Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books Immanuel's Veins, Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books Immanuel's Veins, Large Print

In the 1500s, as now, evil begins its courtship cloaked in light. And the heart embraces what it should reject, forgetting that once it had a truer lover. With a kiss, evil will ravage body, soul, and mind. Yet there remains hope, because the heart knows no bounds. Love will prove greater than lust. Sacrifice will overcome seduction. And blood will flow, because the battle for the heart is always violently opposed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
4
11 out of 1669%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
Review 1 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For King Solomon

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
JCStudiosTress
Location:Dallas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It very rare that you find a novel about the true romance of life, and Ted Dekker manages to overcome that challange every book he writes. The end of this book left me speechless. For all those who fear that this book is too dark, un-Godly, or just another vampire spin off, it isn't. Read it, all the way, and be plunged into your Beloved's sacred blood. You must survive the night to see the rising sun.
My lover is mine and I am his;
Song of Solomon 2:16
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dekker's Best!

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eliezer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is, without a doubt, the most powerful book I have ever read, and easily Ted Dekker's best. This time around, he deals with vampires. No, they do NOT sparkle, and NO, this IS NOT an attempt to appeal to Twilight fans!
Anyways, this book is brilliantly written and perfectly told, with genius and powerful use of symbolism and a perfect representation of temptation and the dangers of giving in.
Now, here is a message to a few 1-star reviewers:
HOW is this book "evil"? HOW is it "too sensual"? Have you seen the trash on TV and in the movies? Have you heard of the sickening smash-hit novel Fifty Shades of Grey? Another thing: what do you think the point of the book is? This is a warning about temptation! If a novel is to convey such a great message, there MUST be darkness and temptation involved! And what better way to do so than using sexual temptation, easily the most deadly of temptation? If you think this is too sensual, then remember: it could have been much, MUUUUUCH worse. There were no sex scenes; it was only implied. Do you want your characters to be perfect? Honestly!
Anyways, I'm done venting my frustration. And forgive me if I sounded rude; I was only making a point. Always portray evil as evil, or else you accomplish NOTHING.
To the people who never finished the book because they thought it was too dirty and had no spiritual message, I have this to say: read it from cover to cover. You can't miss the point of the book.
So, would I recommend this? Without a DOUBT!
Now, if you are simply not comfortable with reading sensual scenes or vampires, then I can understand you not reading this. But don't make the mistake of calling it "evil". That's a senseless accusation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I am a dedicated Ted Dekker fan, from the Circle books through The Bride Collector. This one I didn't care for. I'm not sure if it's the time period or the vampires that turned me off, but I would not recommend this one. Sorry Mr. Dekker, but kudos on The Priest's Graveyard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never the Same Again

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ralph
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Immanuel’s Veins takes on a journey that you will never forget. Mind you, this memorable trek is not for the faint of heart. Only those who can see through eyes that have not been tainted with preconceived notions of the cliché ideas that are fed to use each day can withstand this story. It is a different twist that has been spun to relay the magnificence and unadulterated beauty that is the anecdote of the Love that redeemed us. Evil is portrayed as seductive, blood thirsty creatures of the night that long for nothing but the soul of a beautiful woman along with her declaration of undying love. The Enemy stops at nothing until he has completed his task. Dekker does such a wonderful job portraying evil for what it really is: a wise and sly serpent who knows exactly what to say and when to say it. His tactics are so smooth it had me questioning whether he was really the evil one at one point. Dekker, however, did not disappoint. Her Savior was represented by the love the lead character possesses for the woman, Lucene. No obstacle is too intimidating to keep him away from saving her from the monster that was deceiving her.
The most beautiful thing about the book, as with all Dekker books, is no matter who the lead character is, he is always flawed. His strength only comes from Christ making Him the true hero of the novel rather than the protagonist. In the end, the message of redemptive love is made perfectly clear through this novel. It allows one to relive this astonishingly wonderful tale of good overcoming evil no matter what the cost.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Everyone is for this Story

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The story is the first person tale of Toma Nicolescu, a warrior in the service of Catherine the Great, empress of Russia during the Russo-Turkish War in 1772. It is also the third person account of Lucine Cantemir, the woman Catherine sent Toma to protect. But Toma doesn’t know what he is to protect Lucine from.
Lucine lives with her mother and sister in Castle Cantemir in Moldavia. All three women had led a life of wanton sexuality, but Lucine had learned a few things to give her a more mature outlook on life. Toma falls for the beautiful Lucine but cannot speak because of his oath to his empress.
Soon a strange group of Russians visits from a nearby castle, led by one Vlad van Valerik. Toma seems the only one to be suspicious of these smooth-talking, enticing men and women, but he’s not certain it isn’t just his jealousy at work. Lucine’s sister succumbs immediately to their charm, and the next morning Toma finds her with blood on her face and no memory of what happened, other than it was wonderful.
Various of them visit the nearby castle, and Toma discovers the Russians to be inhuman. One who had died is now alive again. They also have a taste for blood, and Toma himself nearly succumbs. But when Vlad van Valerik begins to woo Lucine, Toma senses true danger and begins to act.
That’s about all of the plot I’m willing to give away. I’ll just say that (to me) that first part of the book took too long, seemed too slow. Things definitely picked up after that, and took some surprising turns on its way to the conclusion.
Two things stand out about this book, besides the voice of Toma. One, it addresses today’s fascination with vampires in a fictional but Christian manner. Two, it is not a book for those who are squeamish about lust and longing spread out across the page.
If you are curious about the title of the book, think of the hymn whose first verse begins:
There is a fountain filled with blood
Drawn from Emmanuel’s veins;
And sinners plunged beneath that flood
Lose all their guilty stains.
Do I recommend the novel? Maybe. It depends. The blurb on the author’s website ends with this line, and it is true. “But remember, not everyone is for this story.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This book is full of sensuality & evil.

