Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Waking the Dead

Thomas Nelson Waking the Dead

In Waking the Dead, John Eldredge cuts straight to the heart. With characteristic insight and wit, Eldredge explains how the renewed heart is at the center of the Christian faith. Eldredge also explores how Christian practices such as discipleship revitalize our hearts by empowering us to love God more passionately and live for the hearts of others. Waking the Dead will inspire and encourage you as you learn to live from the heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waking the Dead
Review 1 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Enlightening!

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was one of the best books that I have read. It opened my eyes to things like "agreeing with the devil", showed me a whole new way of looking at what we're feeling. I wholehearted recommend this for anyone who wants a closer relationship with our God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvette
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book, I highly recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joseph Cumberland
Great book that really cuts to the heart of the matter and gives a new breath to the lives that we live.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deanne Sholly
Excellent book! Great price! Received quickly. CBD is the first place I will look when I need a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Alderson
John Eldredge encourages the Christian to take the next step, moving into a higher dimension of the Christian faith. The prayer in the book equips one for deep thought, meditation and communication with our Lord and Savior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura W
I just finished reading this book. Each point is such that you want to read it over slowly to really let it sink in. Some of the topics are "hard", but in a good sense. I truly feel that this is what is needed to make us wake up to what God has for us!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
L.L.
The beginning of this book was a bit hard for me to get through because of what seemed like a massive amount of quotes from various books, which distracted me from the message that was trying to be portrayed. Other then that this book was FANTASTIC!!! This book will grab your soul and shake it to life! It will bring about a new understanding for God and what he wants from us. I highly recommend this book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Min. Harry Allen
Have not finished the book but from what I have read it's very good and I really do like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hannah Smith
Have really enjoyed this so far. I am working through this with a girl I am discipling. We started because she has been feeling very apathetic toward the Lord, It has been making me realize how much apathy I have at times too. I am really looking forward to seeing what God will do in our lives as we continue through the guidebook.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Timotea Vrablova
The life of present people including of Christians is in many cases very unballanced. We live in the age of division. One kind of it is caused by the rationalistic distinction between what is a normal life and what is sacred, churchy. It can inluence our view. But there are even deeper crashes and cuts. Those in our hearts. We are not aware of them. Many times we do not feel the need to be healed. Because we experienced amputations in our hearts (done by us ourselves or by somebody else to us). In amputated parts there is no sensitivity. Maybe sometimes like a phantom limb pain. This book is an excellent gentle guide to an experience of coming back to us as the perfect whole. It is not as a manual but inspiritional and experientional aid until we ourselves meet with Jesus and let Him speak into different parts of our hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rene Adams
this is a wonderful book that opens up new meaning and understanding to our christian faith.it is a refreshing new look at what is central in our lives, and the direction he takes this journey is very captivating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alli
If there is one book that anyone should purchase in these times it is this one. I absolutely love the fact that John Eldredge can put into words all of the feelings I have been dealing with. He makes it OK to talk about. It is all about intimacy with our God. I just thank God that he speaks to John and has given him the gift of writing. I have had my copy since it came out and I have read it I know at least 6 times. And it never stops speaking to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sherry Neuner
There is no doubt in my mind that God has used John Eldredge to convey a message that is needed by every believer. Months after reading this book, I'm still peeling away the layers of understanding. As I do my heart and spirit is changed, free and empowered to live a life in true relationship with Him, and able to better reflect Him as I live out each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peter
Many of us Christians have settled into "survival mode". We have bought the lie that what we do or want to do is not that important. John Eldredge encourages us to embrace our God-given dreams and desires, and glorify Him with them. The problem may not be what we want to do but what our motive is. This book will help fuel the flame of passion for God and life by teaching readers to discern between the flesh and the new heart God gives us at salvation. God gives us desires and talents to help guide us to what He wants us to do. We should not throw our talents and desires to the wayside but rather glorify God with them. A passionate Christian in the secular work force is no less important than the pastor of a large church or the missionary to a third-world country (1 Cor 12). Let your light SHINE! wherever God calls you. You will only shine if you are happy and excited about what you are doing. Follow Christ and you WILL live an EXCITING EPIC that He has written specially just for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carol Baksa
It would be hard to get into a brief note the understanding and wisdom I gleaned from this book. I use the Bible as the guide to see if a book is worth reading. If it doesn't coincide with the truths in the Bible, I don't even finish it. What I learned from the book is an extension of what the Holy Spirit has been teaching me through the Bible. This book is awesome. I recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tom
This is, without a doubt, the most fundamentally impacting catalyst for change that I have ever read from a Christian author...period. John is a human, and as such, he and his life formulae are flawed, but God has chosen to use him as a very sharp tool in my life. Thankfully, the book is not replete with this formula or that...it does not arrogantly and ignorantly attempt to reduce Jesus to words...to an understandable human construct. If this were possible, God would not be worth worshiping. Instead, John conveys timeless truth with a freshness that is inspiringand stirring. The funny thing is, the more I read (and now listen to this book on CD), the less I am intrigued with the 'wisdom of John Eldredge', and reintroduced to the strangely calming reassurance and wonder of the frightening majesty and power of this God who has chosen to love me...despite my propensity and desire to reduce him to something understandable, manageable and altogether pointless.I am inspired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Waking the Dead
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sue
This book is a MUST read for every Christian out there! It points to every aspect of a healthy Christian walk with Christ. The full reason Christ came to earth, the ministry of the Holy Spirit and practical warfare against the enemy that is powerful! With John's different way of relating the gospel to his readers, you'll see things fresh and anew! The scriptures will be brought alive again and you may feel that you've never read it before. Feeling dead? Read this book and you'll be alive maybe for the first time ever! The Lord has used it to changed my life, let Him do the same for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ruth Morton
All of John's books are thoughtful presentations of the reality of Christian life. Not the typical how to stuff. If you want to experience life and not just try to be a good boy this book's for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2005
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth G
I would highly, highly recommend this book to any and everyone. It covers nearly every subject relevant to the Christian Life, there is an amazing wealth of truth there. After reading it for the first time, (someone recommended it to me) I started recommending it to everybody I knew... I think they got tired of hearing about Waking the Dead. But it is a fantastic book. : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Waking the Dead
This review is fromWaking the Dead: The Glory of a Heart Fully Alive.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Doug Morris
Awesome, this book gets right to the heart of the problem. I knew God loves and cares about each one of us deeply, but this book brings that fact to life. Our God fights for us, and for the condition of our hearts. When you wake up from the dead heart you will have a new spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>