Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ignatius Press Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism

Ignatius Press Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism

This is the powerful story of Scott and Kimberly Hahn's conversion to Catholicism. Scott embraced Rome first, after deep and careful reflection on scripture and tradition. Kimberly, reluctant at first, later converted as well. Now they travel, speaking and writing about their own spiritual journey from conservative evangelicalism to Roman Catholicism. This book will encourage Catholics to maintain their tradition, and it will challenge Protestants to reexamine their anti-Catholic conviction. In an age when Rome is softening its claim to be the only way to salvation, this book offers a fresh defense of the Catholic church.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Review 1 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great conversion story

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jacee
Location:TX
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read this on our journey into the catholic faith. It was compelling and similar to our (my husband and I) journey into the Catholic Church. It was one of many resources that helped to provide the catalyst to journey forward. As a nondenominational bible-believing spirit-filled evangelical who would 'never be catholic' I praise God for His tender mercies, answered prayer, and removing the scales from my eyes and heart that lead us onward to the Catholic faith. Keep asking questions! God will answer them. - Still bible believing, spirit-filled and blessed beyond measure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight into the Catholic faith

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
The fortunate one
Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing like getting it from those that struggled so much to get there. The 2 versions, husband and wife, convey a much stronger conviction and helps the reader understand more clearly all the aspects of the Catholic fait.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaco
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I received this book as a gift and was a bit skeptical but found it very compelling. Dr. Hahn and his wife both explain the challenges they faced as they tried to square the teachings of their Calvinistic backgrounds with the Bible and Christian history. While ultimately a work of Catholic apologetics those struggling with similar callings to Catholicism may find this book very helpful.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Frank Congi
All though this book was put together rather quicklly because it is mainly a diary of Scott and Kimberly Hahn, it was an excellant read. It is a powerful story of the conversion of a protestant husband and wife to the Catholic church and the struggles along the way. I would highly recommend this book to anyone considering the Catholic church or anyone who has family who is negative towards the Catholic church. Their story speaks for itself.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rick
This is a great book. It helped me on my own journey home to Rome and just for the record, I would bet you a frosted cookie that old John from Tx. never read this book ! Pax Cristi!!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Gabriella Karina
Wow! This is one of the best books I've ever read! It makes my faith to God and to the Catholic Chruch stronger.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jim
One of the best books I have ever read. It is bound to upset some people. The books does explain what the Catholic Church teaches and how this Protestant minister came to believe in these teachings. A very moving and touching story.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Christin McIntyre
Scott Hahn explains beautifully the process that took him from a vehemently anti-catholic minister to one of the leading Catholic apologists in the world. It all began when he sought to understand his faith better. The entire book is deeply, thoughtfully and accurately rooted in Scripture (contrary to the assertion of a prior reviewer). The conclusions he came to were difficult for him, as for any Protestant, to accept, but the fruit of his faithful obedience is impossible to ignore. I challenge any sincere Protestant believer to read this book with an open mind, and recommend it also to Catholics who want to be able to better understand their faith and the Church.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2001
Customer Avatar
John
Poor Catholic apologetics, but good resource for mature Christians in learning and understanding how converts to Catholicism greatly err in their analysis of considering this apostate church as the apostolic church of God.
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jaime
One point for sincerity, but minus 4 points for emotionalism and scriptural ignorance. Scott Hahn was not fully grounded on what 2 Thessalonians 2:15 really meant, and everything was downhill for him from there. His testimonies on embracing the rosary and meeting JP2 were both pure emotionalism, and not scriptural-based...and is reminiscent of testimonies from Mormon converts regarding "burning in the bosom" after reading the Book of Mormon.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2000
Customer Avatar
Timothy D Brackett
This is a very good book. If I had read a book like this I would have never been confused by the Evangelical-Fundamentalist arguments against Catholicism. I love Scott Hahn. He is a great Christian brother in Christ.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rome Sweet Home: Our Journey to Catholicism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jeri-Lynn Woods
Scott and Kimberly Hahn are both gifted speakers (writers), with Kimberly bringing a steadfast honesty and faith and Scott a deep understanding of Scripture and a real gift of joy in the Lord. An exciting story - and an excellent source of information about what the Catholic Church REALLY teaches.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.