Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print The Big 5-Oh!, Large print

Center Point Large Print The Big 5-Oh!, Large print

Olivia Wallace is no fan of birthdays. On her 21st, she was in an accident; on her 45th, the love of her life died; and on her 48th, she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Now she's cancer-free, but what will her 50th bring? Her friend Hallie has a plan to make it Liv's best birthday ever!
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
Review 1 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big 5-OH! - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy and light read

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jglov
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time reading this author, easy and light read. Somewhat predictable , but I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big 5-OH! - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paula
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Great story line. Easy to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More than just some laughs!

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am finding I really enjoy this author! This book made me laugh and cry. Olivia has had a lot of bad things happen on her birthday, but this year things were just a little different, if you don't count the hurricane.
This story was so much fun!
But it's more than laughs, Olivia takes a journey not only to Florida but home in her relationship with God.
Good stuff
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big 5-OH! - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

50's not so bad, you just need to laugh

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book immensely. Liv is almost turning 50 and her life has been full of disappointments and birthday disasters.
So it was fun to watch the antics that happen to her when she travels to Florida for a birthday vacation. I loved the interplay between her and Dr. Jared Hunt. There were lots of quirky characters that made me laugh.
If you're looking for some lighthearted fun you'll enjoy this book. You want to be reminded that sometimes you need to take chances in life and trust God, they this is a book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Romantic comedy at its best! Sandra Bricker's keyboard must skip and bounce, laughing at the story its keys tap out. Hilarious doesn't begin to describe The Big 5-Oh! Olivia does indeed find a second chance at love, but not where she thinks. A delightful read that will keep you up, giggling throughout the night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Although I passed the "Big 5-0" several years ago, this book touched my heart as I'm sure it will ladies of any age. I also loved the main setting--Captiva, Florida, one of our favorite places to vacation. An added bonus was reading about the various familiar sites and restaurants and the key lime pie! Makes me hungry for a slice just to type it.Widow Olivia Wallace dreads her upcoming 50th birthday, but not for the usual reasons. She has a string of bad memories associated with birthdays. Her next-door neighbor and her neighbor's mom who lives in Sanibel, work it out for Olivia to dog-sit the mom's beloved Boofer (a character in himself!) while the mom visits her daughter.While there, Olivia meets two men, a father and son who both seem to fall for her. She doesn't want to imagine what can go wrong on this birthday! Order this book to find out the surprises God has for her!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Romantic comedy at its best! Sandra Bricker's keyboard must skip and bounce, laughing at the story its keys tap out. Hilarious doesn't begin to describe The Big 5-Oh! Olivia does indeed find a second chance at love, but not where she thinks. A delightful read that will keep you up, giggling throughout the night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This was a sweet story with a lot of middle-aged and over fifty humor that was cute. I enjoyed the way each chapter started with a completely different tale that mirrored the story...about a donkey named Prudence. That was especially fun. I also enjoyed the comedy of mishaps and that the characters weren't perfect. There were a lot of great secondary characters in this story including secondary romances. They were fun, too. SO if you like a sweet, contemporary romance with cute humor and imperfe...more This was a sweet story with a lot of middle-aged and over fifty humor that was cute. I enjoyed the way each chapter started with a completely different tale that mirrored the story...about a donkey named Prudence. That was especially fun. I also enjoyed the comedy of mishaps and that the characters weren't perfect. There were a lot of great secondary characters in this story including secondary romances. They were fun, too. SO if you like a sweet, contemporary romance with cute humor and imperfect people, this story may just pick up your mood. I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
D Mayne
In The Big 5-Oh! Sandra Bricker managed to craft a story so compelling, I lost myself in the setting and characters. What an amazing second-chance romance between two people who have experienced loss and sadness. Ms. Bricker manages to bring equal parts smiles, tears, laughter, and love to this beautiful story. I've been her fan for years, and to my delight, she keeps getting better and never disappoints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Sandra D. Bricker has made a name for herself as a comedic writer with heart. Her latest offering, The Big 5-Oh! from Abingdon Press, is a great example of why.Olivia Wallace is a survivor. She's survived Ohio winters, cervical cancer, and a string of cursed birthdays. Now, as the big five-oh draws near, she could use a little sunshine in her life. When her best friend presents her with the opportunity to spend a few weeks house-sitting in sunny Florida, it seems her luck might be turning around, especially after she makes the acquaintance of Jared Hunt, a very hunky and very single doctor. But even the sunniest of days can have some clouds. Unique neighbors, a wandering alligator, a flatulent dog and a hurricane may make this Liv's most interesting birthday ever.Bricker has a knack for finding the humor in any situation. With snappy dialogue and realistic characters, she draws us into the story of a woman who's lived through more challenges than most of us will ever experience. Liv is on a journey of personal and spiritual discovery, and Bricker makes us excited go along with her. If you want a satisfying read with lots of laughs along with way, pick up The Big 5-Oh!Note - I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Olivia Wallace, or Liv, as her friends call her, is