Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Steeple Hill Books Snowflake Sweethearts

Steeple Hill Books Snowflake Sweethearts

Bringing her daughters to the one place she feels saf, single mother Annie Romano returns to Fairhaven, Washington. Though hoping to start a new life as a personal chef, Annie accepts a different job. Alex Jameson, the handsome man she secretly loved as a teenager, needs a live-in caregiver for his ailing grandmother. A big-city workahilic in town temporarily, Alex doesn't seem to realize how much her needs family-or love.

But the holiday season, hid grandmother's matchmaking friends and one fatherless little girl start pulling atboth Annie's and Alex's heartstrings. Just in time for themost special Christmas ever.

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snowflake Sweethearts
Review 1 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

none

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
donna
Location:Tesas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was bored with this book and didn't finish it. This is first time I have not like one of the novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fairhaven, Washington Series Book 3

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snowflake Sweethearts by Carrie Turansky
Fairhaven, Washington Series Book 3
Annie Romano has made a few errors in judgment during her young life. She regrets never telling an old friend what he meant to her before he left for college. Annie also regrets bad choices in her own college days, although she doesn't regret Emma, her daughter. After seven years of being gone she has now returned to her hometown, Fairhaven, Washington. God blesses her with an unexpected job and a home to live in when her friend needs someone to move in and take care of her, so her grandson can go back to his world of climbing the career ladder without worrying about his grandma.
Alex Jameson took two weeks vacation to come and get things settled with his grandma after she has a heart attack. She’s the only family he has left but his career is in California, not Washington. His old friend Annie is there to take care of his grandma and he can go back to work after Thanksgiving. Or can he? As his life starts unraveling, Alex sees that he’s left much behind to chase his dreams, what will he choose in the end?
The Bayside Treasure friends, a group of four older women live in Fairhaven and do their part as matchmakers. Alex and Annie both struggle with the past invading the future. Losing loved ones or watching them walk away have caused them to falter in their faith at times and make assumptions that the past will only keep repeating itself. Can they put their trust in God and let Him guide their futures? These books are pretty much stand alone, they just take place in the same town and people. Seeking His Love and A Man to Trust are the first two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful story!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Snowflake Sweethearts, by Author Carrie Turansky. The characters were very believable and the storyline never became dull. In fact, during one part of the story I realized my heart was pounding because the author described a scene so realistically! I highly recommend Snowflake Sweethearts by Carrie Turansky, and look forward to reading more books by this wonderful author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story and great writing!

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snowflake Sweethearts was the first of Carrie Turansky’s books I’ve read and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Annie Romano, the heroine, has a little girl to provide for so she returns to her hometown to start over where it’s safe. She puts her plans and her life on hold to help care for an older woman and that’s where the adventure begins. Sometimes it’s the bumps in the road that steer us toward the right path and give us a chance to examine our hearts and motives. That’s exactly what happens to Annie in Snowflake Sweethearts. It’s what happens to Alex Jameson, too, when his heart opens to Annie. Carrie’s characters deal with real-life problems. They may not always make the right choices all the time but supporting characters lead the way and gently influence their decisions. Carrie’s sweet heart shines through in her writing and I can’t wait to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Christmas Read

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Romano returns to Fairhaven, Washington, to raise her 5-year-old daughter. She’s starting a business as a personal chef, but it’s taking time and effort to build a clientele and she finds she needs another job to make ends meet for Emma. Back in high school she worked part time at Jameson’s Bakery, so she stops in there to see the owner, her elderly friend, Irene, and ask for a job. It’s clear Irene can’t afford another employee, though, and before the conversation gets going too far, Irene has a heart attack on the spot.
Annie has no choice but to call Irene’s grandson, Alex, who lives in San Francisco. Annie had a secret crush on Alex back in the day, and she really doesn’t want to see him again–not with Emma, the proof of some poor choices she’s made. But Alex is focused on his grandmother and offers Annie a job as a live in caretaker and chef for Irene. Annie is desperate (and loves both Irene and Alex) so agrees.
Torn between needing to return to SF and find out if the rumors about hotel mergers are true–and what affect they’d have on his job–and his desire to care for his grandmother, Alex lingers in Fairhaven and begins to see Annie for who she is. But it takes a little girl who craves a daddy and some matchmaking from Irene and her friends to bring these matters of the heart to the forefront.
Is this not a gorgeous cover for a Christmas romance novel? Every time I saw this cover I knew I wanted to read this book. I also love the title, Snowflake Sweethearts, so when the author offered a few giveaways on her Facebook page, I popped my name on the list and was delighted to win a digital copy.
I fully expected to enjoy this novel, and I did. What I didn’t expect was to read it all in one sitting, but once I’d opened the file, I just sort of kept going. It’s not that the story was riveting in a suspenseful way, just that the warm emotions evoked first by the cover were equally present in the novel. If you’re looking for a sweet Christmas read, I recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas Christian Romance

