Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Leaf Publishing The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover

New Leaf Publishing The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover

The Henry Morris Study Bible is "an invaluable tool for the defense of the Christian faith" according to Dr. John MacArthur. With over 10,000 study notes, no other resource offers the comprehensive analysis of biblical creation and authority of Scripture.

The written Word of God is under attack in our culture like never before. The annotations of this King James Version of the Bible will:
  • explain the Bible's difficult passages
  • resolve its alleged contradictions
  • point out the evidences of its divine origin
  • confirm its historical accuracy
  • note its remarkable anticipations of modern science
  • remove any doubts about its inerrancy, authority and ability to meet every human need.
The 2,215 pages feature a 10-point font and a two column format making it easy to read. Inside you will also find the Words of Christ in red, 22 total appendices, full color maps and a concordance. The hard cover offers a dignified and gentle design that both men and women will find attractive. The professional Smyth Sewn binding gives this reference resource a life that will span generations.

Dr. Henry Morris is known as the father of modern Creation science, the founder of Institute for Creation Research (ICR) and the author of many well-known apologetic books. His thriving legacy continues to equip Christians to be able to defend the accuracy and authority of Scripture today.

Measures 9.50" x 6.75"

ICR Item Number: BHMSB-C

Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 out of 3995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tootsdad
Location:Rocklin, Calif.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It's great to read and then compare with other authors regarding thier commentaries.
Thank you so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Study Bible worth having!

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dflo75
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Henry Morris study bible in black genuine leather is a bible for everyone who is a Christian worth having. I received mine today- (Thursday September 5th,) and this is a bible that one CANNOT put down! The notes contained in this copy of God's word are complete truth, and it gives you a clear interpretation as well as understanding of His word. Also, the fact that this bible has read-along refrences, (to help you see where in other areas of the bible that it has a similar reference,) as well as read-along translations, (to show you the literal word of it's meaning or origin,) is also a big help in it's technique of study. Being a christian for 18 years, I have had many study bibles, but none quite like this one. It also has two ribbon markers, an apologetics commentary as well as explanatory notes from Dr. Morris himself. This bible is an invaluable tool for the defense of the christian faith...in matters related to geology, earth history, astronomy, biology, and other sciences. Dr. Morris's clear insight, as well as his doctrinal integrity combine to make this one of the most helpful study bibles available on the market today.
Like I said earlier, worth every christian owning!
Thank you CBD, for this awesome study bible masterpiece!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fell short of expectations but an excellent buy

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laurence Ilardo
Location:Buffalo NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had borrowed a copy of the Defender's Study Bible from my church library. Since I like to mark up bibles, I figured I would try to buy the Henry Morris Study Bible, hoping it would have more material than the Defender's Study Bible. It turns out that the main reason it is bigger than the Defender's Study Bible is that the typeface for both the notes and the Bible is much larger and easier to read. That is a plus unless you already own the Defender's Study Bible and don't need a Bible with a larger typeface. It has a few more appendices, but not enough to justify the higher price. However, it is still in my opinion a "must have Bible" even if you don't like the KJV because it has top notch study notes and appendices! In addition, unlike the defender's Study Bible, the cross references are not separated out, which is a disappointment. However, it does translate archaic words, which is a huge plus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A truly magnificent KJV study bible

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim A
Location:Delaware Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An outstanding study bible. The timelessness of the KJV and the reverence for God's inerrant Word comes through in every comment and study aid. Morris is a wonderful non compromising theologian who makes no apologies for taking God at his Word while not coming across as dogmatic or pedantic. A wonderful study bible. I have numerous study bibles but this one has a certain quality of reverence for the Word and opens up thoughtful meditation on passages that I would in the past just skip by due to familiarity. This Bible is just magnificent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great full commentary Bible

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elden Mayo
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The materials and manufacture alone merit a decent review, but the depth and volume of the commentary make this an outstanding Bible for the serious student, especially if one is called on to defend the accuracy of the Bible often. The author is honest enough to state his beliefs in the introduction, so if there is any bias, it certainly isn't hidden. Warning - this isn't a compact Bible, so I wouldn't recommend it for carrying back and forth to church.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Study Bible I Have Ever Seen on The Market

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roland Acts 2 38
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seen all the major study bibles on the market and this one is the best in my humble opinion.
At first I thought there were only study notes on creation but this bible is loaded with study notes all throughout the bible.
The only other bible that has more study notes is Dakes but Dakes' layout is clumsy and too busy. The fonts, layout and design of the Henry Morris study bible is very clean and intuitive.
This study bible has greatly enhanced my bible study and I will be recommending this to all of my friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
deacon
Location:akron,ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bible really goes into the deepness of GODS WORD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!!

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jomosher
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible! I love the extras in the back and the great pro-creation explanations given. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible has one of the best commentaries!

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buddy
Location:Wasontown, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has one of the best commentaries that I have used in my life. Dr. Morris has given a remarkable interpretation of the Holy scriptures from a scientific point of view. It is very appriopriate for this time in History as his incites into God's prophetic word are being fulfilled before our very eyes. Look up for your redemption draweth nigh!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
taz000
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great study bible.........print easy to read and bible study notes are very helpful...........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy to find, but slightly disappointed.

