Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print

Bella Rossi's life is nearing perfection. She's got the perfect guy, she's running a successful business, and she's about to plan her most ambitious wedding yet, a Renaissance-themed fairy tale come true, complete with period costumes and foods, horse-drawn carriages, and even a castle. There's just one hitch. The best man just happens to be Brock Benson, Hollywood's hottest and most eligible bachelor. Oh, and did we mention he's staying at the Rossi house to avoid the paparazzi?
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Review 1 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
trixy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just a plain good read, fun story line, fun characters. Felt like I was in the middle of the action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very enjoyable, light read.

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Freeport, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good story. Definitely have to read the previous book in the series & there is a 3rd after this one as well. I enjoyed all 3 for a relaxing, easy read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a good read...

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trish Orgis
Location:Shiner, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really have enjoyed reading about Bella and her crazy family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
InJoy
Location:Seattle
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Delightful entertaining reading. Characters were well developed, as was the story line. The family interaction and events kept the reader involved and hungry for more. In fact, I purchased and immediately read the other two volumes in the series--and they were equally as good. Real-life Christian values were realistically woven in throughout each of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doris Hampton
Location:New Caney, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it, it's a light read but I am looking forward to number three. I live near Splendora so I can really understand the characters from there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous series

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
robinorr2
Location:plymouth, nh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bella was at it again worrying over all sorts of things she had no control over. As usual though, she pulls off a fabulous fairy tale wedding. The whole Rossi clan kept me interested and smiling the whole story though. A great light-hearted read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series.