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Fedorka
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a Dekkar fan for a long time. I was given this book by a junior high student and was appalled when I read it. The author attempts to convey a story of redemption, however, it gets lost in the sensuality and grotesque relationships between vampires. I would definately recommend that no one read this book and that christian books.com takes it off their products list.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vampires meets Christianity

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Immanuel's Veins - Ted Dekker- September 2010
Wow , where do I start with any of Ted Dekker's books they are the kind that are written in a way that gives the novel a sense of historicalness and also a feel of Christianity but on the other hand touches a side of fantasy , mystery and thrill with a hint of adventure chucked into the mix. It seems however that nobody is safe with the rise of Vampire Fiction as we see Christian author Ted Dekker touch ever so slightly into the realm of Supernatural.
In Immanuel's Veins we witness the release of two warriors Alek and Tomas who on the orders of Catherine the Great are to go forth and protect the twin daughters of a fellow monarch. It is upon the arrival to the castle that they are fully aware of how promiscuous one of the twins are and Alek ever the playboy falls for her. During the ball , we witness a group of Russians who we later down on the track in the novel notice that they slightly resemble what you and me may call Vampires.
As their time is spent looking after the twins Tomas the Warrior starts to develop feelings for Lucine but as he knows his place is to protect her and not take advantage his string values and morals shine through in the novel whereas Alek is a playboy through and through.
We read as further down in the track the Vampires come to claim Lucine and have Natasha and Alek under their spell . It is up to Tomas to go in and rescue them , with his love for Lucine burning strong -will this give Tomas a clear head or will it cloud his judgement in doing what is right ?
As always Ted Dekker's novels come complete with a story and a meaning and read as we discover the depth of Immanuel's Veins as a tale of one man's (Tomas's) journey to find redemptive love and that no matter who we are or what our past may have been - we can always find redemption and love.
Immanuel's Veins is a novel that should be on everybody's to read list whether you rate yourself as a Christian or an Non-Believer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This story is for everyone--but not everyone is fo

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emanuel Pavel
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second book that I have read by Ted Dekker. "Immanuels Veins" contains a sizzling love story full of deep seduction. A story of longing and bold sacrifice.Its a story of power, lust, love, evil ... and redemption Then as evil begins its romance to uncover the light. And the heart embraces what it should flee. Forgetting it once had a truer lover.
I’m not really crazy about reading but Immanuels Veins was just an amazing book. I just stayed up all the night reading and just couldn’t stop. I always thought one thing would happen but then something else would come up and mix things up. It’s the love that most people in this world long for. Its full of suspense, and bone-chilling scenes that makes me hold my breath, and it also has an amazing message that isn't soon forgotten.
“This story is for everyone--but not everyone is for this story” this is one of my favourite quotes from the book. Immanuels Veins has been touted as a great love story, as so it was. Like no other love story you’ve ever read.
Naomi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Australia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this on audio book and listened to it with my mum we both loved it!!!! i would recommend this to anyone, really brings out how Satan can deceive us! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
TW2011
Location:CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how Ted Dekker takes this popular, secular topic and redoes it from a christian perspective. It was wonderful.
Ted Dekker is my favorite author, all his books leave you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What is up with this?

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
ChildofKing22
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not understand what is up with Christians and their fascination with vampires. I was surprised I did not see anything about that in other reviews. This is just another vampire book targeted at Twilight fans I suppose.
I did not read the whole book. It took a few chapters for me to figure out something was not right. I skipped through to confirm my suspicion that this was indeed a vampire themed book.
The Bible states that we should not fellowship with devils. Is that not what reading, watching & supporting all these vampire themed venues does? I am sorry, but I just did not see Christ in what I read in this book.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what he used to be

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have read all of Ted Dekker's books, and he really has changed his style greatly from his first books. I'm not sure were he is trying to go so I wont judge, but I miss the spiritual impact of his first writings. This book for me was a good read, but just not want I look forward to in christian fiction.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Indysmith
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Great Story line. I was afraid to read it since the other reviews said it wasn't as good as his other works. It was different, but still good. I would recommend this book highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thegirlsmom
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very different from his other books. Dekker went in a direction I didn't expect, with an ending that was equally surprising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonja
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This masterpiece was all that I needed to complete my Ted Dekker library as well as my afternoon. Well writen, full of excitement, and the only romance novel that I've ever finished, Ted Dekker truly is a master of his profession.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hesitant to Even Post the Review