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette Wilson
Location:Zimbabwe
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Romano is desperately seeking a job. Not only does she have to care for herself, but also has to look after her five year old daughter.
Up till now, Emma has not asked much about her father, and Annie has not had to ask any questions. Up till now, Annie has made all the decisions regarding Emma and her future and does not take kindly to input from others as to how to raise her daughter.
Annie just happens to be with Irene Jameson, when she has a heart attack and is rushed to the hospital. Annie had gone in search of a job, but discovers that there is nothing available. That is, until Alex Jameson asks Annie if she will be willing to come and look after his grandmother until she gains her strength.
The truth is that Alex cannot afford to be away from work too long, or else risk losing his job.
Annie since a teenager has had a crush on Alex and she must now move on in a professional manner, in order to provide for herself and her daughter, putting the past behind her. At least that is what she thinks…
This is a sweet, touching story. Thanks Carrie, I really enjoyed it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snowflake Sweethearts - A Great Holiday Read!

Date:November 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful heartfelt story about a single mother trying to make a living for her and her daughter. Annie Romano returns to her home town of Fairhaven, Washington after being away for seven years. A lot has happened to Annie since then. She now has a five year old daughter named Emma.
Annie has hopes of starting her own business of being a personal chef but so far she only has a couple of clients. She must find another job to be able to get a place of her own for her and Emma.
Alex Jameson comes back to Fairhaven, Washington when he gets word that his grandmother Irene had a heart attack and has been hospitalized. Alex now lives and works in San Francisco.
Annie and Alex both worked in his grandmother’s bakery when they were teen-agers. When Alex went away to college Annie was crushed.
Both Annie and Alex have past issues and hurts. Will they be able to work past them and learn to trust and love again? Would Alex grow to love Annie and Emma? Will Annie let Alex into her and Emma’s life?
We know with time God heals all wounds if we allow Him to do so. We do see God’s hand in this story.
Thanks to Carrie Turansky for writing a wonderful love inspiring story. I really enjoyed it. I’m hoping to read more books by this author. If you are looking for a great Holiday story, this one is for you.
I was honored to receive a copy of this book from the author to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snowflake Sweethearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Story Lifted My Heart!

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy Gohlke
Location:Elkton, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going home should mean refuge, but for Annie Romano, it is a reminder of all that she loved and lost—or perhaps never really possessed. Mistakes firmly behind her, Annie returns to Fair Haven, Washington, determined to begin a new life as a personal chef.
But everything changes when an old heartthrob’s grandmother finds herself in desperate need of a caregiver. Annie agrees to help Irene, but vows not to let her heart become entangled again with Alex, Irene’s handsome big-city bachelor grandson. After all, Annie now has Emma to consider, her beautiful five-year-old daughter who desperately wants a daddy.
But being near Alex 24/7 strikes at all of Annie’s vulnerabilities, and she finds her heart on shaky ground.
In the years since he left Fair haven, something in Alex has changed, too. But even he can’t define just what that is, or if it’s enough to get beyond his past. What must he do to reach for what he truly wants—has always wanted? A little matchmaking on the part of his grandmother and her friends—the Bayside Treasures—and a dash of Christmas magic might be all that’s needed for a new year miracle.
I loved Carrie Turansky’s latest book. No matter what else happens in the world I know Carrie’s stories will lift my heart and lighten my load. We all need a little sunshine, a sweet romance, and a high moral and spiritual bar to keep us going. Thank you, Carrie, for offering exactly that in “Snowflake Sweethearts!”
This has HALLMARK written all over it!
These opinions and this review are entirely my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.