Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Summer, Sunrise Series #2

Tyndale House Summer, Sunrise Series #2

Actor Dayne Matthew has found a solution to his on-camera love scenes - wife Katy will star in his next film. But by the time they finish the film, they face an uncertain future, and possibly the end of everything that truly matters to them. The Baxter family learns that Ashley and Kari are both pregnant, but an ultrasound reveals that something is wrong with one of the babies. And the Flanigans continue to draw closer to their only daughter, as Bailey struggles to find her way amidst the turmoil of adolescence.
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Review 1 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Uplifting and Shows how God works in our live

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betty Monda
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series has been one of the best that I have ever read. They make you laugh and cry in the same book. The Baxter family draws you in and you just want to be there experiencing God's amazing love and the answer to their prayers. It's amazing to see how they hear God's voice through gentle whispers, through God's Word and through each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Harrell
This series of books is wonderful--couldn't put them down. Karen Kingsbury is an author that God is using to show how He meets the needs of people in all walks of life! Look forward to reading more of her books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Get your hankies out! Ive loved Karen Kingsbury's Baxter series & this one continues to show her incredible ability to write and bring her characters to life. It is a moving story and brings God's truth to life. God is ultimately in control and His love is amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vivian Williams
It was moving, down to earth and real. The auther touched on some issues of today that make each of us think about todays values in light of Gods word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
This book was definitely one I couldn't put down!! Just make sure you have a box of tissues!! The story of Ashley & Landon was a testimony to the realization of that life comes only from God. Each child, even those with disabilities or serious illnesses, is a gift from God. Can't wait til the next book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pat Waters
This was without a doubt the most heart-wrenching story of the whole series. I have passed it on to friends who agree!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Like all of the books about the Baxters, I loved this one as well. This book made me cry and that's always the mark of a book that can really appeal to the deepest part of you.I've read every Kingsbury book out there and I won't stop.I would like to see focus on another character in the family since we know Ashley more than any of them. This series feels like it could go on forever and I'd still love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joey
I have absolutely loved all of the Baxter family books by Karen Kinsgbury. I loved this one also! It's rare that I get a book that I can read in two days, but this is definitely one of them. I am surprised that these books have not become incredible cheesy , and that the plots and problems and blessings that happen to these characters stay fresh. There is only on problem that I have had with this series, and that is that everything happens to one daughter, Ashley. It seems that she is the on that the series focuses around, and she is the one who has all the problems. I would like the series to grow around some other characters, so I can get to know them as much as I have Ashley. When you read the Redemption and Firstborn series, and especially this book, you will know what I mean. Anyway, I still thought this book was excellent, and can't wait for Someday to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammy Gill
I could not put the book down; I had to finish it. Wonderful and very thought provoking about the quality of our lives not the length.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
christchick
heyy, this book is AWESOME!!! it is a MUST READ BOOK!! , the book was great except for timez when i just felt impatient with Katie n Dayne, i wanted to hear MORE about Bailey n Cody, n at times i felt myself get reeeallly annoyed with Baileys mum, but apart from that, this book is just plain AWESOME, n u HAVE to read it, or else....yur missin out on some thing HUGE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joanne
As addicted as I am to these books, I rarely am able to finish one without shaking my head for some reason or another. I can see how they would be a true roller coaster for some people, but...I don't know, I guess I just don't get into the whole 'happy fuzzy feel good' type of thing that Kingsbury likes to portray in her books. I have a hard time seeing them as realistic, but I will admit that this one was better than a lot. As heartless and cynical as this will make me sound, halfway through the book I was concerned. I was concerned that Ashley and Dayne's baby was going to live. I mean, if the baby had lived, I believe that Kingsbury would be in danger of portraying God as an '0n-demand' miracle-giver - whenever you feel like you need a miracle, just pray really hard and believe with all your heart, and poof! there you have it. Seems like that's what has always happened before, with the exception of Elizabeth. I'm glad that Kingsbury chose to have the baby die, because now we see that God doesn't always have the same agenda as us - He has his own timetable and we can't tell Him what He's going to do. That being said, even though it's been awhile since I've gotten emotional over a Kingsbury book, I found the tears rolling down at the last scene. One other thing - I don't know for sure, but if we were to go back and read Remember, would we find the same Ashley that we now know? Granted, it's good and necessary for a person to change once he or she is saved, but I feel like her whole personality has changed. Just a thought. Over all, it was good, if you like this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lynne R.
