Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Free Press The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook

Free Press The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook

Collins, a former atheist, but most notably the head of the Human Genome Project, presents BioLogos (theistic evolution) for a new generation. Comparing it to atheistic evolution, Intelligent Design (ID) and creationism, he highlights the good points of this proposition that God directed evolution to its resolution in mankind. Working within this framework, he details BioLogosian logic about the origin of life, hypotheses from the Human Genome Project, and bioethics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Review 1 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful book, easy to understand language.

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Corrado Ghinamo
Location:Italy
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This book shows -with an easy to understand language- how rational the belief in God can be.
Francis Collins is one of the greatest modern scientists in the world, and a Christian. So no surprise if he is absolutely convinced about theistic evolution.
As a scientist, I was so happy to read about a faith so similar to mine.
Corrado Ghinamo
(author of "The Beautiful Scientist")
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful new look at how God created us

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bobd
Location:Newbury Park, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As science comes within our grasp we see more and more of the realities of how God created our world. This view, that God spoke but once, and all of creation was instantly set into motion, to unfold just as God intended, is a powerful new way to look at how God created his universe. We've always held that evolution demanded atheism. Collins shows us that this in not so, and that God is indeed the author of life, no matter how he chose unfold his story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Austin McGinley
At age 78, and a former priest in the Dominican Order, I can honestly say that Dr. Collins' book is the most important book I have ever read. He has answered questions that have plagued me for many years. I have held fast to to the Thomistic principle," Ex nihilo, nihil fit". Yet, I could not comprehend how or why the First Unmoved Mover saw fit to create human beings on this infinitely tiny planet. Now, at least, I can fully accept "It was no accident"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeff
I bought this book some months back and generally enjoyed it. Like one other reviewer, I also thought the book lacked a WoW factor. Maybe I expected too much from so eminent a scientist. Now that I see that others thought better of it, I might go back and read it again. The book is definitely worth reading, so don't take my reservation too seriously. I just hoped for a bit more. (By the way, I hold the same view of Mere Christianity, so Francis Collins is in very good company.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Cissne
About halfway through it and didn't quite experience the WOW factor I was hoping for. Generally well done but still don't know where ground zero is for the BIG BAMG. Suppose we have to have multiple viewing points to learn that as well as a kazillion years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loren Haas
Do not read this book if you insist on holding on to fundamentalist creationism in the face of evidence! Dr. Collins tells the story of his conversion from atheism to Christian, in part due to the faith he saw in the patients he treated. As a world renowned scientist and leader of the U.S. Human Genome Project, he examines the evidence in the evolution/creatism "controversy" from the view point of a geneticist. This new data, not even imagined by Darwin, independently confirms his theory. Dr. Collins presents this knowledge gently and respectfully, urging the reader to examine the facts of God's creation and then come to a conclusion. It is generally an easy, engaging read, but some of the DNA discussion can be challenging. As other reviews have noted, Dr. Collins story can be a powerful Christian testimony to non-believers. A great book to share with others who object to the anti-science sentiment present on some Christian churches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Sarcona
I bought this book for my husband and my mother-in-law who was a science teacher at a Christian school. They were both blown away by it. I also got a copy for a friend who is atheist and is now open to the fact that God is our creator! AWESOME!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sarah
My husband told me he was ready to ask Jesus into his heart half-way through reading this book. He said that it explained what he needed to know. I don't think he even finished it. He has had his nose in the Bible ever since. I just loaned it to my atheist neighbor. I will let you know...Seems to be an excellent book for helping people who didn't believe before.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.