Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vision Video A.D., DVD

Vision Video A.D., DVD

The stunning sequel to Jesus of Nazareth, this captivating epic vividly re-creates the turbulent years following the crucifixion of Christ. Witness the growth of the fledgling church, from Peter's first bold sermon at Pentecost to the martyrdom of Paul. Filmed on location in the Middle East and Europe with an all-star cast. Includes a 12-session on-disk study guide. Two DVDs, 6 hours total. Abridged Edition
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for A.D., DVD
Review 1 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging Story

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
C. Mark
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gives some interesting insights into the book of Acts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cut for DVD release

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The original film was almost 9 hours in length and, while it was not a word for word account from the Bible, it did provide a tremendous glimspe into first century life in the Roman empire and early persecutions of the Church. The biggest problem with the dvd release is the fact that almost one-third of the film was edited out. The editing was done by simply removing whole segments from the original resulting in holes in both plot and dialogue. If the studio ever releases the entire film on dvd it would be worth owning. I used to watch my VHS copy every year after Easter and Jesus of Nazareth. A good alternate choice to this edited version is the dvd Peter and Paul, also available from CBD.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
imzadi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The original series was nine hours of viewing time. Your DVD has only six hours. What happened to the other three
hours? I would like to own the actual original viewing hours.
Response from Christianbook.com:By Internet MarketingJune 8, 2012
This is an abridged edition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not long enough

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gerry G
Location:Malden, Ma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie as are most Christian movies is not completely accurate. But it is a TV Movie not the bible. However the story is close enough. (Study your bible first) I do like the way that it mixes scripture, history and fiction. If anything you can learn a little about the leaders of Rome in that time. My gripe is that this movie was originally 8 hours long on TV and later on VHS. 25% of the story is now missing that makes it less intriguing for me. I hope someday the full 8 hours will be remastered and released. That would be a 5 star movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A little hard to use in small group setting.

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bennie Daniels- Jr.
Location:Jackson, Ms.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish Each Lesson contained a start and finished indicator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

educational

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
celest
Location:Columbus GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very Scriptural, it will make you feel close to Jesus and his Apostles, and all the suffering they went through to get the message of Jesus to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BRINGS THE BIBLE TO LIFE

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
beth c
Location:ST LOUIS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie helped me in my Bible reading by watching it. The characters put a face with a name and I could better comprehend the acts of the " new" church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book of Acts on film

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dennis Ramsey
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a long ( but good ) movie ! It follows the events of the early church and is fairly accurate. The film has some catholic influence ( baptisim by sprinkling ) but overall is a very good film.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mildred King
I have not seen this movie before. It is an excellent storie for how life carried on after Christ. Another star studded epic movie that has become another favorite of mine. I highly recommend this movie for family viewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
I found this movie is not accurate with the account of acts in the Bible. The characters are week. Peter when he laid his hands on the lame man looked supprised when he slowly got up. The bible says the man "jumped up" when he was healed not the way this movie portrays it. I was very dissappointed in the dipiction of the day of Penticost. If you did not know the bible you have no idea what was going on. The director has obviously never heard someone speaking in tongues. I also felt they spent too much time on other ficticious events. How much better this movie would have been if they would have stayed with the word of God. I highly recommend the audio Drama by "inspired by the media group" mp3 of the new testament. Much better. I can't get enough of it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dalia Franco
i definitely agree that not all of it is very accurate, but it does give you the glimpse you need to see how the early church was persecuted. All in all, the actors were great and it was a good movie to watch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Viola MacIsaac
I saw this movie when it first air in 1977 or 78, i really enjoyed, but i don'have it yet but i will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Medgeen Fabius
I enjoyed most of the movie. but I found that some of it was not accurate to the bible. In the movie Peter spent a long time in Rome, this is not biblically accurate. One of the pastors was called a father, while the Bible tells us we should not call anyone father.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
juju
I encourage anyone to see this movie. To see what Christians had to go through and how they obeyed the word and how they were ready to die for Christ its amazing. Great movie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Esther H. Montano
My husband and I enjoyed this movie very much. It is very looooong, but worthwhile. It was nice to see the continuation of Jesus of Nazareth and to see how it ended. It was an indepth movie, nicely acted out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Everett Britton
This program is excellent. It is formatted to be used for group viewing and discussion. The study guide and background material included on the DVD is first rate material. I am using the study guide and DVD in my Bible class. The program is divided into 12 1 hour sessions: 30 min video/30 minutes discussion. I rate it first class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin Coleman
I purchased this item as a Christmas gift for my mother. I have seen this film and reviewed the study guide. They are both excellent tools for enhancing your understanding of the Scripture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2007
Excellent movie on the early church! Add this to your must have religious dvd collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Guy Rozario
Brilliantly made. Great cast of actors. Great resource for early church history as it covers not only Christianity but also, Roman culture, Greek philosophies of the time and the different Jewish sects. Worth buying
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A.D., DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
bill
material was very good, but a long course of study;
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.