Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter

Moody Publishers KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter

The Ryrie Study Bible is especially designed ho help you study and understand the Bible—"the greatest of all books. A comprehensive single source for all Bible study needs, the Ryrie Study Bible includes detailed sections such as:

  • A synopsis of Bible Doctrine
  • The Inspiration of the Bible
  • Understanding the Bible
  • How We Got the Bible
  • The Meaning and Blessings of Salvation
  • Archaeology and the Bible
  • A Brief Survey of Church History.

Dr. Ryrie's years of study, teaching and writing make him exceptionally qualified to enable an understanding of the fundamental truths of Scripture.

Other features include:

  • 10,000 Concise Explanatory Notes, in text graphics including maps, charts, timelines and diagrams
  • Comprehensive book outlines in easy to read format
  • Expanded topical index
  • Wide margins for better note taking
  • Extensive cross references
  • Detailed introduction to each book
  • Introduction to the Old and New Testaments and Gospels
  • Comprehensive concordance
  • 16 full-color maps
  • 8-page historical timeline
  • Daily bible reading plan
  • Presentation page
  • Two-column format
  • Complete King James Version Bible

Free Bible Study Software offer included (over $400 value)—Ideal bible software programs for pastors, teachers, professors, students, bible study leaders and anyone who desires to know God and His Word more intimately. This hand-picked library was designed by Moody Publishers and Wordsearch as the companion to the Ryrie Study Bible.

Selected features include: (*30-day preview only)

  • KJV, NIV*, and NASB*, The Message*
  •  MacArthurs Commentaries*
  • Matthew Henry Commentaries, New Ungers Bible Dictionary and Handbook
  • Nave's Topical Index
  • Strong's Concordance
  • Ryrie Study Notes; Scofield Study Notes
  • Basic Theology by Dr. Ryrie
  • Interactive Bible Study Planner
  • Greek and Hebrew Helps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
41 out of 4493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Review 1 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
katijane
Location:alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the Ryrie study and this one was for my husband. He was disappointed as well as I that the cover wasn't solid blue like his last one. This cover looks more like a book than a Bible. Why did they change something that wasn't broke
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brogan
Location:Haysville, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The Ryrie Study Bible has helped me to understand some passages that were difficult before. There are plenty of footnotes and maps to help understand content and context. The concordance is also very helpful. It is an all around excellent source for serious Bible study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy the Ryrie Study Bibles

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
shurdy
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I became familiar with the Ryrie Study Bibles in 1986 with my first NASB purchase. I have worn it out and now I have the KJV as my third. The Ryrie Bibles provide great, thought provoking commentary on some difficult subjects. I recommend the Bible to anyone.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lany Moe
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Study bible for anyone who wants to learn. It also has some great information at the beginning of each book. I would recommend this Study Bible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most featured study bible ever.

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location:Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing ref bible. I owned one for years and loved it. Talked my wife into this one, and so far she is pleased
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tried and True

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Greybranch
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible. I gave it to my wife for Christmas.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnathan
Location:Las vegas, Nevada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this Study Bible. It's without a doubt the finest King James Study Bible I have ever come across. The Print is large enough that I can easily read without squinting. The Notes alone are amazing. The Extra Study Helps that are included are awesome too. The Topical Section is great without going overboard, as I have observed in a few other on the market. The Quality of the King James Ryries Study Bible is awesome. I have other King James Study Bibles, but this one Folks is without a doubt in my mind, just incredible. All you need with this for Studying is Strongs Concordance and Vines Dictionary and your set. From now on I'm setting store with the Ryrie King James Study Bible.
Thank you CBD for making this product available!!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome bible

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdd1989
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like how this bible gives good notes at the bottom depending what book your in. If you don't understand something just look at the bottom and it gives the chapter and verse(s).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sound Doctrine

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Z. A. Canter
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The KJV Ryrie Study Bible is the most useful study Bible I own. The notes are very helpful and comprehensive, providing milk for young Christians and solid meat that many study bibles lack. The King James text is a very comfortable size for reading and, unlike another popular study bible, Ryrie makes no changes to the KJV Scripture text, making any necessary grammatical comments in the notes or margin. Conservative/evangelical, dispensational, and committed to sound doctrine from God's inerrant Word, Ryrie's Study Bible is the most helpful tool any Christian could own.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too biased in one direction.

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
lgrec4
Location:Missoula, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Physical product OK for the price: i.e. paper, leather cover, etc. The disappointment came from the commentary sections: too biased in one direction. I was looking for a study Bible that was fairly neutral in outlook regarding end-times etc. This is not the one for that. CBD was very gracious in accepting the returns. I wish there was more description on the product page posted by CBD indicating the slant of commentary and doctrinal positions of the edition. I will be ordering another study Bible that was recommended by CBD regarding the commentary section. CBD was very helpful in this regard.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
christianglo
Location:Ct.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was purchased as a gift. Both giver and receiver were very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study source

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
faithwalker
Location:Princeton, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Mom has had one of these Bibles for years and it finally had to be replaced because she dropped it and the spine fell apart. Other than that it held up excellently for many years. She uses it to study and to help do Bible crosswords and loves it. The price was also very reasonable for a study Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is a jewel.

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary Collins
Location:LaPlace, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent study Bible. You cannot exhaust the many available resources it contains.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning resources, commentary, and references

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doug
Location:Danvers, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Praise and thanks to the Lord for such great teachers as Charles Ryrie. It's widely believed that the King James Version is one of the most accurate translations available, but I need all the help I can get to understand some of the words and phrasing. Ryrie's commentary does a great job of doing just that.
Quality-wise, I like the genuine leather option because I believe it will last longer - however, the inside corners of the front cover where the leather wraps around from the front are starting to pull away after only a month or so. I'll have to try and get this repaired, shouldn't be a big deal - I wouldn't let this be a deciding factor for one that's looking to purchase this Bible. I still recommend buying it.
Another very minor thing, but I wish this Bible had the Preface to the King James at the front of the book.
Overall rating is an A.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikki
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I wanted in a bible. The print could have been a little larger, I have poor vision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
2krc
Location:Henderson, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a fine bible, but I would not purchase another thumbed index again...the pages are too fragile to handle the cutouts.
The study guide is very good and maps are excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I bought this Bible for a Birthday Present,

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
snooks
Location:Abingdon,Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given more than one of these for Birthday Presents. They are a great gift and you can't give a better gift than the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruby
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what we wanted for our grandson. He was well pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Study Bible

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
jrar
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study bible is of great quality. It offers great references and I really like the timelines it includes. I am even pleased with the quality of the paper used. As a bonus, this bible offers an online reference library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Ryrie Study Bible Hardcover, Red Letter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Fell apart

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
4givenservant
Location:Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read/study nearly daily and thoroughly enjoy the content of this Bible. However, I owned this Bible for less than a year before it started falling apart at the binding. Sections literally fell out of it. I looked at many different Bibles before buying this one. I love the way it reads, I like the information provided in the notes and book introductions. Other than it falling apart I love this bible. I hate it that I now have to buy an new Bible and I will not buy this Bible again due to it's binding problems.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.