Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Point Large Print Books #4: Grace, Large Print

Center Point Large Print Books #4: Grace, Large Print

It's never too late to find home . . . It's Christmastime at the Brenneman Bed & Breakfast, and everyone is excited about closing down for the holidays. But when two unexpected visitors appear seeking shelter, the family's commitment to hospitality is tested.

First, Levi arrives, sullen and angry, insisting on staying for five days. Next, Melody appears. She's almost nine months pregnant, but won't say a word about why she traveled all the way from Kentucky by herself. As the two strangers settle in, the Brennemans try to make the best of an uncomfortable situation. But Katie knows a thing or two about keeping secrets and is determined to learn the truth about these two strangers - while keeping her own secret safely hidden away.

Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #4: Grace, Large Print
Review 1 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming!

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Purduefan
Location:Lafayette, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect book to curl up with on a cold, snowy day. The warmth of the characters grip you from the first page and don't let go until the end.
This was the first book I read by Shelley Shepard Gray and I quickly searched for more. Her books are wonderful stories filled with people who value family, friends and faith. This is a great book to read during the Christmas season or anytime of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This had such a warm story

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
barney
Location:Lenoir, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of my favorite books. I couldn't put it down. I love Christmas books better than any other and this was a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A don't miss

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
poohbaby
Location:wallingford, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished Shelley Shapard Grey Sisters of the Heart series #1 Hidden, #2 Wanted, #3 Forgiven and #4 Grace. From the turn of the first page to the last I never put them down. Each book lead me on a walk of faith, hope and love journay I hated to see the last page because Shelley keep my attention with a love that was hidden, but longed for in each of her books. Grace was a book where two hearts that were scared to allow to form until that special moment that they listen to the Lord. Amazing book series each book can stand alone but I recommend that you read each book. Shelley is an amazing author. I LOVE HER BOOKS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Amish Winter Wonderland

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Grace - A Christmas Sisters of the Heart Novel - Shelley Shepard Gray- Oct 2010
Wanting a lovely christmas novel to read , though it's not Christmas - I could use the excuse of reading it as a pre- mid winter festive , as we start to move into Winter in New Zealand , which is when it in some places snows as our Christmases are met with the hot sun , swimming at the beach, bbq's , playing cricket outside.
In Grace we see our favourite characters from the previous books preparing for a fun filled holiday season as many around know that over the christmas period the Brennaman Bed and Breakfast is closed for the holidays . We see Katie and Jonathon celebrating their first christmas with their newborn son Stefan , we see Henryand Anna as well as Winnie and Samuel all preparing to spend time together. However , things aren't always planned for in their small town as not one but two guests arrive on the 20th December . We see the arrival of Melody , a shy and scared young women who is about to give birth and Levi - a man whose wife died in Childbirth due to his decison against blood transfusion. As we read on in Grace , we see that both the newcomers have past secrets that they are trying or hoping to escape from. Will they both find peace in their short stay at the inn and will their be romance in the air develop as a new babe is born .
This book "Grace" is perfect companion read for fans of Shelley Shepard Gray's series "Sisters of the Heart"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS NOVELLA OF AMISH FAITH!

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
GRACE by Shelley Shepard Gray is a heartwarming inspirational Amish Christmas Novella/ Romance set in modern day Lancaster County, PA. It is well written with depth and details.It is the fourth in "The Sisters of The Heart Series",(#1 Hidden,#2 Wanted, #3 Forgiven) but can be read as a stand alone. It has romance, Amish,forgiveness, redemption, love, healing, victim of a violent rape, understanding, faith, patience, finding love in expected places, finding friendship, and compassion. The characters are charming, believable, easy to relate to, and will capture your heart. While the Brenneman Bed & Breakfast Inn, two strangers will learn the meaning of love, forgivennes and faith. This is a delightful love story of hope, faith and finding true love.I would highly recommend this story expecially if you enjoy Amish, faith and the wonders of God's grace and forgiveness. This book was received for Net Galley for the purpose of review and details can be found at HarperCollins Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berdy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this author and have enjoyed all her books. This was no exception! I picked it up and could not put it down. The characters came alive while reading and it was like I was there. I could even smell that cranberry orange bread! Excellent!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

