and radio behind the scenes, and I felt Wiehl did a great job of making you feel like an insider. The plot keeps you guessing, though I wish the twist had been developed a bit more (the middle was a little slow). Overall, it was a good read and I'm interesting in picking up the rest of the series! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hand of Fate, Triple Threat Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jason Wert
The storyline is very solid and much more efficient and creative than the first book in this series. The "Triple Threat Club" find themselves thrown into a crazy situation when a radio talk show host is gassed to death in his own studio amid fears of a terrorist attack. As they dig into the investigation, they discover a lot of people had motivation to end the life of Jim Fate...his co-host, his co-workers, politicians and even listeners.The story also delves into the backstories of each of the "Threats" bringing in multiple problems from drug addiction to the lasting effects of sexual assault. The ending seemed a little rushed. I had a tough time thinking the killer would turn so quickly when they were being handed a ready-made out for the blame. The plot of the story has the "ripped from the headlines" feel of a Law and Order episode but one particular passage was so similar to the real life death of a politician that it shook me from the realm of fiction. I had a very very hard time getting back into the story after that moment. There is also a passage where one of the Threats faces a personal physical crisis that really hits home with someone who walked through it with their spouse. I have to say that portion of the book seemed completely unrealistic to me. I understand the need to move forward in a book with the plot and story but she recovers from this event entirely too quickly. I can only hope in the third book of the series there's more emotional scars on this character.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>