Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Publishers Hell's Best Kept Secret

Whitaker House Publishers Hell's Best Kept Secret

Why are so many unbelievers turning away from the message of the gospel? Doesn't the Bible tell us how to bring sinners to true repentance? If so, where have we missed it? The answer may surprise you. One hundred years ago, Satan buried the crucial key needed to unlock the believer's heart. Now Ray Comfort boldly breaks away from modern tradition and calls for a return to biblical evangelism. If you're experiencing evangelical frustration over lost souls, unrepentent sinners and backslidden "believers," then look no further. This radical approach could be the missing dimension needed to win our generation to Christ. Contents include: Preface; The Love, Joy, Peace Gospel; Hell's Best Kept Secret; The Jesus Technique; Pushing for Commitment; The Forgotten Key; No Anointing No Results; Fired Up; The Way of the Salesman; When and Where to Witness; Let's Buy the World Lunch; Why the Law Works; Ten Steps to Conviction; Time to Talk About Jesus; Who are the Backsliders; Success Comes in Cans; You've Got What it Takes; Appendix: Questions and Answers; suggested reading; about the author
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Review 1 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kari Atalla
This is a great read! I love listening to Ray on "Way of the Master radio," and his style comes through in even his written words. thank you, Ray!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ona Fisher
This book hit my heart heavily and immediately as URGENT truth. Ray Comfort quotes scriptual after scripture and bases all of the material solidly on God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2003
Customer Avatar
MATTHEW
This is one of the best books on evangelism ever, I believe every Christian should read it and also get Ray's 16 part audio series of the same title. After reading this book you need to also read Ray's most current book "Revival's Golden Key"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Joshua Cordell
While I haven't read the book. The audio tape is something that every Christian should have at least 20 of. To listen to and to give it to any and everyone you can. It just might change the way you think about things that you had a pretty firm opinion on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2002
Customer Avatar
BRETT BALABON
This book really makes sense. It opened my eyes as to why there are so many who "backslide" or fall away from the faith (if they ever had the faith)Ray Comfort shows us, with scripture to back it up, how we should use the God's word and the law to convict the sinner(without offending or chasing away) to true repentance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2001
Customer Avatar
Christian Lee
The single most important book ever published on evangelism! It unlocks the Biblical secrets to a sinner's heart... the keys that George Whitefield, John Wesley, Martin Luther, and Charles Spurgeon were all familiar with, yet the church today with its modern evangelism methods have altogether abandoned! I just finished reading the book the other day and already God has used me to apply its truths to share the Gospel with three different persons of three different backgrounds! For four years I have simplified the approach toward evangelism and used the "Four Spiritual Laws" (and other tools) as a crutch to share the Gospel, no more! No more uncertainty, no more begging people to pray the sinner's prayer, no more pleading sinners to "try out" Jesus, no more false conversions, and no more emotional manipulations! I can confidently share the truth in love and know that I will no longer send a sinner to hell with my simplified evangelism.<p>If all Christian leaders would only do a careful study on a Biblical approach toward evangelism, they would all follow in these truths!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Edward Tsai
This book has revolutionized the way I approach evangelism. Ray Comfort comprehensively outlines the Biblical approach to evangelism, using God's law to bring people to realize that they are sinners before God and will face judgment because of their disobedience (such through the ten commandments). It seriously addresses the modern gospel preaching problem where we talk about God's love but not sin, which produces so called "back sliders" in church... people who haven't made a conscious decision to turn from their sin and live for Jesus. At the same time Ray explains and gives a balanced view on the different approaches on evangelism, such as lifestyle and such and their place, but importantly that we need to bring sinners to understand that they already are under God's judgment and need to turn to Him.If you are a church leader, an evangelist, or just obeying God's commandment to preach the gospel, you should definitely read this book! I've ordered ~120 copies (60 of this, 60 of another of his books) and given them free to people at my church retreat because it is really that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hell's Best Kept Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2000
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Radandt
Here is a book that takes the Christian through every step of sharing their faith with others and in the most biblically founded way. He uses a vast amount of Scripture references throughout so you can see for yourself the foundation of evangelism. It is full of great spiritual truths - some of which may not be easy to "swallow" for some of today's modern Christians. He has a wonderful sense of humor and a way of drawing mental pictures so you can understand, in today's context, the purpose and challenge in witnessing. He draws from the wisdom of our "fathers" in the faith and shows us how to effectively use their techniques in today's society. A valuable evangelical resource and one that every professing Christian should read - perhaps more than once! Beware, you may find yourself being converted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.