Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BMG Homeless for the Holidays, DVD

BMG Homeless for the Holidays, DVD

Marketing director Jack Baker is on the fast track to the top---until a wrongful accusation costs him his job. Unable to find another executive position in a shaky economy, he takes a job at a local burger joint. But when his minimum wage paycheck won't make ends meet, will his family lose everything by Christmas? Dove approved. Approx. 105 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Production Diary
  • Auditions Highlight Reel
  • Scene Index
  • Commentary with Writer/Director/Producer George A. Johnson
  • English Subtitles
  • Discussion Guide (PDF File)
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
7 out of 1644%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Review 1 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Liked it more than I thought I would

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Appey
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though the movie started out slow and the acting isn't the best, I found that I liked this story despite the above comments. Had a very good message and because I didn't pay much for it I wasn't disappointed. Good movies with Godly story lines are hard to find and I think this one did just fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Believe it or not, I remember watching this on TV once locally. It was a couple of years ago I was watching one of my local television channels when I saw this unusual obscure title on the programming list. I was reminded of Homeless for the Holidays years later while looking around online for Christian Christmas films. When I was reminded of this, I had to ask myself: "why didn't I like this again?"
Homeless for the Holidays is an independent film about a wealthy marketing director who gets fired from his job, due to a wrongfully accused situation he is pinned upon. Jack Baker with his reputation now ruined cannot find ANY job, until he pushes his way into a minimum wage fast food job. The idea of dressing up as a penguin is embarrassing enough, but things get real tough and discouraging when his power gets shut off and the bank is ready to foreclose on his house if some serious cash doesn't fall into his hands. Will his family really be homeless for this Holiday? What will Jack and his family learn? And will he ever get his job back with his reputation restored? Homeless for the Holidays had a good premise, especially because this was said to be based off of a true story. I liked the fact the movie was discouraging Christmas to be about material things, and instead was promoting something worth while like family. In fact, one might argue this might be a modern-day parable of The Book of Job.
However, overall I'm not much of a fan of this film. My first complaint is Jack Baker's personality. I get the idea you're supposed to not like Jack at the beginning of the film, because he is egotistical and obsessed with his job, but I just didn't like much of his personality throughout the entire film even when he was being humbled. Of course maybe part of this feeling comes from the fact the acting was terrible. Most of the people in this movie unfortunately sound like they're either over acting, inauthentic, or just down right cheesy. Speaking of cheesy, certain story elements I strongly felt were quite cheesy like when Jack's first dawning the Penguin suit and especially the ending itself when things just get resolved perfectly as though the accusation was never even made. Not planning to buy this movie, but if a friend gave me a choice of whether to watch Homeless for the Holidays or a Holiday Fluff film like Adventures of Bailey: Christmas Hero I would much-much rather watch Homeless for the Holidays.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed in story line and acting

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Jeffrey
Location:White Lake, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very corny, poor story line put together, very boring was totally disappointed in the way it was done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Mark Kratzer
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We especially enjoyed this movie since we attended church with the writer and many of the cast members. It has a very meaningful message to it. Very timely for many that are enduring similar circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
BUDDY
Location:I0WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PRODUCTION OF MOVIE NOT PROFESSIONAL.....HAD GOOD STOROY BUT WAS NOT QUALITY MOVIE AS TO THE WAY IT WAS PUT TOGETHER. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS FOR THE PRICE!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspiring movie!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveIsEternal
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recommend this movie to one and all...and is a great movie to watch with the whole family. I think it will leave
a lasting impression, especially on children, that giving and compassion are important and also that good things do
come out of bad situations. It may be a little 'slow' at first, but hang in there, it truly is a movie worth watching, and will leave you with a deeper compassion for those going through difficult times, and a thankful heart for the blessings you have. Beautiful message based on a true story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie is good

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally Newman
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was glad that my family and I were able to watch the good movie that has closed captioned or English subtitle that is important to me. Thank you to manfactures who made it possible to allow the hearing loss people can buy it and watch it to be with family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sign of the times

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
KrisD
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie sure hits home during these hard economic times. The moral of the story is that when you have family and faith you don't need money or material possessions to be happy. Great message for the whole family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A movie you won't watch again

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nyjets
Location:Kingsport, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I also don't like to give bad reviews, but I was disappointed 100%. The cover and info made it appear to be a well made movie and I couldn't wait for it to go on sale as I don't like to pay $24 for any movie. I was finally able to get it for about $15 with a sale plus a coupon. I couldn't watch quick enough when I arrived home. In one minute, I was shocked. The story line was worse than the acting. Yes, the intention of the message was good, but I don't think I could sit through it again at any price. I'm sorry to say this, but it was just awful - totally unrealistic and sooooo boring! I'm a Christian, but I can't recommend this at all and I can't bring myself to even give this DVD to someone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissappointed

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Engwell
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I rarely give bad reviews. I would rather give positive ones. I will say there was a good message in the movie but it was hard to see at times through the bad acting and poor quality of the filming. It was disorganized at times and I felt like the acting was forced with the adult characters especially. The children did a much better job.
I usually love every movie I've gotten from Christian books and felt price wise they were all pretty fair. This one I felt was way over priced ( I paid over $17)for the quality of the movie. If you can get past that and focus on the message it was trying to give then for that part it was good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This movie is a sleeper!

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Clifton Park, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This movie lasted forever and bored the socks off of us. I would never recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie reminds us of what is really important.

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christian Grandma
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Christmas movie that we will watch every year. It is not "preachy", yet gets the Christian message across. Some people avoid "Christian" movies, if they are not already a Christian. This movie appeals to other than just the 'already Christian' crowd. At the same time, it has a Christian message that can't be missed, giving an opportunity to witness to the unsaved around us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

So so

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shari
Location:El Paso, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was not the best movies we have ever seen. I felt the family was unrealistic in their response to their troubles. Many of the actors sounded like they were reading a script. I did not really like the Santa/angel part so much either. But on the positive side it did allow our children to see how one can lose everything very quickly. Although my husband and I did not particularly like, it did provide fodder for a lot of discussion about materialism, and other issues in our family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Saddler
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these DVD's for our church library. This particular one is very relevant right now. It affects so many people. It is tastefully done and worth the time to watch!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This dvd is pathetic

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I was eager to get this dvd because of the times we're in and because of a very positive review. I'm usually not a critical person, but this dvd can only be described as pathetic!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Addresses some real issues, but a bit hokey...

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
MathMama
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
On the other hand, the portrayal of the parents' squabbles related to job loss such as depression, blaming, trying to get food stamps, and car repossession won't scare the younger kids and may make an opportunity for family discussion. So, maybe, if you need an avenue for discussion with elementary school-aged kids... it would be entertaining enough for them without being overly-dramatic.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Homeless for the Holidays, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie K
Our family saw this movie in the theater last year before Christmas, & the message is very powerful! This would be the perfect gift for those struggling in the present economy, who need to be reminded what Christmas is really about. It's not about the gifts and the elaborate decorations. It is about family; and celebrating the birth of Jesus- and remembering what he did for us. Words can't express the power of the message- you just have to watch it yourself. You won't be disappointed- it is truly a terrific movie!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.