I just finished reading this beautiful book. I have read a few of the comments and I disagree with those who did not like it. Sad, yes, but life can be sad as well as joy filled. But as the book showed, with trust and faith in God we can overcome, as Jesus said We need not fear, He has overcome the world. The theme was family and how precious family is even with all it's ups and downs. So many do not or cannot realize that today. Only Karen can reach us deep down with her books and God's message. I do hope we can have many more books in the future so we who love her and her writings, can remain a part of the Baxter family for a long time to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joann Johnson
All of Karen's books are wonderful with a lesson in many aspects of life. This book will teach love, hope, miracles,gift of family and the pressures of our culture. This brought home to me that wherever we are in life or whatever we may be going through God does have a plan which is above any we may think we have for our life, to everything and every life there is a purpose. I was filled with so many emotions as I read this book that when it came to the end I felt I had walked this journey with the Baxter family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Extremely touching in a sad way. This book was my least favorite Baxter book so far, but that was probably because of how sad it was. With such a joyful book as "Sunrise", it was predictable that "Summer" would be full of falls, but I didn't expect such a downer - big problems in Katy and Dayne's marriage, bitterness between Brooke and Ashley, Cody Coleman going off to war, and Ashley and Landon's baby has a fatal problem? In some ways the book passed in a blur because it was hard to keep up with everyone's problems. However on a more positive note, "Summer" was still a "Baxter book" and their love radiated off the page, warming my heart and making me feel once again like I'm one of their family. Even Landon and Ashley's tragedy seems to work out okay in the end, and Karen's theme of the importance of life is carried strongly. I was very touched by this book I only wish it had ended with more of a conclusion for Dayne and Katy...xx
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Hazel K.
What a wonderful story and very emotional. You feel like you are part of the family reading it going through both the sad and happy moments with them. Can't wait for the next book. Please don't ever give up writing such spiritual everyday real life stories. Can not get enough of them! God Bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Karen has done it again! She's hooked me on her series. Now I've finished Summer and am awaiting the next installment in early 2008 and I'm going to be thinking about this story all the time until I find out what happens next. There are just enough loose ends to make you crave the next book and enough issues resolved that you don't want to throw the book at the wall. This story was a sad one but also very touching and healing. The author did a great job drawing me in to the story and I felt the emotion. She is truly an expert at making your heart connect with her characters. I want to be a Baxter. They have an awesome, yet realistic family with real-life problems. One of the underlying themes of this book is the importance of communication. The author shows the fallout when people close off their hearts to each other and she also shows the beauty of allowing God's will and not fighting it. This was one of the most emotionally touching stories Kingsbury has written. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dee East
"Summer" continues the incredible legacy of Karen Kingsbury's writing. The Baxter family has become like wonderful friends with whom I can laugh and cry, and would love to spend time with. Every book is more of a cliff-hanger than the last, and the characters feel as real to me as friends with whom I can share my own deepest needs. I will be sorry when Karen completes the adventures of the Baxter Family. Meanwhile, I feel they are all precious friends of mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2007
Great! What else can you say about a Karen Kingsbury book? Even though this was book 12 in the Baxter family and friends series, the stories never get old. Karen does such a good job of keeping the characters alive and real, as even the strong Christians face different perspectives and struggles in their lives. I'm already worrying about missing all my "friends" when this series ends!I am a high school teacher and love seeing girls in my classes reading Karen's Life-Changing Fiction. When I see a student with one of her books, I encourage her to read others and even loan out my copies to them. It's worth the risk of having to replace a lost book to see teenage girls exposed to this kind of reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
H. J. Noorlag
Absolutely one of her best yet. Tears flowed but Karen Kingsbury showed us all how to hear God's voice and to sing his praise in the midst of our traumas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Summer, Sunrise Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2007
Dayne and Katy find that in doing the reality show for 12 episodes reality does hit. In the Baxter family heartbreak comes in the form of a fatal birth. This is a novel that is saying God is handling all things but we must believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>