Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook

Howard Books Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorothy K. Johnson
I am only half-way through this book, now, but it is very straightforward in it's message. I love everything I have ever read that was written by Gilbert Morris, and I've read them all, I think. The "House of Winslow" series was the best I have ever read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dale Hardy
Honor in the dust is a blast to Gilbert's past. He has returned to his careful writing and researching. It is up their with the early Winslow series. Keep it up. By the way when does # 2 come out?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I've never read a book by Gilbert Morris before, though my husband has and he seemed to enjoy the stories. Now I can see why. This novel truly impressed me. For people who love reading about King Henry VIII and his many problems having a son, his issues with the church, and his numerous affairs, this will definitely fit that taste. However, the book is more about God using William Tyndale to translate the Bible into English so the common people could read God's word. It follows the infamous Winslow clan that Gilbert is known for creating for his many House of Winslow books. I love stories that delve so much into the culture that you feel like you are there. Morris does this well with just enough detail to make the setting come alive, but without grossing you out at the same time. He also lets his characters mess things up and suffer the consequences. He doesn't gloss over their sin and the shame that comes with it. Morris also does a fantastic job of putting his characters into seemingly impossible situations and having God and/or His people come through for them, but not every single time. Life isn't like that and Morris doesn't portray it that way. However, when good triumphs over evil and when God changes the hearts of several characters, as a reader I couldn't help cheering for them. I thoroughly enjoyed this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Solid Morris style work. I had a wonderful time reading this story and am anxious to see the second and third installments.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paulette Connie Cutherelle
Gilbert has again found a wonderful way of weaving a real story, which contains a solid Christian message, is highly entertaining, mentally keeps you sharp, and makes you anxious for the next work. Too bad he can't do a book a month. He is one of a handlful of Christian authors who is writing with real intergrity. I never give a 5 star, but was tempted in this story to break my own rule.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
Gilbert delivers a set of wonderful mini-stories wrapped around a great central character. The historical setting is great, the realistic sense in the book holds your attention. I did know how the love interest would play out, but getting there was completely unexpected. I will read this again in a couple of months. Thanks, Gilbert.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
"Honor in the Dust" is my first experience reading a book by Gilbert Morris if you can believe that with my loving Christian Historical Fiction, but you can believe that it will not be my last. This being a prequel for a previous Winslow Series, I am excited that there are already some books for me to jump back to as well as being excited for the rest of the Winslow Breed series to come in 2010 and 2011. Set in England in the time period of King Henry VIII makes an interesting background as the story goes through two generations and really brings a reader to care about the families and individual characters involved, one can really see the young men grow and blossom in their relationships.There are many themes in this book. Besides from being a good read overall, there are lessons available to learn. From similarities in life to Biblical lessons to trying to hold strong in ones "honor" in a temptation arena, the challenges are realistic and hard. With historical characters such as Queen Catherine, King Henry VIII, and William Tyndale make it very interesting. There is sword play and adventure, betrayal and romance, espionage and disguise and a dozen other features that make this an all around enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Artyomenko
I hesitated to read this book for review as I hate posting reviews about books I do not like alot, and when I saw it was about the Winslows and by Gilbert Morris, I wondered if I would be able to like it! But since I know that some of Gilbert Morris books I have loved as well as hated some, I got it and I am glad I did. It may be a precursor to the long House of Winslow series, but you do not see it in this book. I loved the story! It really wound alot of history through it with King Henry lllV, Anne Boleyn, William Tyndale, and other well known characters in history through it. If these were the ancestors of the House of Winslow, he did an excellent job of telling a good story of their history. Don't get me wrong, I loved the House of Winslow series, the first several that is.... Anyhow, if you enjoy a good historical fictional story, you will enjoy this one. True to Gilbert Morris fashion, the young man in the story is somewhat wild though before coming to Christ, but there is a conversion and change in him that is obvious and not a overnight switch. But because of some of the things mentioned in his wild part of his life, I would recommend this for older readers. It is a great historical piece of fiction, so check it out! You will enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Honor in the Dust: A Winslow Breed Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
It's seldom that I get to read about Tutor life in such wonderful detail. Included in this story are: King Henry's Progress, falconry, life in the mews, masques, and the various sports played during that time period. Politics and crimes abound in King Henry VIII's court. This Christian historical fiction is a delightful read.The characters are quite believable. I really liked Stuart, even though there were times that I wanted to sit him down for a talk! Although historically correct, the ending cannot be easily guessed. This is the first in the trilogy; I cannot wait for the next novel! Discussion questions are included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.