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leni
Location:Chester, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for the New Defenders Study Bible in leather for a while and since it has been out of print, I have not been able to find one for a reasonable price. I was very happy to find the Henry Morris Study Bible, which is basically the same bible as the New Defenders Study Bible. The price was great. When I received it I was a little disappointed in the size as well as the paper thickness. The paper is thicker than the paper usually used to print bibles. It was also very thick, about 3 inches. I was going to return it but a co-worker bought it from me. She loves it. She just wanted to use it at home, while I wanted to take it to church with me as well as use it at home. I am hoping that they publish this bible again but in slightly different dementions. I would not mind if it was a little taller and wider so that it was not as thick. Slightly thinner paper would also be nice.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Bible in every aspect

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
macfz
Location:Anaheim, Ca
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Henry Morris Study Bible is sure to be a blessing in any Christian's life who takes the Word of God to be inerrant because of it's divine inspiration. The notes come from a YEC perspective, but this shouldn't be a problem for a true believer, especially when considering Scripture itself asserts such things on numerous occasions. The introduction clearly lays out Dr. Morris' stance: "Based on this literal and contextual approach, the notes become what one might call Baptistic in ecclesiology, pre-millennial in eschatology, non-charismatic in pneumatology, and moderately Calvinistic in soteriology." I encourage it to be purchased by those 13-30, as nearly all within this age group have grown up thru widespread acceptance of evolutionistic ideas, practices, etc. However, no matter how young or old, this Bible expounds upon the scriptures in such a truthful manner so as to be profitable to all. The 21 appendices provide a wealth of information, each in ideal format. The topical index and concordance could be expanded, but the lack in these two points is hardly noticeable in comparison to the other study aids incorporated (cross references, amazing color maps, etc.) The materials used are high quality and come at a great price from CBD! Overall? Extremely pleased!
P.S- the only bad review so far claims the Bible is around 6 pounds. It is actually only a little over 3.5lbs; still a hefty book, but not warranting an unwarranted 1 star rating.
P.S.S- I suggest CBD add an excerpt link to the 'Genuine Leather Black' product page. Those seriously debating whether or not this is the right Bible for you, simply follow the excerpt link from the hardcover edition.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the notes and appendices.

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
badjuijui
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Henry Morris study bible has notes and appendices that are designed for apologetics, not just for Creationism vs. Evolution, but for many bible doctrines. I like the fact that the notes are the same size type as the text, because in some study bibles I have to strain to read the notes. Some don't like this because they say that puts the notes on equal footing with the text, but that is not so. A line always divides the two and you have no problem knowing which is which, the text always being on top.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meets My expectations

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vallens
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that study Bible, it's really useful, rich and full of information. It will really help me in my studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to Bible study

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brett E
Location:El Dorado Springs, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well first off I'm a youth leader so I do a lot of Bible study and one of my favorite places to study is Genesis 1-11. The Henry Morris study Bible has so many great notes along with the extra studies in the appendices that I didn't expect and they are great. My favorite is the explanations on the alternate views of the age of the earth such as Theistic Evolution, Progressive Creation, Day-Age Theory, and Gap Theory. Although they are not exhaustive by any means, they do a good job giving you an overview of the views. My only issue is it only comes in KJV. I am not a KJV fan and would have much rather had NASB or NKJV but I have several translations to use when studying so it's fine. Don't get me wrong, if KJV is the only translation to read I would absolutely read it but to each his own. I have several other books by Henry Morris and John Morris and I love their work. The pages are thicker than my other Bibles and it seems to be built very solid. Over all I would HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features additional Bible study helps.

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beagle
Location:Cumberland, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features "R" for reference scriptures at the end of each verse. Features "T for additional word translations at the end of each verse.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written but poorly bound

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
gusluke
Location:Belle Center, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this Bible in the genuine leather edition. I have used the Bible for about three or four years as my daily devotional Bible. I appreciate the research and commentary. But the Bible is literally falling apart. The pages are not sewn into the binding but glued in sections. The glue has come undone and big chunks of the Bible fall out every time I pick it up to use it. This Bible should have lasted longer than this. You can have the best written Bible, ever, but what good is it if you can't even hold it to read it without an avalanche of paper on your lap. I am very disappointed. I've had other Bibles last me for decades. This Bible didn't make it five years. This Bible stayed at home, as well. I didn't carry it with me to church or anywhere else, for that matter. It should have lasted a lot longer.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Outstanding!!!

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chucky b
Location:Taylor, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is everything I hoped it would be. An Invaluable tool in my Sunday School Class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like the leather covering

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
nanab
Location:bethany, Il
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this product was large print but I did not send it back. I will use it as long as I can. I also thought it had tabs, I think maybe I clicked on the wrong product when I ordered but it is OK, I can add my tabs and use this Bible, I like it anyway. It is hard for me to get around on the internet and I get confused on these sites that offer so many different types of Bibles, I knew I wanted a study Bible and that is what I got and I am satisfied.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The KJV Henry Morris Study Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
GBCSS
Location:Hawthorne, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Henry Morris Study Bible is a wonderful study Bible and of good quality! I had the New Defenders Study Bible, and although I loved it, the print quality was poor. I just purchased the leather edition of the new Henry Morris Study Bible and the print is darker and the words of Christ in medium red -very easy to read. The annotations are, I believe, doctrinally sound and the late Dr. Morris' love for the Word of God and his solid stand (along with the Institute for Creation Research) on the absolute authority of Scripture is refreshing and much needed in these days of apostasy. I also love the reverence and beauty of the King James version. I highly recommend this Bible - it is in, my opinion, excellent in every way.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>