grace

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
aobibliophile
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grace is when God gives us what we don’t deserve, and mercy is when God doesn’t give us what we do deserve. - Dan Roberts
the Brenneman Bed & Breakfast closes its doors during Christmas season. it is a time to relax and be with family and friends. the Brennemans are all excited about their holiday plans until two unexpected guests arrive one after the other - Melody, a pregnant woman and Levi, a quite guarded man. will their arrival disrupt everything or will it bring about something that the Brennemans and even their guests themselves did not foresee?
this is my first time to read a novel about the Amish. i have heard of them but knew very little about their way of life. reading this book gave me the basics - what occupies their time, what they do for leisure, what their spiritual beliefs are, how they interact with the Englisher or non-Amish folks, what their culinary pursuits are, how they dress up and what holiday traditions they have. i find this information fascinating and it reminded me of what my aunt told me once - it takes less to live simply.
author Shelley Shepard Gray has written an interesting Christmas story with characters from her popular Sisters of the Heart series. readers familiar with her books Hidden, Wanted and Forgiven will certainly welcome back Katie, Anna, Winnie and the rest of the major players.
her novel's message is really about forgiveness, healing, hope and grace. the latter is an integral part of the whole and she tells us that it is ever present in anyone's life. one just has to embrace it.
what then is grace? grace is waking up in the morning and going to bed at night with all my limbs and senses intact. it is:
- the ray of sunlight that greets me at dawn or that last streak of yellow orange that fades when dusk falls
- the first star that twinkles in the night sky
- the moon with its feeble light and the power it wields over the tides
- the trees, fruits, flowers that fill my surroundings with a riot of colors
- the pets that faithfully keep me company and guard my home
- the job i have and the compensation i earn
- the food on the table
- the "thank you's i get for doing something i thought was so routine
- the "old and new" people in my life
- the tears of joy shed at overcoming difficulties
- the forgiveness i receive and that which i give
- the love of family and friends
- the kindness of strangers
grace is simply all the good in my life. what is your grace?
Disclosure of Material Connection: i received an Advanced Reader's e-proof Edition of Grace from HarperCollins Publishers through NetGalley.com i did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. all opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. this disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart and love for the Amish life.

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
columbus girl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelley has such an understanding and heart for the Amish.
I will be giving this book to friends. Can't wait to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

this book is good light reading

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
princess 2430
Location:williamstown'nj
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book is good light reading. The story teller brings u in to their lives and holds u there. Shows u how Great a God we have and how he is in our daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching Christmas story

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancyjean
Location:Chicago suburbs
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful story about living and acting the way God expects us to towards others. Plus a really nice story about family, Amish Christmas,and caring for others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pammy
Location:Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book Melody and Levi find love at the Brenneman Bed and Breakfast, while her English friend Leah finds love with a highway officer name Zack on her way to check on Melody. This is a great book about God's Grace, Mercy and forgiveness. This book also brings back all our favorites from Shelley's first series Sister's of the heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is like a Christmas novella, but with all the characters from Shelley's popular Sisters of the Heart series. You don't have to read those books in order to appreciate and enjoy this book, but if you have you will love seeing where those characters are now. At this special Christmas the family is all gathering at the Bed and Breakfast to enjoy time with each other. The only problem is 2 guests show up unexpectedly and life turns very interesting. Is it possible that God brought them all together for a purpose... just maybe. It is sure a fun ride to find out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very inspiring !!!

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
sweetpea
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book like the three before it was wonderful !! It made me stop and think about taking everyday for granted. I have been counting my blessings alot more since reading these books. She is a wonderful writer and I expect to buy every book she writes !!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be very inspirational, I really think it is a must read it really showed you that God is with you no matter what happens in your life and that He is always there and that everything happens for a reason, and that we should just put our life in His hands and trust him with everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this story to be very well written. It was nice to catch up with old friends. Shelly dose a wonderful job bringing us up to date with her characters in her first 3 books. This will be one you will want to read over and over again. It gives the true meaning of christmas. We only need to forgive and love each other. I like the idea of homemade gifts. It makes the gift mean more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace by Shelley Shepard Gray

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I’m looking for a book to read, Amish fiction is usually not my first choice, but Grace sounded like a nice story and I was in the mood to read a Christmas story. I was expecting a nice, cozy, curl up in front of the fireplace with a cup of tea kind of book. When I first started getting into the book and was introduced to all the drama and trauma that Levi and Melody were dealing with, I thought there was no way this book was going to be the cozy story I was looking forward to. But this is my first book by Shelley Shepard Gray and I really liked her writing so far, so I kept reading. Much to my surprise, and delight, Shelley wrote that nice, cozy, curl up in front of the fireplace with a cup of tea book. Yes, there was plenty of drama, but the homey, cozy atmosphere of the Brenneman Bed and Breakfast created a soothing backdrop to all the drama and that became the overriding feel of the story.
The characters were wonderful, the writing was wonderful, but the real star of this book was the feeling Shelley created for her readers. I don’t know all of her books are like that, but if they are, I’m a fan! I adored each and every moment of Grace. I loved the warm and happy family memories that were created and remembered in this story. I highly recommend this book for your Christmas reading pleasure. It is one of the most relaxing and enjoyable books I have read in a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4th in Sisters of the Heart is good Christmas read