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Location:North Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Well, I've read the vast majority of Dekker's books. Some I've loved and some have been good. This one...yes, the story was decent. I could appreciate the allegorical tale Dekker was trying to weave, but there were several things that just went cross-ways with me. There was a heavy focus on sensuality, and that is the reason I will not let my teen daughters read this one. I think it just was too much. Some elements were horribly dark, while those same elements managed to squeak out (though, barely, I think) a message of how evil can be deceptively alluring. Do the elements and the ending balance for a satisfying story? For me, no. In all honesty, I'm still conflicted over how I feel about this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doyle Johnson
"This Story is Meant for Everyone, but not Everyone is Meant for this Story" What would it take if we could have everything we ever wanted for one sip of something? What would it be like if this thing that could satisfy our mortal bodies was a sip of blood? Blood, Christ's blood covers our sins but what does the blood of a devil contain? Blood takes on new meaning in Ted Dekker's newest masterpiece "Immanuel's Veins". Toma Nicolescu comes to protect the the Cantemir Estate but he ends up not saving the Estate but saving one of the twin girls on the Estate: Lucine Cantemir. This story is about an ultimate sacrifice and a beautiful poem of how Christ wants to woo each and every person on the Earth. In order not to make this book sound really weird to even strong Christian believers, you need to read the book. The book will sound strange and unorthodox and to people who have not heard much about some strong symbolism in the blood of Christ, you will find the book dark and maybe even repulsive.To believe is one thing, to partake is another. When you accept God and take communion you "partake" of the flesh of communion. What happens when you literally partake of the blood of demons that have weaseled their way into the mortal world? How about you do not die when you get shot in the head, you are extremely fast, your senses for pleasure become enhanced thousand-fold and you live for several thousand years. Toma must face this evil and rescue Lucine, the love of his life, from this evil devil-spawn and save her from intense pleasure until she dies and has eternal torment."I do not want to gain the whole would but lose my soul" sound familiar?The story will sound bad I know, and the "This Story is Meant for Everyone, but not Everyone is Meant for this Story" is 110% true. If you are a feel good Christian then you may find you life revolutionized or you may find this book horrible. Great read and I would recommend it highly.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
I was really excited for "Immanuel's Veins". In theory this book should be right up my alley, I get into the whole vampire, otherworldly books - the setting and era of this book was great too. But for some reason I just couldn't quite get into this one. I've read some other reviews and a lot of people LOVE this book. That's great, I thought it was good, there is nothing wrong with it, it just isn't my favorite Ted Dekker book. I encourage you to read it though because it might speak to you in just the right way and really be a life changing book for you (as it has been for a lot of people). I am totally anticipating Ted's next book because if one thing remains true about Ted, it's that he is not afraid to try new things and he is always pushing the envelope!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
kelly
Another awesome book by ted dekker! it's different than most of his other books. but i definitely wasn't disappointed. it's very awesome. highly recommended! it's very easy to read and you won't want to put it down. i was a bit hesitant when i read the description and it said "in 1772" i don't typically like books that would be about that era of time. but this book is awesome, they don't have crazy dialect or anything like that. to me the words flow more eloquently because of the time era. but i like that a lot. other than that, there's really not much that suggests they're in 1772. so def read it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Immanuel's Veins, Large Print
This review is fromImmanuel's Veins.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dineen Miller
As I was traveling last week, I had quite a few hours on airplanes to read Immanuel's Veins by Ted Dekker. This book is a powerful allegory for the passion, pursuit, and sacrifice of Christ. I will even go as far to say that I found myself stopping at points near the end to pray, to praise Jesus for his death for us, and to pray for my husband to know what this amazing sacrifice means.And here's where it went even farther in my heart. Not only is Toma's love for Lucine so representative of Christ's love for us, I saw in it the love Christ calls us to have for our unbelieving spouses. I could completely relate to Toma's willingness to do whatever it took, to sacrifice anything, to pray that most dangerous prayer (Lord, do whatever it takes) to bring the one he loved to truth.As one who is spiritually mismatched, this story not only resonated with me regarding my own salvation but also the yearning to see my husband know and experience this all consuming love that is so completely and totally our God.One line in particular stood out to me, even the page number stuck with me (pg. 285). As said of evil:"Their lust to win the love of mortals away from God knows no bounds."The truth of this one line resonated deeply with me. This is the battle we face on a daily basis and the darkness that encompasses our unbelieving loved ones. However, to know the depths of God's love (if that's even possible this side of heaven), or should I better say to begin to grasp this all-encompassing love God has for us, shifts the desire for our unbelieving spouses to know Jesus from a selfish motivation to a shared passion with Christ that our loved one would truly know God, to experience the sacrificial love displayed in his Son Jesus, and to walk with God's Holy Spirit.Thought provoking, powerful, beyond fiction...this book crosses from words on the page to truth piercing the heart.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.