Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print

Bella couldn't be happier that two of her long-feuding relatives have finally admitted their love for one another and are getting married. Their forties-style wedding is sure to be a night to remember. But when the Rossi house begins to fill up with family from Italy--and an old mobster from New Jersey--life starts to get complicated. Will a friend from the past drive the happy couple apart once more? And will Bella ever have time to think of her own rapidly approaching wedding amid the chaos?
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Review 1 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Had to Be You is the third in a great Series.

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
BabaD
Location:South Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
FUNNY! This third book is as funny and entertaining as the first two!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loves2Read
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Janice Thompson's books. They are interlaced with humor, love, Faith and laughter. I find myself unable to put them down, despite how late (or early in the morning) it is. I definitely recommend this book!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mix Italian and American :)

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : It Had to be You - Janice Thompson - 2010
In the final book of the Weddings by Bella series , we witness several weddings taking place and engagements galore. The third book focuses on the marriage of Laz and Rosa who finally after many years of debate and stubbornness over who was better Dean Martin or Frank Sinatra have put their views aside and are ready to commit to one another. Bella and her family couldn't be more over the moon , however this wouldn't be a Weddings By Bella book if trouble didn't arise in more than one way. With Bella trying to organise two weddings - her Auntie Rosa's and her own , she really needs an extra pair of hands but when her best friend disappears Bella is left to try and organise everything in time for the perfect day. When Laz's best man former Mobster Sal Lucci turns up , will he tear the happy couple apart as he rips into Laz putting his two cents where it doesn't belong? . Will Bella be able to do a Wedding Planner and pull off not only one perfect wedding but two ?. It Had to be You is the perfect finish to a wonderful series that lovers of movies like 27 Dresses and The Wedding Planner will enjoy. Of course , we can all sit back and imagine what happens when you put a room full of Italians together with half-a dozen Texans - It Had to Be You will have you laughing and crying and once finished craving Pizza with Pepperoni and humming Swing Music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Engstrom
Such a delightful, fun experience! It brought back so many memories for me: being very close to a large extended Italian family; coordinating my own daughters extravagant wedding; dancing to a great band; dealing with headstrong ethnic women. So good Id read it again in a heartbeat. I did think hero D.J. was a bit hen-pecked, but he was so sweet and every girls dream. Bella seemed confused a lot, but that made her more human. I sympathized with her about not being able to plan her own wedding, but was frustrated with her that she couldnt find a way to step up to the plate. Every single character came alive and demanded attention. As a reader, I felt an intimate part of this crazy family and loved it. Although its a fun romance, actually about several romances, its not a read and toss aside book. Its gripping and has a lot of depth. Not a book to put down after reading a chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette O'Hare
Each time my husband or I pass by this book by Janice Thompson we have to sing a couple lines of the catchy Frank Sinatra tune. I write this review with a heavy heart because this is the last title in the Weddings by Bella series. Bella Rossi, wedding planner and owner of Club-Wed, furiously plans the most important wedding in her young career for her precious Uncle Laz and Aunt Rosa. She is anxious to be done with the wedding because she knows the next wedding in line is her own. Family visits from Italy to attend Laz and Rosas wedding as well as an ex-mob boss and an overzealous swing band, making for an exciting pre-wedding blitz. Major conflict for Bella happens when some other family members decide to plan their weddings very close to her own. Bella is stressed even more when she is ousted permanently from her lifelong bedroom for a construction project to house Laz and Rosa. The icing on the cake for Bella comes when she is forced to room with her sister who insists on talking into the night about her own wedding plans. Bella hits a figurative wall and is forced to slow down. During her down time, she is pampered by her loving family and she is able to re-connect with God which is always a good thing. Thompson outdoes herself, humorously tying up loose ends in the book. She beautifully illustrates how we shouldnt judge people by how they look and to not lash out at people when they severely get on your nerveseven if they are your sister. If I had to say something bad about the book the only thing I could say would be the cover art. By the looks of things, the female cover model seems to have unfortunately wrenched her shoulders out of joint. The male model isnt at all what I would picture to be a Texas cowboy and I would know. He isnt even wearing cowboy boots. This is of course no fault of the author who wonderfully portrayed the Tex-Italian characters in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Janice Thompson is a master wordsmith and It Had to be You is romantic comedy at its best. You'll fall in love with Rossi clan and laugh your way through their misadventures, including the evangelizing parrot, Guido. Thoroughly entertaining, reading It Had to Be You is a cinematographic experience. Novel Journey and I give It Had to Be You a high recommendation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Can you say word from God? This book is exactly what I needed to be reading right now. Ive been struggling with taking too much stuff on, letting myself become stressed, and not staying in close connection with God. He comes first. Then family, friends, and work. Gotta get that right! I was completely able to relate to Bella. And, of course, D.J. is back and better than ever! He is a character that will melt your heart. Love him! Hes so thoughtful.All the other zany characters from books past are back and still never fail to crack me up. There are even more hilarious characters added to the mix, and situations that will nearly make you bust a gut. Too funny. Im sad to see the end of this series, but I thought that this was a great conclusion to the Bella stories. However if we just HAPPENED to see Bella and everyone else again in some other series down the road, well I certainly wouldnt object. