Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Steeple Hill Books Ready-Made Family

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Steeple Hill Books Ready-Made Family

* Amelia North needs a safe haven, and finds it---in Refuge, Illinois! Stranded there after a car accident, the single mother expects to be cold-shouldered. Instead she finds a town full of people with generous hands and open hearts, including pararescue jumper Ben Dillinger. Is he about to take another leap . . . into love? 256 pages, softcover from Steeple Hill.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ready-Made Family
Review 1 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!!

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Avid reader
Location:Memphis, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book. In fact, I have ordered the rest of the books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anita
This was another great book about the pararescue jumpers of Refuge, Illinois. Im enjoying the series by Cheryl Wyatt who integrates racial differences in her stories as easily as personalities and careers. In this book, she not only introduced the bigotry that can occur between whites and Asians due to the Vietnam war, but also racism between so-called average and handicapped people, in this case, Mosaic Downs Syndrome.Pararescue jumper Ben Dillinger is in a parking lot minding his own business when a little girl begs him to help rescue her mother from their crashed vehicle. As the mother recuperates in the hospital, Ben learns she is between jobs and homes and finds himself falling for her. He wants to help her get a job so she and her daughter will stay in Refuge and he can get to know them better. As he sees it, his biggest problem is his inability to admit he has a brother with special needs who will soon move in with him. He loves his brother and has grown out of his childhood embarrassment about his brothers special needs at least hes sure has its just that he wants a bit more time before springing the news.Amelia North is enroute a new job when she faints while driving and crashes. In the hospital, shes amazed when her normally introvert daughter acts like shes known Ben Dillinger forever. Although drawn to the tall Asian, hes too bossy for Amelias liking. But as Ben shows himself to be a friend she can depend on and hints at becoming more, a heavy foreboding comes over her. Shes trying to make peace with her estranged parents but if theres one thing her dad always said, it was not to hook up with an Asian or dont bother going back home.Prejudice is an ugly thing and cannot be tolerated but if it came to choosing between Ben and her father, whom would she pick?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
LOVED this book !! Author Cheryl Wyatt has done a wonderful job of creating believable characters, and showing how the Lord can take even what appears to be a hopeless situation and make it positive. This book is my very favorite (so far!) in the WINGS OF REFUGE series - - FIVE STARS !! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn Rush
This is the first book of Cheryl Wyatt's I've read. Her unique ability to depict Amelia's vulnerability and determination drew me in. I instantly bonded with Amelia and just had to know what happened next. I lost a few hours of sleep staying up to finish it. Vivid writing and realistic situations kept me intrigued. Ben's character was exciting as well. His compassion was humbling as was his honor. Great read, I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathi Hassan
Book Three in Cheryl Wyatt's Wings of Refuge series continues to carry out her winning ways. While all of her books are very family oriented, this one has all kinds of family situations that need resolution.Amelia North is a proud young woman whose life was changed forever by one slip-up in high school, a slip-up that meant pregnancy and estrangement from her father. Her "mistake" brought about a precious little girl, though, who became the most important thing in her life. Amelia finds herself down and out with no money, poor health, and now her car is totaled. She's stuck in the little town of Refuge, on her way to St. Louis for a job she desperately needs.Enter pararescue jumper Ben Dillinger to the rescue. His heart breaks over the sad state of Amelia and her little girl Reece, and he knows he needs to help them. He feels God nudging him. But Amelia has been let down and shunned so much, even by her own parents, that she is determined that she has to refuse any offers of help from anyone, including God. Besides, she doesn't believe that anyone could really be as nice as Ben or the other people she meets in Refuge. There must be a catch, right?Cheryl Wyatt has created a novel that will bring tears to your eyes at times, but in the end it will leave you feeling good and praising God for His provisions. There is a lot in the novel to make us realize how important it is for us to let Jesus shine through us, how showing real love to others can change lives.The author has done a lot of research to learn about the pararescue jumpers, a special group of people who deserve our respect and admiration. I'm glad this series has shone a spotlight on them.I heartily recommend Ready-Made Family to readers in general, as well as the other books in the series. It is a romance but much more than that. A fairly easy and quick read, it's hard to put down until you're finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Sometimes an author comes along with a very special gift for storytelling. Wyatt draws me in hard, and holds me right to the end, with her fast paced writing and wonderful love story. I'd looking forward to more Wings of Refuge...or whatever else Cheryl Wyatt wants to write.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Amelia North is a woman in need of a fresh start. As a single mother, she has been rejected by her parents and her church. While on her way to start a new life and a new job, she is stranded in the small town of Refuge, Illinois after being in a car accident. Amelia is broke, alone and has a sweet little daughter, Reece to care for. From the moment Amelia arrives in Refuge, she is amazed at acceptance and help she receives from the people of this town, especially from Ben Dillinger. Ben is a pararescue jumper who is immediately drawn to Amelia and Reece. Amelia is touched by the generosity and acceptance she receives from the people of Refuge and she finds herself finding a new love in Ben.This book has a lot of elements that I like in a good story. I love the small town setting. A lot of the story takes place in a charming bed and breakfast, which makes for a relaxing and cozy setting. This book also has charming characters who will win your heart. I am not much of a kid person, but I am finding that I really enjoy books that have children in them. I found Reece to be an adorable little girl. Another aspect of this book that I found appealing was that there was not a lot of tension. That was a refreshing change as too much tension makes for a stressful read. This book is fresh and sweet and charming. Overall, this is a very nice story with a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Cheryl Wyatts third effort in her encouraging and inspiring Wings of Refuge Series is a wonderful romance that deals with perseverance, faith, trust, and restoration of relationship. Ready-Made Family follows the relationship between Ben Dillinger, another Air Force pararescue jumper on Joel Montgomerys elite rescue team stationed in Refuge, Illinois, and Amelia North, a wounded woman with no place to go and a young daughter to care for.It is absolutely beautiful to watch Amelias character blossom and bloom through this story. Her daughter, Reece, is a breath of fresh air that will make every reader grin and laugh out loud at times. Ben is a mans man, a lauded military hero with his own issues that remind us of the characters humanity. This story addresses family issues and interracial relationship issues and God relationship issues with heartwarming grace. It is wonderful to revisit the quaint little town of Refuge and re-engage the men and women from Cheryls two previous novels in this series (A Soldiers Promise and A Soldiers Family). And, although part of a series, this book reads easily on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ready-Made Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty Wysong
Amelia doesn't want a knight in shining armor, but that's exactly what Ben is. Ben, a pararescue jumper, reaches out to her and her daughter while juggling his own struggles. Although this is book three in a series, it's not necessary to read the first and second books--it easily stands alone (but you'll want to read them!). Ready-Made Family starts with a bang and keeps running. Woven into the story is Amelia's journey back to her faith, and it encourages us to trust and believe. All the characters in this book sparkleeven those that seem to play minor roles, and are very engaging. Cheryl Wyatt writes fast paced, fun novels that are a treat to read, and Ready-Made Family is no exception. It's an encouraging, heart-warming read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.