Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Under a Maui Moon, Large print

Center Point Large Print Books Under a Maui Moon, Large print

Carissa doesn't know who she is anymore. She and her husband, Richard, are recent empty nesters; Richard is spending more and more time at work counseling his volatile clients and less time at home with his wife; his clients are starting to show up at the house at night causing Carissa to feel scared in her own home; and to top it all off, Carissa's boss informs her that she's been "let go." She wonders where God is in all of this since He doesn't seem to be around to protect her - and she's already stopped trusting her husband. In the midst of her world tilting off center, she's offered time at a hideaway on Maui. Hiding seems like the best way to respond to life's overload, and the thought of being alone sounds like just the right balm to soothe her wounded heart. The languid Hawaiian sun, white beaches, and warm-hearted people bring respite, but meeting handsome Kai causes Carissa to toy with the idea of being romantically involved with him. Then, under a Maui moon, she looks to God for guidance and hope for the future. That's when she discovers His hand still is on her life, and that love is closer than she ever realized.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
Review 1 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Robin Jones Gunn Did it Again!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon Soden
Location:Loomis, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin Jones Gunn is my favorite author. She never fails to capture my attention and keep me reading to the end. I have enjoyed all of her books, and Under a Mauii Moon is no exception. The couple in this book, Carissa and Richard find themselves in a common situation where their relationship is in trouble, and it is fascinating to see how Robin works them through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
LeeLee
Location:Mobile, Al
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book. I love Robin Jones Gunn. This book a lot of people can relate to and it is an easy read. I like this book alot and would recommend it to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Feel like you're in Maui

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
The author really did her homework, I felt like I was in Maui with the character. Funny thing is, my husband and I had a very similar Maui experience with our marriage and beautiful Hawaii really helps clear my thoughts and bring me back the wonderous power of God's intervention. This book was a great escape.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Didn't care for this story.

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really enjoyed Robin Jones Gunn's books - Finding Father Christmas and Engaging Father Christmas. This one... not so much. Here is why...
While the story was detailed and exotic regarding her visit to Hawaii, the heart of the story through the middle of the book was lacking. Part of it probably had to do with the anemic betrayal on her end. She sort of popped her big toe into the waters of temptation for about one second, then pulled back and behaved herself. This seems to be typical of most of Christian fiction, which is why so may people think Christians are perfect and they feel that they could never be that way, so they don't even try. But that's an aside...
Not that I was wanting her to do wrong, but I didn't find it very believable that she was so controlled in her behavior, because the anger she had toward him at first was pretty gripping and dare I say a bit justified. Then it just dissipated. I think the transition from pain to healing was a bit too fast and too tidy. The beginning was compelling where I sensed the emotional tension and betrayal, and the ending was tender and sweet, but the middle felt a bit too much like a detour into a vacation with a tour guide, and I found myself asking "where is the story here?" But maybe that is just me. I didn't feel connected to the characters this novel. Beautiful cover, lots of potential, but just didn't grab me. Sorry.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Under a Maui Moon is like taking a mini vacation as Robin Jones Gunn sweeps you away to the islands of Hawaii. A master of ambiance, Gunn allowed me to smell the ocean, hear its roar, and feel the tropics as I read. Following Carissa poignant journey, as she examines her marriage and life, makes Under a Maui Moon a read that women of all ages will enjoy. It's a good reminder that God, even when He seems far away, is on time and on hand. Novel Journey and I recommend Under a Maui Moon, especially if you need a vacation and can't go away.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
A fun read that is a great vacation book. It made me feel as though I was visiting the lovely Hawaiian Islands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leist
The story presents the reflections of a Christian woman on her marriage after the empty nest and the very unexpected loss of a long time position and how God intervenes in refreshing and unexpected ways. Author Robin Jones Gunn never disappoints.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynette Smith
LOVED THIS BOOK!!! Another great book by Robin Jones Gunn. I couldn't put it down, and didn't want it to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Under a Maui Moon, Large print
This review is fromUnder a Maui Moon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
A Reader
This book is about a woman nearing middle age who finds her world falling apart. Her marriage is in a rut, she loses her job, and faces a few fears. Before Carissa comes apart mentally and emotionally she decides to come apart by getting away. Carissa is offered a cottage in Hawaii to vacation in, so jumps at the chance. While in Maui, Carissa has to face her problems, but makes new friends. God meets Carissa there and slowly takes her a part bit by bit utntil she realizes that she must change in her attitudes, marriage and in her relationship with God.I loved this book. Even though alot of the subject matter didn't pertain to me because I'm single, I still came away from the book with something to think on. Robin Jones Gunn books are always like this. No matter if I'm reading one of her teen books or one of her adult novels, I always come away smiling, sometimes crying for joy, but ALWAYS feeling closer to God.One thing I would like to say is that if you are like me and read and own every book by Robin Jones Gunn than you might want to be careful about letting your children under sixteen read this book. There are a couple of adult themes in this book that may not be appropriate for children and younger teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.