Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus

Thomas Nelson Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus

Contrary to popular opinion, Jesus wasn't just a gentle teacher who walked the earth offering forgiveness and nuggets of wisdom. He also spoke challenging, demanding words about what true servanthood requires. Here MacArthur reveals the "unvarnished truth" about discipleship, spelling out what God ultimately expects of those who follow him. 240 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Review 1 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book totally confirmed God's truth.

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
tootsdad
Location:Rocklin, Calif.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone who supposes being a Christian in an easy fix for salvation will get a wake-up call reading this book. When we consider everything our God is offering us when we believe in His son, the operative word is 'believe'.
Doctor MacArthur points out that this word is more complex than just saying; "I believe" and not considering what it is that believing really means and what is required of us.
Consider the rich young ruler who wanted to know what he needed to do to have eternal life and the decision he ultimately made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Muffin
Location:Rifle, Co
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really gives you food for thought that following our Lord Jesus Christ is not just saying a few words but a lifestyle change and heart committment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Declaring the Gospel-in-full!

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an insult to God to water down the Gospel. He who surrendered the life of His Son in order to fully reveal His mercy and grace to sinful man deserves to have His Gospel proclaimed "in full." John MacArthur writes to a culture that tends to reduce the narrow message of salvation to one of inclusivism or "anything goes." If, as an earlier reviewer puts it, the author is "in your face," it is because "the high cost and infinite value of following Jesus" has been replaced in the contemporary church by marketing ploys that attempt to make Jesus more appealing to the masses. Such strategies have forgotten that the way is narrow that leads to eternal life. Although salvation is a free gift to those who receive it, it came at an infinitely high price to God, who demands that we too "count the cost." Years ago, Dietrich Bonhoeffer wrote condemningly of the "cheap grace" that many professing Christians prefer. In truth, what really counts really costs, and we must never forget how much it cost Jesus. What's more, we must give heed to His call to die to ourselves daily if we are to be His followers! MacArthur warns us that anything less than the denial of self, the recognition that our sin was paid for at the cross, and the appropriation of the righteousness of Christ as our own falls short of the true Gospel. The message proclaimed by Jesus and expounded by the New Testament writers is an exclusive one. MacArthur forces the reader to take a long hard look at oneself in light of the Word of God to make certain that he is indeed in the faith. For one believing that "all roads lead to heaven" or that the clear message of the Scriptures can be tweaked to one's preference, the author points to the cross and the open tomb and all they mean. As the title of the book suggests, the Gospel is "hard to believe." But it is essential that its content be clearly presented and responded to in faith in anyone is to be saved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For those who long for truth.

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sabrina Quagliata
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read! John MacArthur has been used by the Lord in this book to speak truth boldly. Thank you Brother MacArthur for truth and boldness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too Hard Core for ME

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
jechamp
Location:Doha, Qatar
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I do not like this writer's style at all. This book has many Biblical truths in it and I wanted to like this writer but I felt like he was 'in my face' the entire time. If I was not a born again Christian already, it would have totally turned me away from Christianity. I will never read or buy another one of his books.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
anna
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly a must-read! I do not think that I have EVER read a book that was so full of clear biblical truth. This book is SO needed in this day and age where easy-believism is so rampant. Purchase, read and pass on!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nkeller
Location:Washington State
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think every Christian needs to read this, it just shows you how seaker this world is and how narrow the gate really is!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hard to Believe: The High Cost and Infinite Value of Following Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
DeeDee LaPenna
What a blessing! A book TRULY needed at this time!! John MacArthur's doctrine is sound. He pulls no punches and tells the truth of the true cost of following the Lord Jesus Christ!! I recommend this books to EVERY believer and unbeliever, too. Those who are already following the Lord will be strenghthened in their faith and challenged to rise higher. Those who don't know the Lord (hopefully, just yet!) will be given the opportunity to know what REAL Christianity is all about. Bravo, Pastor MacArthur; you've spoken the truth once again!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.