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caren Collis
Location:Warren, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the third book in a series. They were all great. Bella was soooooo much fun. Really enjoyed her and her family and of course DJ. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love these books!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loves2Read
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great! It's full of the laughter and love of this series but also about providing a testament to non-believers. Pick it up, laugh, and share it with others. You won't regret it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Regina Merrick
"Swinging On A Star" by Janice Thompson was a delight from page one. Honestly. Many times I find myself skimming over sections of a book, but not this time! I lingered on every word, couldn't wait to get to the end, and then when I did, wanted MORE. Which makes me VERY glad I already have the NEXT book in the "Weddings by Bella" series, "It Had To Be You" ready to read!Reading about the Italian Rossi clan is a delight. It stands to reason that not everyone in Texas is a cowboy and wears cowboy boots. Bella had never worn cowboy boots in her life until she overpurchased for a boot-scootin' authentic Texas wedding in Book 1, "Fools Rush In," AND before she met the love of her life, D.J., a construction-worker cowboy who just simply makes her melt. In this installment of the "Weddings by Bella" series, Bella not only has the wedding of her life to plan - a full-on Renaissance-themed wedding - but Aunt Rosa has a date with the Food Network; Uncle Laz is starting to behave even more strangely than the mobster, Sal's, parrot; and she has to keep the Best Man of her next wedding under wraps to keep the press - and Bella's star-struck sister - from mobbing them! If you like light-hearted comedy with a strong spiritual foundation, Janice Thompson's "Weddings by Bella" books will fill the bill. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
mary beth
I was absolutely thrilled when this little gem showed up in my mailbox. I thoroughly enjoyed Ms. Thompson's debut novel "Fools Rush In", so I was all in for the second in her Weddings by Bella series. I was not disappointed. Again, do not read these books while sipping, drinking or eating anything. You will laugh so hard things will shoot out your nose and you may choke. I am NOT kidding people. Ms. Thompson takes her physical comedy seriously and she out does herself in this novel. We witness DJ and Bella grow in their relationship as they begin to contemplate a future together. It is a sweet and wonderful romance. Then there is the rest of the Rossi clan. Ms. Thompson is an absolute marvel with her secondary characters. They are so believable and you really care about them and everything they are going through. The scenes around the family table are still my favorite. I am desperate at this point for Aunt Rosa's recipe stash. I just love her character. I aspire to be as wise and welcoming as she is. Add to that her Food Network adventure, a Renaissance wedding and the craziness surrounding the arrival of a Hollywood hunk and Swinging on a Star provides a fabulous escape for a quiet afternoon. Thank you Ms. Thompson for another delightful adventure in fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Swinging on a Star was incredible. There were enough romantic moments to make even the stodgiest woman swoon. And the kisses were to-die-for romantic. Did I mention that D.J. is probably the hottest hero ever? Mainly because he lives his faith from the inside out and he's so genuine! Granted, I know he's just a pretend person, but I feel like the characters in this book are people I actually know. There are so many funny one liners in this story that I found myself laughing quite a bit. And as far as surprises go, this story was loaded with them. The author also does an amazing job of torturing her characters and showing crazy Italian drama like nobody's business. I can't get enough of Bella and her amazing weddings. The details are so rich and fun. I feel like I am participating the whole time. It's cool that the only character whose point of view you are in is Bella's for both books, but the author makes is so smooth you can't tell you are in first person and you feel like you know the other people as if you were in their heads even though you aren't. This amazing novel had many spiritual and emotionally insightful moments about human behavior and people in general that, IMHO, puts this series light years above the rest of Christian fiction in terms of takeaway value. The author delves into many truths, is frank about the Christian faith, and she warms your heart at the same time. It didn't feel preachy, but totally natural given the way this family interacts with each other. And Brock, now there was a hottie to be reckoned with. I enjoyed getting to know him, too. My eyes misted on several occasions as I got to know him and other characters better. I ended the story with a satisfied sigh. That, to me, makes for a perfect story. Janice has a unique voice that is snarky in a fun-loving way and isn't mean at all. She really knows how to deliver on all accounts and I'm loving this series because of it. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Janice Thompson has done it again with this great second book in the Weddings by Bella series. The characters we know and love are back and better than ever, with some new lovable characters too. But things such as a medieval wedding extravaganza, the Food Network team coming to her house (the day before the wedding), nosy little neighbor children, a serious case of mistaken identity, a startling event involving uncle Laz, and a tropical storm threaten to destroy all of Bellas struggles for balance (and sanity). Not to mention the Hollywood hunk that is staying at her house to hide out from the paparazzi and who seems to be falling for her. The craziness is sure to make you laugh, and the ending is sure to make you sigh. Be sure to check this series out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
