Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books While We're Far Apart, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books While We're Far Apart, Large Print

In an unassuming apartment building in Brooklyn, New York, the lives of three people intersect as the reality of war invades every aspect of their world. Young Esther is heartbroken when her father decides to enlist in the army shortly after the death of her mother. Penny Goodrich has been in love with Eddie Shaffer for as long as she can remember. Now that Eddie's wife is dead, Penny feels she has been given a second chance and offers to care for his children in the hope that he will finally notice her and marry her after the war. And elderly Mr. Mendel, the landlord, desperately waits for the war to end so he can learn what has become of his son who is trapped in war-torn Hungary. During the long, endless wait for victory overseas, life on the home front becomes very difficult, and in these unlikely circumstances, Esther, Penny and Mr. Mendel will grow and change in ways they never expected.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
Review 1 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story and characters!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
leigh
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with another reviewer that the book seemed to move slow at first while the author is providing background on the characters and situations. But, my advice is to persevere! This is a great read. There are wonderful relationships between people who are thrown together by the war, finances and family. It is not overly religious, but has wonderful spiritual overtones and depth. I especially loved the relationship between the Jewish neighbor with the two Christian children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story line

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
angelfire
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a slow read at the beginning but as I got into the story, I couldn't put it down. It addressed prejudices so well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good story,

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Niecer71
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The characters are very likable and the story moves quickly. You get to see everyone grow, both in maturity and in faith. Ms. Austin does a wonderful job helping to "feel" that you are in the WWII era. I will be recommending this to friends and looking for more of Ms. Austin's books to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
snooky
Location:Renfrew, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heartwarming and tearful, I just couldn't put it down, a must
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent book rich in the telling of relationships that would have been odd at the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!!

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is 1943 and the world is at war. Everything is changing and Penny Goodrich, isn't happy with all the changes. Penny is just a young girl with a little brother and a daddy, Eddie, who is choosing to go off to war to serve. Penny lost her mother in an accident and her father just isn't the same. He feels that if he goes off to serve he can find some sort of peace in all this mess. The only other family Penny has is her grandmother. A grandmother she isn't really close to. Her daddy wants to leave Penny and her brother with her as he goes off to war. Penny finds herself terribly upset. I would be too. I couldn't understand why this man, this daddy, had to go away and leave his children. But he was missing his bride and lost in his emotions that were running deep.
Next door to Penny's, Grandmother Shaffer, lives Esther. A lonely woman, who lives with her parents still. Although she works, she is devoted in caring for her parents. Parents that haven't given her much encouragement. Only words to hold her back. But as the story unfolds you begin to understand the fear that lies in her parent's hearts. Penny has had a crush on Penny's father for as long as she can remember. He doesn't really know she is alive. In a heart's beat, Penny, offers to stay with the children while he is off to war. Her parents don't understand this decision and Penny is none to happy about it. In fact, she is downright mean to Penny.
As Esther moves in to watch the children we meet the landlord who lives down below. Mr. Mendel is Jewish. I love this part of the story. We get to see not only the Christian view, but Lynn Austin, intertwines the Jewish faith. We all need a neighbor like Mr. Mendel. He too is hurting. Every character seems to be hurting in some way. But we see all these characters grow and we see Christ come alive in each of them.
It was the title, "While We're Far Apart", that caught my attention. The cover is beautiful and the story is one that will captivate your heart. I couldn't put this book down. It was one that I just took my time with. The characters were so real and I could feel their pain. But I too rejoiced with them. If you are looking for a summer read, this one is for you. I have now become a huge fan of Lynn Austin. What a gift.
What did I love? Through this story we meet, Peter, Penny's brother. Once his daddy leaves for war he simply stops speaking. Everyone is afraid something is wrong with him, but there isn't. He is simply silent. I learned throughout these pages that sometimes we must be silent to hear. Just as others had to be patient waiting for Peter to speak, we too must be patient as we wait upon the Lord.
I am a huge fan of historical fiction. This is one that simply takes us back in time and brings to life the stories of each character that you will not soon forget.
This book was a gift from Bethany House for it's review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dottie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy well-researched novels about bygone years, This was really a good one. My husband even read it and really enjoyed the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read a number of Lynn Austin's novels, and for the most part, this book is an easy read. The plot is heart wrenching, particularly when it comes from the very people unable to get out of Nazi ravaged Hungary. The sticking point is the main character. While she recognizes and confronts many issues that have brought her to the place where she is, there seems to be something lacking. The story plods along but lacks intensity or passion. I struggled to identify why I wasn't totally satisfied at the end of the book, and the only thing I can come up with is that for the hard-core issues addressed, the emotions evoked have the intensity of flat ginger ale.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Effect of war from a child's perspective

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuel Stephens
Location:Northern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well written, captured the feelings of the Esther. How the friendship with the elderly neighbor broke down walls that keep him from moving on and built up the kids.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical fiction with a twist