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Love is in the air, and not just for Bella the wedding planner, and her boyfriend DJ, in It Had to Be You. Love brings families together with Italian passion and food. The family is celebrating the marriage of Rosa and Lazarro. Bella grew up with her favorite Aunt Rosa and Uncle Lazarro, and since this is such a huge event, everything had to be just right. Bella hoped to bring to life Aunt Rosas dream wedding and reception, and make her aunts dream come true. Of course, Aunt Rosa has to help and Bella cant keep her out of the kitchen. By the sounds of the reception menu, I would love to attend this wedding with the great food and big band swing dancing. Sparks start to fly - not only in the love department and in the planning of Rosa and Lazarros wedding, but between family members as they start arriving from Italy to join the celebration. There are many surprises and things to catch up on! It Had To Be You is the third book in the 'Wedding by Bella' series. Janice Thompson has captured the essence of the Italian-American family in this series full of love, respect, fun, food and music. Thanks to your books Janice, I've been taken away from the worries of the day and swept into Bella's world, with her and her family, and all the incredible weddings she was contracted to do. It cant get any better than that...fun, family, food and dancing. Im there!! Thanks for the memories Janice, great R&R and the spiritual thread that ran through all three books. Janice talked about God, how to love well and how to get close to Him and each other. This spiritual thread radiated in a fun but powerful way in this series. I had so much fun. I cant wait to see where Janice Thompson will take me in her next series. Nora St.LaurentACFW Book Club Coordinator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
This is book Three in the Weddings by Bella series. This time Bella is trying to to plan the wedding for her Aunt Rosa and Uncle Laz. They want to 1940's style band and Laz wants to include a friend from the past: Sal who was just released from prison, and is rumored to be part of the mob.All the characters you've enjoyed in the previous books are back in It Had to Be You--except for Bella's best friend Jenna who appears to be missing and no one knows where she is.It Had to Be You is a nice ending to this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Janice Thompson has created a wonderful, fun series about an Italian family in Galveston, Texas and all the culture shock that comes with that. The family has a wedding coordinating business that Bella has just started running and by book #3 she has her feet planted firmly underneath her and she actually is starting to turn her focus to her own upcoming wedding. The first two books introduced a quirky cast of crazy characters to surround Bella and in "It Had To Be You" we get reacquainted with the cast and even get to meet a few new characters that just add to the ambiance. This book is a perfect ending to the series, not quite as cute and clever as the first two, but just a great addition and wonderful wrap up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
If the title of this novel has your inner singer sounding like an Italian crooner than you've already got a head start on the setting of this novel. It Had to Be You, by Janice Thompson is book three in her series entitled Weddings by Bella. It features Bella Rossi, a young woman surrounded by a very vivacious and loving Italian family who happens to run the family wedding planning business, and her husband-to-be, D.J. Neeley, a true Texan cowboy who found his way onto their family home of Galveston Island via the construction business and never left after Bella captured his heart.If you love theme weddings and wedding chaos humor this book is full of it. I additionally found myself craving big band music and Italian cuisine after reading this. The entire Rossi clan is full of unique and wonderful characters. Bella's main character flaw is that she is too in love with her family to say 'no' to them. Her own wedding is fast approaching and other family members keep encroaching on her big day with wedding plans of their own. Bella is the classic 'giver'. She can't say no - even when her sister decides at Christmas to have her wedding only 3-4 weeks after Bella's own - Bella doesn't have the guts to tell her sister to delay her wedding a little so that Bella can get a grip on her own wedding plans and the major changes that will be happening in her life. Bella seems tossed about by well meaning family members that assume she is super human and can handle untold amounts of wedding creativity and stress on short notice because she plans weddings all the time, right? How many of us have had a hard time learning that lesson? Amidst all the wedding chaos, themes of forgiveness, not judging people by first impressions, and the power of living by example and that of prayer are woven beautifully into this at times humorous, but always loving, story. *Provided by the publisher for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