After reading Fools Rush In, the first book in the Weddings by Bella series, I knew that I had to read Swinging on a Star. I think I said this in my review of Fools Rush In too, but Janice Thompson has a talent for creating scenarios that are just so funny. She writes in a way that makes it easy to visualize what is happening, which makes the funny scenes funnier. Now, I found that Swinging on a Star was not as laugh out loud funny as Fools Rush In. That is by no means a criticism. This book was still very funny, but I could tell the author was not trying to outdo herself or go over the top with silliness. This book had a more romantic and sentimental feel to it than the last one, and I loved that. Swinging on a Star has Janice Thompson's wonderful humor and flair for creating beautiful weddings, but the main message of romance, love, and trusting God made this a sweet and uplifting story. Guido was still my favorite character, only for a different reason this time. I had such fun reading this book and found myself with tears in my eyes as I saw the miracles God was creating. If you are looking for a book that will make you laugh, smile, and appreciate God's blessings more, get yourself a copy of Swinging on a Star.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Swinging on a Star by Janice Thompson is the second book in the Weddings by Bella series. Bella is back, along with the rest of the raucous Rossi family. This time she is planning a grandiose medieval wedding complete with castle, moat, authentic food, and traditional style clothing for all attendants and guests. That's stressful enough, but Bella's Aunt Rosa has been selected by the Food Network for a segment that will be filmed the day before the medieval wedding. Now throw in a best man, umm I mean first knight, who is the equivalent of George Clooney, and life is about to get crazy for Bella. Thank God for D.J. her steadfast and handsome cowboy boyfriend who keeps her grounded and feeling loved. Readers can't help but fall in love with the antics of the Rossi family. Mama, who's obsessed with opera; Papa, who complains about all the cheese in Aunt Rosa's spectacular meals; Uncle Laz who owns the local pizzeria and battles Rosa daily about who's the better crooner: Sinatra or Martin; and Sophia, who falls in and out of love daily. Plus a trio of Full Gospel ladies who love their sequins and cruises! Thompson has filled this book to overflowing with delightful and funny characters who will keep readers laughing. Bella is sweet and almost perfect, but her faith is what makes the reader root for her to succeed and get her man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
There are times when I am in the mood to just be transported away to a different place. Swinging on a Star does just that!This book provides a glimpse into the life of the Rossi family from Galveston Island, TX. The main character, Bella Rossi, is a 20-something wedding planner who's just taken over Club Wed, the family business. Bella has decided to go in a different direction planning themed weddings.This book is chock-full of colorful characters highlighting Bellas large Italian family all living under one big roof. Joining in on the frivolity is D.J. Neeley, Bellas sweetheart of 3 months. The latest wedding that Bella is planning is a Renaissance-themed wedding. The couple are Rob & Marian. Rob's best man is his best friend, Brock Benson the hottest actor in Hollywood! Hilarity & antics ensue as Bella works to ensure that the wedding is not ruined by reporters & paparazzi, etc Janice Thompson writes with humor & lots of wit!I was happy to see Jesus being glorified and lifted up in this wonderfully entertaining book. Heres one example:I guess the real difference is in figuring out that were all royalty. Were Gods kids. So the whole princess theme is very real. Thats why it resonates with women so deeply. Were waiting for Prince Charming to sweep us away, of course, but thats just a symbol of God sweeping in and loving us in spite of our flaws. He doesnt see our warts. Or our wrinkles. He only sees that were his little princesses. And he wants us to hang out in his throne room. (p. 283)Mrs. Thompson, who lives in TX & has personal experience as a wedding planner, spares no expense in the details. The only inaccurate detail was that one of the characters owned a (pink!)1983 Ford Pinto; the last year of production of that model was 1980. But I digress! This book is lots of fun! This book was provided to me by Revell.Reviewed by Ponderings by Andrea http://andrealschultz.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Put together a large Italian family, weddings, creations of food, love and you have yourself a story. Bella is a wedding planner with a large Italian family. A grandmother, Rosa, who has a dream of being on the cooking network. Bella is in love with D.J. from Texas and is far from what her mother had envisioned for her. As Bella is planning a wedding, the best man happens to be a Hollywood star, and Bella's sister becomes head over heals for him. There is love in the air and hearts are being stirred. Grandmother Rosa is such a huge character with passion for cooking, but Bella has planned a wedding at the same time her cooking program is to be. Every family has drama, but this family comes together in love and faith in one another. This is a sweet, romance that not only brings Bella from planning weddings, but gives her the sweet gift of planning her grandmothers also. Bella too finds love, and who do you think plans her wedding? She never knew her gift would take her so far. If you are in the mood for a great romance filled with lively characters, beauty, and laughter, this one is for you. I enjoyed this story of Bella and her outspoken, laughter filled family. When God brings love He showers this family with it. This book was given to me as a gift by Revell for its review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
A story of love and laughter, Swinging on a Star is book 2 in Janice Thompson's Weddings by Bella series. Though, I didn't read book 1 on the series, Fools Rush In, I am truly happy that I got the chance to read Swinging on a Star! I wasn't confused in anyway by the plot or characters, so this, though I'm sure it's best read with the series, makes a good stand alone title, as well. Janice Thompson uses lots of humor in this book, making it one that will be a memorable book that you will want to read over and over. I laughed out loud so many times that by the end of the book I was practically crying...wonderful...that's what makes a GREAT book! The author's blend on Bella and her wedding business and a Hollywood hunk who has a crush on Bella, Bella's devotion to her boyfriend DJ, and an Aunt who is destined for the Food Network, is truly amazing. She adds God into the mix which balances everything- the plot, the characters, the town- out. I am still trying to decide who is my favorite character in this book. It's so hard to just pick one. They are all my friends now and I totally can not wait until book 3. This was truly a fun and easy read so I am giving this book a hands down five star rating and high recommendation for a wonderfully written book! *This book was provided for review by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
This story will make you laugh out loud.I like Janice's quirky sense of humor which comes through in her writing. I fell in love with Bella in "Fools Rush In." I like reading about her wedding business. Maybe because I made wedding cakes myself for several years. This is an easy read and I am eager to read the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy Wells
I read this book and book 1 inthe series. I hope that there will be a book 3. I just loved it. Very entertaining. Great message. I would love to see a lot more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Swinging on a Star, Weddings By Bella Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
I was so glad after reading the first book that I had the second one already on hand so I could continue on with Bellas story and I can't wait for the next one to come out! This is an amazing book and I reccomend it to all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>