Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Familyman Ministries Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth

Familyman Ministries Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth

You look around, Mom, and what do you see?

  • Everyone else's kids are better.
  • Everyone else's home is cleaner.
  • Everyone else fixes better meals.
  • Everyone else is more disciplined and more spiritual.
  • Everyone else's marriage is better.
  • Everyone else can do it all.
  • Every other mom loves homeschooling.
  • Everyone else is more capable.
  • You are the only one who is falling apart and who feels the way you feel.
  • Why do you see those things? Because, believe it or not, everyone else sees them too, and feels the same way you do---the crushing pressure to meet expectations, to be perfect, and to at least keep up appearances when they can't. Let Todd Wilson draw back the curtain and show you what you can't see. Go behind the scenes with him and discover the reality. With gentle encouragement, anecdotes shared from his own life, and that lighthearted wit that brings such comfort and the relief of laughter to those who can identify, Todd will help you see the lies that bind you and steal your joy. You are not perfect---you may even be far from your ideal---but you are not a failure and you are not alone! Learn the truths that you need to lift your heavy load, take your joy back, and gain the courage and freedom to be real with others . . . and give them the precious gift of being able to be real with you.

    Average Customer Rating:
    4.429 out of 5
    4.4
     out of 
    5
    (14 Reviews) 14
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
    5 stars
    9
    4 stars
    3
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    0
    3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Review 1 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Nice little book

    Date:February 14, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    irena76
    I just started reading this book and am already halfway through. I like the author's humor and can certainly attest that I have fallen for some of the lies in the book. However, he should have had his book proof-read, before he sent it off to print. Lots of spelling errors! Also, I expected a little more from it. I still think it is a good read, especially for busy moms like us homeschooling moms. Certainly lightens the mood.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Powerful Encouragement

    Date:March 16, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Drieka
    Location:Willingboro, NJ
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This little book was a powerful encouragement to me. I wish that when I was picking out all those books on How to Homeschool that I knew about this book as well. As I read through the book, I literally felt a burden lift off of my shoulders. It was wonderful.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    It combines Biblical wisdom with humor and comfort

    Date:October 14, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Annie Kate
    Location:Canada
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth by Todd Wilson is a lighthearted but passionate look at a serious subject. This book is dedicated
    “to the homeschooling mom who often feels overwhelmed by the task of homeschooling and struggles with feelings of failure.”
    I suppose that includes all of us at one time or another. The author’s goal is to show us that most of those feelings are based on lies. In other words, we don’t have to feel that way!
    This slim book begins with an insightful look at what lies are, where they come from, and what they do to us. Then Todd tackles the nine lies that he is convinced all homeschooling moms believe. These lies are based on comparisons with everyone else’s kids, homes, meals, marriages, homeschools, and more. He is probably right, too: most of us do believe them to some extent.
    We can fight these lies by being open and encouraging each other, but we also need to remember the truth. Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe reminds us of some comforting, common-sense truths about ourselves, our children, and our homeschools.
    Unfortunately, Todd does not realize that some moms are not burdened by these lies since they avoid both comparisons and man-made goals. They have already taken themselves out of the game. In his eagerness to help the rest of us he does not take these godly women seriously, although they can be wonderful blessings and role models.
    Despite this one quibble, I love Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe. It combines Biblical wisdom and pastoral comfort with a touch of zany humor. If you are a homeschooling mom, do add it to your Christmas wish list. In the bleak days of winter, you will be glad to turn to it for encouragement.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 7, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Amy Byron
    Excellent book!! Truly speaks to the heart of a homeschooling Mom...I highly recommend this book.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 29, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Cathy B
    This is a great book. Todd Wilson is very fuuny and even though he of course is NOT a homeschool mom he understands our difficulties. I just started homeschooling this year and will keep this book on hand for those times when I am feeling discouraged. I actually DO love homeschooling but I stuggle with alot of the other LIES mentioned in this book. I hope it comforts all homeschool moms and will allow us to be REAL with each other!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 8, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Marsha Hays
    This book was so encouraging! As a homeschool mom searching for a better way it reminded me that it's okay to be imperfect!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 24, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Tricia Puritz
    I think this is a great read to help any homeschool mom become comfortable in her own skin and realize that in most cases, less is more. It was quick and easy to understand. 4.5 of 5 because there were quite a few grammatical errors that should be fixed.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:September 17, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Stacy
    it's an easy read and puts things into perspective a bit. I got a few laughs out of it too.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Date:April 24, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Robert Gray Jr.
    It would have been great had it not poked fun at moms who are organized and on target.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:November 14, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Lisa Ringel
    Hilarious fun facts that I can personally identify with..it really makes me consider how I do things and what I believe.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 30, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Heather Castellana
    This is the most encouraging homeschooling book I have read. I read it in two days and wanted more! Excellent and worth every penny!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 8, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Mary
    I picked this little gem up at the local homeschool convention. What a find! If you are feeling inadequate for the task ahead, as I was, this is the book for you. I am ready to begin my high school homeschool journey and this book helped me to stop waking up in the middle of the night in a panic. This book made me laugh when I was taking things way too seriously.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 4, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Kela
    I'm glad that I read this before reading any other "how to homeschool" books.I think that this will help me to prevent being overwhelmed. This book gave me the challenge to seek out like-minded homeschoolers to be real with. And that for me is a desperate need.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Lies Homeschooling Moms Believe: Learning to Live the Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing But the Truth
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:May 20, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Laurie Wright
    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was only about 120 pages and it was a quick read. I guess I have high expectations of myself as a homeschooling mom, so this helped put my mind at ease about things I felt I "should" be doing. It helped bring some balance to my life as I finish teaching this year. I will be attending a LEAH Homeschool Convention at the end of this month, and I hope to put into practice some of the "truths" I read about in this book.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.