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I love Lynn Austin's writings, she knows how to bring historical fiction to life. I always love her characters and the time periods that are brought alive, but this one struck me as odd. The "main character" is Penny, but I don't like her. I thought, "Really? Why such an unlikeable character? I really want to like this book but not with this character!" I did stick with the book and it soon became evident that the real story was about Penny's transformation throughout the story. It turns out that Lynn has done it again and created a beautiful story of journey set in the later part of WWII and seen through the eyes of Esther and Peter (a brother and sister whose mom has died and whose dad enlists for the war), Penny (the family neighbor who volunteers to take care of Esther and Peter while their dad is gone) and Jacob Mendel (the children's Jewish landlord who lives in the first level of their house and whose wife died in the same accident as their mother). These 4 all undergo change as they endure the end of WWII. Excellent book!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The story is beliveable

Date:November 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
DebF
Location:Simpsonville,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author make the people in the story real that you knew them and you can feel their emotions. The book does need the jewish words defined.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ANOTHER WONDERFUL READ BY LYNN AUSTIN

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tink
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book all the way thru. It was rich with the history of that time period. You could not help but feel the deep emotions of all these characters. They were all in places of turmoil and decisions not always easy to make. When we think or read of the horrors of WWII, it is always an emotional journey. When we read the awful, evil things that happened to the Jews and to the soldiers. There is no words but Lynn did a wonderful job with this book. The love and forgiveness poured out also. It was just a well written novel. I recommend this book to everyone. Keep them coming, Lynn.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poignant portrayal of life and love in WWII US

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While We're Far Apart by Lynn Austin is another stunning historical novel in the author's oeuvre. Eddie Shaffer has enlisted in the military to escape the constant reminders of his late wife Rachel in their apartment, much to his two children's: Esther, 12 and Peter 9, dismay. Penny Goodrich has been in love with Eddie since they were children so she jumps at the opportunity to care for his children while he is gone in hopes that he will finally fall for her. Esther is angry at Penny's interference, and Peter stops talking with Eddie's departure. But Penny begins to flourish outside of her parents' suffocating guilt and attacks on her self-esteem, but her new job leads her to information that shatters her sense of identity. Austin is the premier historical fiction writer in Christian fiction today. Her novels are filled with three dimensional characters in poignant plots that bring history to life. Her writing is always insightful and the stories compelling as well as faith-filled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Kinda Book

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
If you like a plot-driven novel, this is for you. I did not want to put it down, and I continued to turn page after page. The pacing is just right.
On the other hand, if you prefer characters who are flawed, rounded, this is your book. I feel as if I know most of the folks who I met within the covers. They're REAL people.
Perhaps you want to learn while you read; this story teaches. In other words, here's a terrific read! I loved it.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Bethany House for my copy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
sixgrande
Location:Billings, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had a hard time getting into the story. It was a start read another book go back and try again. I am usually a fan of Lynn Austin. This was not a favorite
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been anticipating the release of While We’re Far Apart for a few months and the novel lived up to my expectations. Lynn Austin delivered yet another thought-provoking, engaging, and multi-faceted novel. Like Austin’s earlier A Woman’s Place novel, While We’re Far Apart examines the lives of several different characters during World War II, but I found this novel to be much more engrossing and moving. Each chapter is told from the perspective of one of the three main characters: Esther, a motherless 13-year-old child whose father enlists in the war; Penny, a sheltered young woman who takes a risk and volunteers to care for Esther and her younger brother Peter, and Mr. Mendel, a Jewish widower whose son and extended family are living in Hungary and experiencing persecution. As the characters face inevitable life changes, they are forced to overcome fears, prejudices, and cruelty and confront secrets that they did not know existed. Can they embrace these changes and trust God to see them through times of uncertainty and grief?
While I was reading the novel, I often found myself thinking that the plot would make an excellent movie. The characters were realistic and well-developed and although the story was told from several different perspectives, the plot flowed seamlessly and the lives of the main characters tied together to create a moving and intricate snapshot of life during the tumultuous years of World War II. I would have enjoyed a slightly longer epilogue to conclude the stories of the main characters since I found myself wondering about their lives a few years later. I hesitate to call that a flaw, however; I believe that I wondered about the character’s futures because I began to care about them throughout the novel. Only a talented author can create characters that readers truly care about. That is why Lynn Austin remains one of my favorite authors! I highly, highly recommend this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS AUTHOR

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Cross
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy all of Lynn Austin's books. This one has especially been good for the time that I'm reading it. I feel like I'm there, right back in the 40's. No one should miss reading Lynn's books
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved this book

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great read. The characters were all so easy to relate to. I couldn't put this book down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Copson
What can I say? Lynn Austin has done it again. This book will make you think, feel and cry. I would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for While We're Far Apart, Large Print
This review is fromWhile We're Far Apart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzy Mackey
I just finished this book last night and it was wonderful! Lynn Austin has again delivered a wonderful story in which you get so involved in all of the character's lives. This book is a must read, very good factual history included during World War II. It is amazing how she ties the history into her story. Read and enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.