Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Touchstone The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green

Touchstone The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green

In The New Testament in Modern English, Phillips gives us an accurate translation of the NT which communicates the Gospel message clearly yet simply. With a highly readable text that is vivid in its use of familiar, colloquial language, it brings out the meaning of obscure passages.

Features include: Bible text in paragraph format; Verse numbers noted in outside margins; Book introductions; In-text maps; Index of names, places, and events; Black letter; Paperback.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Review 1 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Crucarlson
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the JB Phillips translation and use it along with my NIV and ESV when I am studying the New Testament. I only wish I could find a better quality binding! I am giving it as a gift that I hope will be used for a long, long time. Sad to say it is also probably out of print? It would be worth the cost to find it in hardback or leather.
By the way the service was amazing! In the midst of Christmas rush my package came in just a couple days. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read and understand.

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pumpkin
Location:Monro, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard a minister on tv refer to this Bible. I looked it up and I ordered because I liked the way it read. Made the Bible easier to read and understand.... A great addition to my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's everything I remember

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rev Ribster
Location:Fairfax,VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this because I was given one when I was in my early teens and over the many years since I wore it out then lost it.
It is everything I remembered it was as a translation that was current to the day both then and now.
As a serious student of the Word, I love to read and compare in many different versions and CBD offers that opportunity again with this Phillips translation that I have been missing for more than a decade.
It is a simple, clean, easy to use copy of my favorite New Testament versions.
Pastor Gary McCluskey (Rev Ribster)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mema
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used Phillips translation of the NT since 1962 . The book I was give in 1962 is falling apart, therefore I needed a new copy. I use it to supplement the NIV, which I use regularly in Bible Study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lovely

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
jowhoknits
Location:Seattle wa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so happy to see the Phllips available again. This is a beautiful translation, it captures the grace and beauty of the text in modern English without loosing any of the meaning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Min. Harry Allen
Awesome read, its nothing like a fresh perspective on the word of God. It lets you look at the Word from a different point of veiw and not change the meaning of Gods word, J. B. Phillips does a wonderful job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
David G. Cottle
For the price, this is a vauable asset. For those familiar with J.B. Phillips, it adds verse numbers to all of the chapters which were missing in his previous publications. My only complaint about this version is the quality of the paper on which it is printed which is typical mass paperback quality. I purchased a number of these volumes for use in a bible study class and they have served their purpose admirably. - Rev. Fr. David
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bruce Martin
I discovered this wonderful translation when I came to Christ in 1965 and it has been my favorite version ever since. I've given away more copies than I can remember to count.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Mcneil
I love this book...............Revelations has never seemed so clear to me, I wish he did the Old Testament too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deloris King
I have an old Phillips translation of the NT, with the KJV, and two other translations, I believe the Phllips is close to the King James and have always liked it. all the other translations add and take away a lot of the word of God. Time to be aware of these new bibles. Revelation 22:18-19
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ted Johnson
It is great for putting side by side the choice of words from the 1950s and to the words of 1611 and the words of today from NIV and NASB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Philip Gonzalez
One of the greatest English translations of all time in my opinion. It has a lot of warmth and feeling in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ramsis Benjamin
A good supplementary text of the Bible, akin to Tyndale's transliteration. It should suffice on its own for youth ministries, clarifying the difficult passages of the Elizabethian style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2005
The translation is fresh & highly readable, but it does tend to get a little too paraphrasing. It makes a good reference Bible, but certainly not the Bible of my choice. Keep another literal translation beside it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2004
Customer Avatar
James VanNus
As for the translation - I believe this the most understandable modern translation ever. Zondervan Publishing House published this prior to "The New Amplified Bible",and this is less "wordy" and betteraccuracy in Greek original usages. It is a shame John Phillips went to our Lord prior tofinishing the O.T. I would have rated this "5", but CBD doesn't offer a better cover. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The New Testament in Modern English, Student Edition, Softcover, Revised Edition, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Tim
J.B. Phillips offers the most readable translation ever. It reads like a book that you can't (and shouldn't) put down. It is awesome! I highly recommend this translation to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.