a widow and she has just won a battle against ovarian cancer. As her fiftieth birthday approaches, she cant help but think about her birthday curse. For as long as she can remember her birthdays have included some sort of tragedy or misfortune. Livs best friend suggests that she take a vacation to Florida to get away from the cold Ohio weather and the birthday curse. What Liv finds in Florida will change her outlook and her life forever.I could not have read this book at a more perfect time. The day and a half it took me to read this book was cold and snowy and the escape to Florida was the perfect setting. I could almost feel those warm Gulf breezes. Liv travels to Sanibel Island, which is one of my favorite places in Florida. In addition to the perfect setting of this book, I found everything about this book to be a treat. The cast of characters were a delight, especially Liv. We could all learn a lot from her as she learns a lot from God and from those who care about her.If you are looking for an escape from the cold winter or if you are looking for a book that will warm your heart and leave you feeling happy, you must read The Big 5-0h! It is a nice, light and easy read, but it will leave a lasting impact on your heart. And you will have several laughs along the way. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Huddleston
Olivia Wallace, a widow, is accustomed to bad things happening on her birthdays. Its snowy and cold in Ohio as she approaches her big 5-0H birthday. At the encouragement of her best friend, Liv accepts the opportunity to housesit her friends mothers home in Florida. She meets Jared on the plane to Florida and feels an instant attraction to him; however, they go their separate ways when the plane lands. Her two weeks in Florida are a comedy of errors: An eighty-year-old living across the street flirts with her, a twenty-something neighbor asks her on a date, an alligator swims in her pool and a hurricane hits. And the man she met on the plane is the father of the twenty-something and lives in the home behind her. Ignoring Jareds declarations of caring for her, she decides that, as a widow nearing fifty, she shouldnt think of love, especially so quickly. When her two-week vacation ends, Jared wants her to stay; she wants to, but wont let herself give in to her feelings as a new, rejuvenated Liv. She returns to Ohio and settles into her old life. Has she done the right thing? Will she regret leaving Florida and the first man shes loved since her husband died five years ago? Bricker is a delightful storyteller and her characters will stay with you long after you finish the book. The humor Bricker includes in the book makes the story that much more enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ramona Richards
Sandra Brickers The Big 5-OH! begins with a mood as bleak as the Ohio winter her heroine struggles with. Olivia Wallace, widow and cancer survivor, has never had a birthday that didnt arrive along with some dire tragedy. Now 50 is staring her in the face, accompanied by sore muscles, deep snow, and murky days. But Sandie Bricker is an author who knows how to make the reader laugh out loud, and by the end of the first chapter, Olivia Wallace finds herself headed for Florida to housesit for a friend. Its a bit of a culture shock for the lady used to her calm Ohio neighborhood when shes confronted with a flirty younger man, a wandering alligator, a stubborn octogenarian who insists on using her pool, and the partying neighbors next door. Then theres Missy Boofer, an aptly named and temperamental furball in a lampshade collar and pink doggie t-shirt that wont let Olivia in the house. The Big 5-OH! is a jewel, a fun ride from start to finish. It reminds us that God is most definitely the Lord of second chances at life, love, and the pursuit of happiness. Give this book to your friends and laugh with them as you soak in a fun tale thats as warm and uplifting as the Florida sunshine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Brandmeyer
Olivia Wallace has had a run of bad luck when it comes to birthdays and the big one is coming up. Shes prepared for the worse to happen. When her friend offersno insists she go to Florida to house sit she does, hoping it will change her outlook on birthdays. Maybe this year nothing bad will happen. Of course you know it will, but I wont tell you what occurs. I liked this book because the author doesnt run form the fear women have of getting a smidge older. We avoid small swimming suits, showing our legs in public and always putting our best face out thereunless youre Olivia who seems to end up in the oddest predicaments in her worst attire. An unusual twist that I enjoyed was the pages from the childrens story that begins each chapter and echoes Olivias life.This book leaves you with a feeling of hope and joy. Bricker makes you laugh as you read the tale of Olivia and her new found love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Big 5-Oh!, Large print
This review is fromThe Big Five-Oh!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Ullrick
The Big 5-OH, is probably Sandra Brickers funniest most romantic story yet. Yep. You heard me. I didnt think she could get any funnier or write a novel with even more romance in it than her other ones. But shes outdone herself with this one. In The Big 5-OH, you will meet some of the funniest, coolest, orneriest, interesting characters ever. Take for exampleOlivia Wallace. All her life her birthday ends up with some sort of catastrophe or another. And she doesnt expect the Big 50 to be any different. When her next door neighbor finally convinces her to take a vacation, to spend her 50th birthday, in Florida, Olivia heads out to Florida, where she meets some really interesting people and pets. First well start with JaredakaDrop-dead-gorgeous, M.D., neighbor extraordinaire.Next theres Boofer who has, well, lets just say a problem that no one would want to subject themselves to. Not on purpose anyway. And the space collar it wears adds even more character to the pets many charms. And I wont even mention the rest of the critters she encounters. Human or otherwise.And we mustnt forget the trespassing old man who swims laps in Olivias pool at the most ungodliness hour ever no matter how many times she asks him not to.AndI think Ill stop there. Read it for yourself to discover the rest of the cast.Let me leave you with this thoughtwhen I buy a romance book, I want it to be filled with romance. And if it has a good dose of humor in it, thats even better. Well, this book, The Big 5-OH, by Sandra Bricker is loaded with humor and sweet romance throughout the whole novel. So, if youre looking for a great read, then look no further. The Big 5-OH, will not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.