It Had to be You by Janice Thompson is the third book in the Weddings by Bella series. Bella Rossi is finally getting ready for her own wedding to hunky cowboy D.J. Neely, after planning so many other weddings in the previous two books, but before she can really get ready for her big day, her Aunt Rosa and Uncle Laz have to walk down the aisle together. As the rest of the family from Italy flies in for the big day, complications seem to pop up by the dozen. And just when Bella thinks she has it under control, things really get out of hand. Thompson has created such a robust and hilarious group of characters in the Rossi family, it would be sad to say goodbye to them after just three books. It felt on occasion that Thompson was stretching the realms of credibility a bit much to give everyone their happy ending, but she writes with such gusto and flair, it's impossible to fault her for it. It's one of those books that will have the reader smiling with tears running down her face from both laughter and joy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
It Had to be You was a nice ending to a fantastic series. It wasn't as packed with comical tragedy and zany situations as the first two books, so the pacing was a bit slower. It had some great "old people" humor and Bella was her usual lovable self. DJ was pretty amazing, too. This was not my favorite in the series, though. I'd have to say my fav was the second book, probably because this one dealt with wrapping up details more and winding down the series, so my emotions weren't as engaged in the story. I usually find the last book in the series to be a nice conclusion but not as compelling as earlier books. Not sure why that is. At any rate, the ending was sweet and contained the typical innocent humor and Christian tone from earlier books embedded in the story. This series is a great example of what tender, inspirational fiction is supposed to be. Not too much yada yada and delivering plenty of smiles with a chuckle tossed in here and there. I'm bummed to see the series end, but at the same time I'm satisfied with it. The message about waiting and saving yourself for your marriage was subtle, but still there and quite powerful. I loved this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
I am writing this review with a touch of sadness because now, the Weddings by Bella series is over. That is indeed a sad occasion, but I have enjoyed every minute of it from the very beginning. It Had to Be You is a fitting ending to the series. There is so much joy and happiness in this story. It provides a wonderful reminder of the joys of family during times of struggle and celebration. The Rossi family, well, and the Neeley family, are both families I would love to know in real life. This book still has plenty of the humor that I have enjoyed since Fools Rush In, but it has a double dose of sweetness that I really needed right about now.I found myself able to relate to Bella much more in this story than in the previous two books. She and I struggle with many of the same issues spiritually. She let her guard down more in this story and I got a good look at her struggles and how God can help with those struggles, even when we resist. She learned many important lessons as she tried to do too much and tried too hard to prove herself. Im sure a lot of women will see themselves in Bella, and they will be able to learn a lot from her.If you have enjoyed this series from the beginning as I have, you will love It Had to Be You. Janice Thompson knows her readers and she loves to give us what we want, and she does it so well. I would highly recommend reading the first two books in this series before reading It Had to Be You. I would hate for you to miss a moment of this fun, funny, and sweet series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keli Zsolcsak
The Weddings by Bella series which is set in Galveston, Texas is wonderful! The last book of the series, It Had To Be You is funny, happy, exciting! It wraps up everyones lives! It was so great to see Laz and Rose get married, it was lovely to see Rose realize just how much Laz really loves her. I love the entire Italian family! The series is full of how Love should be! True, Godly LOVE. It was heart breaking to see this story end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
The last book of the Bella series set in Galveston centers on Uncle Laz and Aunt Rose. Never have two characters so captured my heart as these two did in the other books in the series. Their love is obvious to everyone but them, and when they finally recognize it and start planning a wedding, the great Italian family takes over and creates a fun story with more twists and turns than you can believe. The talking parrot is back and this time his owner comes for him and thats a story in itself. As Bella plans, she must also take care of the man she loves and think about their wedding. With all the chaos surrounding Lax and Rosa, Bella finds herself wondering if her own wedding will every take place. Janice has done a wonderful job of tying up the loose ends in her stories and gives the reader a hilarious, but very satisfying story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It Had to Be You, Weddings by Bella Series #3 Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
This is a series to remember. The kind that will never leave my keeper shelves and will be reread over and over again.IT HAD TO BE YOU is the spectacular conclusion to a thrilling series. Bella and the Rossi clan have thoroughly wormed themselves into my heart and Bellas hunky cowboy is her perfect match. Bellas warmth and genuine personality gives all young women (and the young at heart) that a fairy tale love is so very possible.Not one but two weddings are being planned in this fun loving book and the trials are far from over. I love the light hearted spin a normally stressful situation would have. Bella has the remarkable ability to draw the reader in and make them a character right along with her. Nothing sappy about what she does, only a pure and lovable romance.I will miss joining in on the fun and am sorry to see the series come to an end, which in my opinion is the mark of a truly wonderful book- or in this case books. But I take comfort knowing that Bella is only a page turn away, in three of my favorite books of all time, WEDDINGS BY BELLA!!This review is my honest opinion, Thanks to Revell publishers for a copy to review. Available May 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.