Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover

Now with a new cover, Epic invites us to revisit the drama of life, viewing God not only as the author but also as the lead actor and exploring His motives and His heart. As Eldredge retells the gospel in four acts, he examines the power of story, the universal longing for a "plot" that makes sense deep inside us, our desire for a meaningful role to play, our love of books and movies, and how all of this points to the gospel itself.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Review 1 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An essential read

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nicola1
Location:Merritt BC Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book crystallizes God's story for us in a way that is fascinating and fast moving. I have given many copies away to help others understand that we are part of this great story as a Christ-follower, a child of the King!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful message

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
LindaT
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Edredge's use of myth, stories, movies, etc. brings a wonderful message of God's amazing love for his creation. John's writing and ministry of encouragement is so needed in the church today. His writing has sparked a new energy in my walk with Jesus and a stronger desire to see the broken hearted healed and the captives set free! Waking the Dead was my introduction to John's writing. Keep writing brother and God Bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joe Freedom
Location:Sturgin, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small and cheap book a great read and perfect for handing out. The main point is that we are fighting an enemy and if we don't realize it then we don't understand why we are having problems. I was given one and I have now bought many.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic is an excellent tool for Middle/High School.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
ephraim
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epic is being used to given Middle/High School students a chance to look at Salvation history from a new perspective and, hopefully, become energized and motivated to engage the enemy when and where his influence surfaces in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excitement plus!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Weis
Location:Hudson, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book touched my soul as few books do, and made me very excited about life in our permanent home, more than here in our temporary home! It gave me hope, which translates into boldness and is encouraging me to share this wonderful news with everyone around me!
(It also spurs me to re-watch all the epic movies I own!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gives the "big picture" of God's story

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
WillServe
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A youth pastor friend recommended this book to me, and I decided to make it required reading for our youth mission trip. The book is small, straightforward, and easy to read. While John Eldredge may employ a bit of "creative license" at times, I appreciate the way he relates the big picture of God's story in the world and urges us to take our place and do our part in that story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic is a very easy, interesting read

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
pranco
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epic is a very good, easy to read book. Coming in the format of a 4 act play/adventure it was good enough for me to mail a copy to each of my 6 other siblings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this will open your eyes!

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
kurty
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Never thought of our life the way that John tells it. What a good study for our mens group to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A truly great read for anyone!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeffro
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given to me a month or so ago, and I was so struck with how fresh and articulate the author was that I order 10 to give to friends. This is truly on of those rare books that will draw in believers and encourage and stretch their imaginations, and also easily draw in a stimulate non-believers. Thank you John for using your gift so well! I will be buying more of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
betty
Location:MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what was needed to give relatives the gospel message! I enjoyed it so much that I read it twice myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Don Cooper
John Eldredge stretched my thinking biblically to put in chronological order (1. The Angelic Creation with freedom of choice (2. The entrance of Evil (3. The creation of mankinds, again with freedom of choice, the temptation of Eve, the willing disobedience of Adam, the human Fall into sin and disobedience, the promised Messiah & defeat of Evil, God's longing for an intimate loving relationship in individuals, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Jacob (later Israel), the people of Israel, whoring after other gods (4. The coming of Messiah (5. The promised coming again. Eldredge helped me to put it all together. It is biblical and God-inspired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy Carroll
I really like this book, it explains the gospel in a nutshell. It would be great for non Christians too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn
We are currently using this and the DVD series with study guide for our youth group. It has been well received and is good for all spiritual levels in our group. Those new to Christ are seeing Him as their Hero and those who have been Christians for a long time are getting a new perspective and also an evangelistic tool to share Him. The teens and adults all relate to the idea of our lives being a story and that we have a part to play. It is not deep theology, but very meaningful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Marshall
Excellent! Arrived quickly, in excellent shape, and just as described. The price was the best on the net.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Larson
I was very excited to get this book, and was only a little disappointed. As an English teacher and a Christian, I appreciated the emphasis on life as a story, and not only that, but also the metanarrative that we know is behind it all--there's purpose to our stories, despite trials.There were three downsides to the book, the first two of which were very minor, but still a little distracting. The author focuses largely on his favorite movies/books and keeps repeating it throughout the book. After a while, it's like, "Yes, I know you Really like the Matrix movies...." Connected with the first downside is this: It was unclear whether he was promoting the Matrix and other movies as Christian, or just as items with Christian elements in them.Finally, I disagree that dignity comes only when man has free will. It's a romantic notion that God leaves the final choice up to us, but ultimately that is hugely unsatisfying--to think that my eternal destination lies in my own weak and sinful hands.For all of the negative comments I've made here, I really did appreciate the attempt to show God's providence in terms of a story that is unfolding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy Oden
This is a book I want to share with graduates to encourage themthat God is present with them as they move into a new stage of live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
George Wagner
The best $2 book in the universe! The Christian love story told in modern terms. I ordered 15 to give to friends and my Bible class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendi Wilkins
Second only to the Bible, this book is FABULOUS! It so clearly tells, "The Story God is Telling", and I highly recommend it to everybody! It's so intriguing that I believe it appeals to atheists (to see if the "non-existent" God has a story worth knowing) all the way over to the very mature Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Billie Myers
One of my all time favorites. I love how this book is written in story form and uses scenes from movies to help the reader to understand the gospel. The book is a very easy read and I think it really appeals to teens and twenty-somethings.I have given out alot of these. The price makes it affordable to use as an evangelism tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Epic: The Story God Is Telling, hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Peggy Woods
Easy read little book stuffed full with wonderful fresh insights. We gave one to each of our Sunday school students.It has a unique way of reminding us of how great and awesome our God really is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>