Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BMG Suing the Devil, DVD

BMG Suing the Devil, DVD

He's known as the "accuser of the brethren"---but this time Satan's being hauled into court as the defendant! Luke O'Brien---a salesman-turned-law-student---is suing him for eight trillion dollars. As the Prince of Darkness assembles a crackerjack legal team, the whole world tunes in on Legal TV. Will justice prevail? Stars Malcolm McDowell and Bart Bronson. Dove approved (12+). 90 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 out of 1580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Suing the Devil, DVD
Review 1 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian Comedy?!

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Billeigh
Location:Piscataway, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suppose that some reviewers don't appreciate satire, witty barbs, and (gasp) a Christian film that doesn't take itself too seriously! I, on the other hand, love this, have seen it twice, and also watched the commentary, which is very insightful. The acting is over-the-top at times, but again, this movie aims for more allegory than realism, and in my opinion works just right.
Blessings,
Billeigh
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting, Thought-provoking, Excellently Done

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joni Simpson
Location:Seoul, So. Korea
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was fun to see the devil put in his place! Makes you happy to be on God's side!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique film!

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was truly a good story. It was full of known actors and very well done. It was funny and thought provoking. My only problem was sometimes understanding the Australian accent of which I am not accustomed. It's witty, entertaining, and very well gets across the power of the enemy and the even greater power of the Lord. A very unique way to make an eternal impression. I loved it! I recommend this for adults, teens, and pre-teens. It was a great family movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
GMAMA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very slow and amateur acting by main character, good story line, not at all what I was expecting, after reading the summary. Really disappoint
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kiumzy
Location:Gothenburg
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Overal idea was great...exposing the devil and all his deceptive plans. However, I felt the build up was somewhat weak many boring and fake scenes especially btwn the main character and his wife as well as the devil's lawyers.
The character of the devil was played really well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Australian Christian film for years.

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
goolwa
Location:Goolwa Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my friends actually sponsored the making of this film and was one of the "jurors". although slow to start this film has been seen prior to release in many churches in Australia. It has caused much comment by all who saw it. We hosted some friends to see this film in our own home. As our friends were arriving, in 30C heat, a snake appeared and took up residence on our back verandah near the door!! who didn't want this film shown?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
NewEveryMorning
Location:Campbellford, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This movie has some scary moments. Funny, but serious message leaves no doubt that "The Devil" is after your soul and could care less about who you are, what you believe, and what music you like. Malcom McDowell as the devil creeped me out. Luke O'Brien, the law student, does a good job representing a man with a changed heart. It will remain part of my movie library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cheap

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cujo
Location:Spring Hill, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this had valuable messages in the dialogue, you really have to find them. Well written but left me with the impression that it cost less than a hundred bucks to produce.
High school drama club level of acting, a miserable attempt at a Jack Nicholson impression "......you can't handle the truth."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good good scripture usage.

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scooter
Location:Arlington, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than we anticipated. Used appropriate scripture as need. Shows some of the real tactics of the enemy, in a fiction movie. Great acting through out, and it improves as the movie is reaching the end. We would recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed in this film.

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
BarbaraS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thought the dialogue was silly and the people that made this movie blew their chance to witness the power of Christ vs. the devil. This was one of the worst movies my family has seen. Left everyone cold. The premise was good but the acting left a lot to be desired. This one may have been good for 8yrs and younger - the story was disconnected and just plain bad. It's a shame the makers of this movie got my money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning performance by Malcolm McDowell as Satan

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Darrell Beck
Location:IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie and really makes one think about the influence that Satan has in our society, but we accept as the norm
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary Fontenot
Location:Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This movie really opens your eyes to realize that we are fighting a spiritual battle. At first I thought it was exaggerated but keep watching and you will understand the meaning of this movie. This is a must see.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fight the noise

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very intriguing plot premise! I saw the trailer to this a while back and thought to myself “this looks like it could be a really good film”. I was further intrigued when I saw Malcolm McDowell, Corbin Bernsen (the Dad from the TV show Psych), and Rebecca St. James (Beautiful singer) were cast members; they are all very good actors. Keeping all that in mind I wanted to check out the movie Suing the devil. I was excited in regard to the points above yet I was also a bit nervous too, because if this wasn’t done properly then it would probably look pretty cheesy in my honest opinion…
Suing the devil is about an Australian man who decides to sue the Devil himself for 8 trillion dollars, after certain events take place within his personal life. The court finds Luke O’Brien’s lawsuit bonkers, until a man appears within the court room who hints he might be satan himself. Because the court is convinced the man is indeed satan, the great trial is set to begin with world-wide news coverage! Little does Luke O’Brien know this won’t be an ordinary trial, because not only does satan have the best lawyers hired, but what is discussed and how things take place will surprise everyone. There is plenty of drama both in court and outside of the court room to put it mildly…
I saw some things I really liked, and a couple of things I didn’t like so much. I didn’t like the actor who played Luke O’Brien very much, because I felt certain scenes he either sounded like he was overacting or cheesy; although he did ok in other scenes too. Some funny jokes were in this movie: one example being how Luke O’Brien goes through the process of serving the prince of darkness with a subpoena. Now excluding the song: Mighty to Save I didn’t like the rest of the movie’s music very much; it was almost as bad as the music in Courage (not to be confused with Courageous). The best thing for me to note is Malcolm McDowell’s excellent portrayal as lucifer. My favorite part of his portrayal was, when he explodes in the courtroom towards the end of the film; especially with what he says about being left or right-wing. Though I felt certain scenes could have gone better, overall I thought this movie turned out pretty good and certainly gives the viewer a lot to think about especially in regard to how to respond to temptation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Trial Of The Millenium

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Suing The Devil is a Christian legal thriller/parody that is unlike any other film I have seen. This "trial of the century" is between poor law student Luke O'Brien... and Satan! The team of lawyers are reminiscent of the OJ Simpson trial, and the news panel discussing this trial in-depth can be seen on any cable news channel, but it gives a feeling of authenticity. There is no doubt that a trial like this would be given world-wide, round-the-clock coverage.
There are uneven spots, especially with some of the acting, but Malcolm McDowell's performance as Satan makes this a film well worth watching. It is a very humorous portrayal, yet it makes it easier to see how insidious the devil really is and how attractive sin can be packaged. It has a more evangelical approach than some of the other faith-based films, but can appeal to a wide variety of people. Truth is presented in the film, and that can be controversial to some. I am a Christian, so I look at the message in this movie from the POV of a believer. There are other faith-based movies that may appeal more to a wider audience, but I did enjoy watching the film.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Suing the Devil, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How much would you sue Satan for???

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
belair82g
Location:Fort McMurray, Alberta
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This is a great movie directed by Tim Chey to expose the devil and his schemes. We all face a spiritual battle everyday and this movie does a great job showing that and what better way then having someone sue the devil in court. This movie has Christian cult classic written all over it and I think Malcolm McDowell plays the perfect devil. It's entertaining and has funny moments and some very touching and moving moments. Best of all the gospel and the truth of the gospel will be seen and heard. I recommend this movie to ALL. I give the movie a 9 out of 10.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.