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grace by Shelley Shepard Gray is the fourth book in the Sisters of the Heart series. Katie Lundy has been anticipating a quiet Christmas with her extended family at their bed and breakfast for months. Normally it's a quiet season without any customers, but when first Levi shows up to escape tragic memories of his home, and then hugely pregnant Melody shows up, the family must pull together to give their guests a nice stay and treasured holiday. Katie at first resents their presence, but best friend Anna and sister-in-law Winnie remind her to offer hospitality in Christian love, for surely there is a reason that God has brought these two lonely souls to their inn. At first Levi and Melody avoid each other's company due to their personal histories, but as the days pass, they find themselves drawn together and that they just may find the healing they need in each other. I'm so glad that Gray decided to return to this terrific series. Anna, Katie, and Winnie are all enjoyable characters whose friendship is both humorous and heart-warming. I did fell as though the sub-plot involving Leah was a bit unnecessary (although Zack's timing was vital). It just felt out of place with the rest of the family focused story in the Brenneman Bed and Breakfast, and her proprietary air toward Melody made her difficult to like. But that was a small part of the story, and I truly enjoyed reading about Melody and Levi's gentle romance and healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too Much Going On in This Amish Story

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
This book has already gotten a few 5-star reviews, and I feel really bad that I can only give it 2 out of 5 stars. It just fell far below my expectations for Amish fiction. I have read almost every book written by Shelley Shepard Gray, and while I feel that she can think up a great story, the delivery always seems to fall flat. Her style of writing reminds me so much of Janette Oke--a simplistic story, maybe a problem or two along the way, but usually a very tidy ending. It's okay to like that sort of thing--hey, Janette Oke was one of the first Christian fiction authors I ever read--but there are so many more books available now that I've found that can better grab my attention.
The book had three different story lines, and normally, that doesn't bother me. In this book, though, there seemed to be a lot of busyness and retelling of the same scenes over and over again. Maybe that can be attributed to the fact that the story covers a span of 12 days. One thing I have to mention--the portions of the story featuring Leah and Zack were just a little too weird and almost creepy to me...sharing any more than that would be a spoiler.
A lot of Amish fans may really enjoy this book, along with the previous three books in the Sisters of the Heart series, but it just didn't do it for me. I like a story--not just an Amish one--to have depth, and that was missing in Grace. I think if Ms. Gray focused on making her characters more realistic and with a little more emotion, her stories would greatly improve. Instead, I think someone at her publishing company may be too concerned with how quickly they can churn out her books....7 books in 2-1/2 years time says it all, in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick-to-read Sweet Christmas Story

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a sweet, quick-to- read Christmas story; I finished it in just a couple of sittings. It was fun to go back to the Brenneman Bed & Breakfast and visit with "old friends," as well as making a few new ones. The plot of the story was pretty easy to predict, but there were lots of heartwarming moments along the way as the story developed. I found myself getting into the Christmas spirit as I shared the holiday with the Brennemans, Melody, Levi, Leah and Zack. Thanks, Shelley, for a fun read!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #4: Grace, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet Christmas story

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melody and Levi are strangers when they arrive at the Brenneman Bed and Breakfast in Ohio, both burdened with pain and sadness. But the welcoming, family-orientated nature of their Christmas getaway will not allow them stay unhappy for long. Soon they find themselves drawn together during the preparations for the holiday season and slowly they come to realise that God has great plans for both their futures. Can a miraculous event on Christmas day bring them together?
This sweet, wholesome Christmas tale is the first book that I've read from the Sisters of the Heart series but it can be read entirely as a stand-alone novel. 'Grace' is a simple story about two people thrown together to help each other heal past hurts and learn to love again. The characters in this story were quirky and endearing, making me want to go back and read the previous novels, and I came to enjoy learning about their lives. I particularly enjoyed the subplot about Melody's English friend, Leah, who is determined to track her down before Christmas day. I also loved the setting of the Bed and Breakfast and could imagine it as a real place!
But as I said, it is a simple novel. I've read another couple of Christmas/winter themed Amish novels recently and this one pales slightly in comparison. Although I enjoyed this book, it didn't grip me and compel me to continue reading in the way that others have. I also had no doubt in my mind that the main characters were going to get together. Even in a romance novel where you expect a Happily Ever After ending, I like some stumbling blocks to be thrown in the path of the characters, something to make me wonder whether everything will work out. Melody and Levi had nothing to overcome after the first hundred or so pages. There was also something about the author's style of writing that irritated me; it felt like she was continually stating the obvious and telling us how the characters felt rather than let it show through their actions.
I would recommend this to those who enjoy Amish fiction and are looking for a simple, predictable Christmas tale. It's a quick read and easy to put down and pick up again. Although I wouldn't place this novel among the best of the Amish books available, I would be interested in reading more from this author as I think that she creates realistic characters and wonderful settings. 7/10
Thanks to NetGalley and HarperCollins for giving me the chance to read and review this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>