Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Point Large Print Books #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print

Sarah Turner is a widowed Lehigh Canal lock tender who has resolved to find a way off the canal. She has her hands full tending the locks, raising three children, and baking bread and washing clothes for some of the boatmen. Sarah isn't looking for love, and she's vowed never to lose her heart to a boatman. But when she meets easy'going captain Elias Brooks, her determination begins to falter.

Captain Elias Brooks is certain that no woman will ever see anything in him beyond the ugly red birthmark on his face - and until he met Sarah Turner, that never mattered to him. But a handsome locksmith also has his cap set for Sarah. Will Sarah follow her heart where it leads?

Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Review 1 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
This review is fromSarah's Choice - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah was desperate to escape the Lehigh Canal in Pennsylvania. Forced to work the canal path by her father with no money in return, she runs away with Sam Turner and begins her married life in New Jersey. When the couple returns home, tragedy strikes and she is left a widow with three young children. Sarah is left with no choice but to run the lock that used to be Sam's livelihood. Baking bread and washing clothes for the canal men just to make ends meet, she struggles to keep her family afloat.
Elias Brooks inherits his grandpa's boat and the life that comes with it - a canaler on the Lehigh Canal. Despite his father's disapproval that Elias won't sell the boat, and thinking his grandpa wants him to run coal up and down the canal, Elias begins a life that he only glimpsed as a boy. While unsure of whether he wants to run the boat for the rest of his life, he is sure of one thing: Sarah and her little brood needs someone. Could that someone be him? And can they reconcile the fact that Sarah will never marry a canal man?
A charming end to a sweet story, and an easy read. As I've said before about this series, this is a book written in simple language yet a great story. It is a great escape from reality, and you feel as if you are a part of the people, the town and the canal itself. I had to hold my breath when it came down to the decision between Patrick and Elias - for one terrible moment I thought she was going to pick the wrong man. A recommended book and series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story line ...

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mysti
Location:Scarborough, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderful read by Wanda E. Brunstetter. Like the previous two in this series, I couldn't put it down. I hope a fourth one comes out some day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah was desperate to escape the Lehigh Canal in Pennsylvania. Forced to work the canal path by her father with no money in return, she runs away with Sam Turner and begins her married life in New Jersey. When the couple returns home, tragedy strikes and she is left a widow with three young children. Sarah is left with no choice but to run the lock that used to be Sam's livelihood. Baking bread and washing clothes for the canal men just to make ends meet, she struggles to keep her family afloat.
Elias Brooks inherits his grandpa's boat and the life that comes with it - a canaler on the Lehigh Canal. Despite his father's disapproval that Elias won't sell the boat, and thinking his grandpa wants him to run coal up and down the canal, Elias begins a life that he only glimpsed as a boy. While unsure of whether he wants to run the boat for the rest of his life, he is sure of one thing: Sarah and her little brood needs someone. Could that someone be him? And can they reconcile the fact that Sarah will never marry a canal man?
A charming end to a sweet story, and an easy read. As I've said before about this series, this is a book written in simple language yet a great story. It is a great escape from reality, and you feel as if you are a part of the people, the town and the canal itself. I had to hold my breath when it came down to the decision between Patrick and Elias - for one terrible moment I thought she was going to pick the wrong man. A recommended book and series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting - one of my best authors.

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
slowgoing
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read all 3 books in the Lehigh Canal Series - couldn't put any of them down. They were realistic, and well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Bastrop, Louisiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I felt as though I was right there with Sarah, even though I reared 2 children and the years were quite different, I still felt the same loss and feelings that it takes to make a home for your children. Never enough hours in the day to complete all tasks, but GOD was always on time every time. Diane Williams.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
DawnieK
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reading as are all of her books and I enjoy reading them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was a good book.. All three in the series were good books...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah's choice was a great book, I couldn't wait for it to come out. I read it in 3 days .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Historial Canal Story

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Brides of Lehigh Canal Series, and we now find Sarah a widow and mother of three young children. She is doing a man's job of physical labor in tending the Lock on the Lehigh Canal. She also makes bread to sell to the boatmen ...in her spare time. Sarah has always hated living on the water...she used to walk the mules for her father. When she married Sam she never thought she would be back, and definitely doesn't want her children to have any part of it.
The way of life on the canal is of historical interest and in this book you see the writing on the wall that it is going to be coming to an end...the train will be taking over.
I found this book to be an extremely fast read. Love the Christian aspect in this book, and how even tough Canal men find the Lord.
I enjoyed the character of Elias, he is a kind, considerate, and Godly man. Loved his interaction with the children.
I would recommend this book, although I did find parts to be predictable.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book as aleays by this author

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Watson
Location:Athens,TN.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
every book i have read by wanda brunstetter has been excellent and this was just the same. very touching and held your interest to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good wrap to the triology

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Her books are always great and this was no exception
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

all her books are great

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
houswife
Location:maylene,al
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All her books are great,i can't wait til the other ones comes out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris Adams
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always Wanda has kept the reader wanting more. I look forward to reading more. I can only imagine having to raise 3 children on my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth reading

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mickey
Location:Phillipsburg, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Another awesome book. I hope there are more to come
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THIS BOOK

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gwen4821
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book, I actually love all of Wanda Brunstetter's books. They are so in depth to the Amish and their lifestyle. Wonderful, Wonderful, would def recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful romance

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
skearls
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, i love that she considered her children when deciding on the marriage proposals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
donnacarrier
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything Miss Wanda writes and you will really love this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! Sarah is a good example of a hard working single mother who loves her children and would do anything for them. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Conway,Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot wait to read any of your books when you write a new one! This series is really great too. When I get any of your books I usually spend a whole day just reading it because I cannot put it down. Sarah's Choice was no exception. The details are wonderful, everytime I read about a food item I want to have it right then and there,because your description of it is impeccable and makes me salivate. I cannot wait till the next book comes out, I am sure it will be just as wonderful as all of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #3: Sarah's Choice, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS WAS THE BEST OF ALL 3 BOOKS. wANDA REALLY OUTDID HERSELF. iT MADE IT MORE ENJOYABLE SINCE IT WAS A STORY ABOUT WHERE HER HUSBAND GREW UP AND ALL THE THINGS HE DID. IT MADE IT MORE ENJOYABLE. IT WAS SO TOUCHING ALL SHE GOSE THROUGH. ALLSHE WANTS IS TO FIND LOVE AND BE LOVED IN RETURN. I REALLY LIKE THAT SHE HAD HER CHILDREN INVOLVED IN ALL SHE DID. I ALSO LIKE THAT THE CHARACTERS FROM BOOK 1 AND 2 WERE ALL SO IN IT. THANKS FOR A GOOD BOOK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.