Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library

Barbour Publishing My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library

Ready to take your discipleship to a higher level? Travel through the year guided by Scripture and soul-challenging wisdom from the noted 19th-century Scottish Bible teacher, military chaplain, and evangelist. Ideal for gift giving, this handsome edition of Chambers's devotional classic includes helpful topical and Scripture indexes. 384 pages, hardcover from Barbour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.948 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 40100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Review 1 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Utmost

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to give books to my family for Christmas. This is a good book to give for personal devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great daily devotion

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
PastorAndy
Location:Erie, Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the book in personal and corporate devotions. Nice short thoughts on several topics covered in the Bible!! The topical index and Scripture references are a great tool!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elvia Grimsley
Location:Tulare, Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved the bounding on the book and I would give it to anyone of my friends and even a young person
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful classic devotional

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbie
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the best devotional out there, he makes you really dig deep.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
allbyGrace
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Its value is priceless. Brought 2nd one as a present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth Pondering

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Philip Tutt
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This work is a compilation of excerpts from the author's lectures, sermons and other writings, largely as transcribed by his wife. A pastor and a military chaplain serving with the British army during World War I, the author died in 1917. The book was not published until 1935. The classic edition contains a forward by the author's widow. The editorial hand is unattributed. The arrangement of the excerpts is largely for reader convenience, rather than developmental design--one short, though far from easy, devotional reading per day for one year. Substantively, the excerpts evince the thoughts, and the spiritual journey of a highly conflicted soul. One sees a committed Christian drawn, often reluctantly, from works back into their ground in faith. The latter tends toward mysticism, with elements of Meister Eckehart and St. John of the Cross clearly present. The essential tension seems to be as between mystical detachment in contemplative faith and pragmatic application of faith to the needs of one's fellows. There is no particular logical order to the excerpts, notwithstanding their editorially provided titles. So the reader should not look for anything like a 12-step plan for salvation. Instead, each excerpt should be read as an independent unit of deep reflection, with its evident conflicts and contradictions often unresolved. Modern readers of the classic edition may find some additional difficulty with the late Victorian English in which the author's thoughts are conveyed. I found myself at the conclusion of the reading thinking that I was witness to the struggles of a soul in transit from mainstream religion to a deeply personal involvement with the Holy Spirit, the ponderings of a very promising inspirational thinker whose life was tragically cut short. At the end of the day, however, perhaps the author got as far as any of us can hope to. Highly recommended for at least one careful reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Utmost for HIS Highest

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lori Chyko
Location:Bradenton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little book!! I buy 5-10 at a time, and give them as birthday or retirement gifts. The content is amazing, and will help anyone who reads it with a heart towards GOD, to grow spiritually. Planting seeds for the Kingdom of GOD is our call in life, and one I pray GOD will be pleased with as I share HIS Truth with others. To HIM be all the Glory! Amen!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
This review is fromMy Utmost For His Highest.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift item

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oldman
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got these for baptism gifts for grandchildren. beautifully bound.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
1dcm
Location:Smithville,GA.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this book it help me every day.I am glad I purchase it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like spiritual heart surgery every day

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
KSCHICK
I have had My Utmost for 30+ years and the pages were falling out so I had to get a new one. Like the summary says, it is like spiritual surgery every day to the heart and soul of my being.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beneficial Daily Devotions

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
PianoArt
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading this book daily since December and it has truly been a blessing to me! Oswald Chambers writes in such a way that it makes you think - because it is not our "everyday English." It definitely makes you think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
This review is fromMy Utmost For His Highest.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our utmost for His highest glory

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stanley
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a nut shell; it is living our utmost. The entire purpose is not about us but that our utmost will extend to His Highest.
If we live our utmost for that purpose, we will glorify God.
This book is handsomely and richly made with someone's utmost desire for quality. The daily thoughts will never be outdated because the days of the months are not according to a certain year, but, rather for the particular day number of a particular month. It does not have to be read every day. But, every day of every month in any year there is a rich thoughtful encouragement to ponder as your day unfolds or ends. I give 5 stars plus in every category of this top-shelf literature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Highly Recommend This Devotional!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been my ONLY Daily Devotional for many years.
Each year when I begin reading from the beginning, it is as though I have never read it.
As we move from level to level in our Spiritual growth, development and unfoldment another level of understanding is opened. This Devotional just as "The Bible" also reveals more of Itself.
I have started sharing it with others, thus my purchase to give as Christmas gifts. A gift that keeps on giving and giving and giving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true Bible study tool to be used with God'd Word

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smiley
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must if a person is studying to be a true disciple of Jesus Christ. Many words in it aren't pleasant to hear but they really can change your life, if a disciple really wants to grow in Christ. One of the most remarkable, God inspired, books I've ever read. I thank God daily for His tools that help me grow in and thru Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
david
Location:ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read oswald every day, right along with my Bible. I give them away all the time. What a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value, great for gifts.

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this price, I can buy in quantity and give as gifts. Wonderful wisdom in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
This review is fromMy Utmost For His Highest.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brandy
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am loving this devotion. It was recommeded by a friend, and it has been even better than I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mopsy
Location:Mexico
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT HAS BEEN AN EXCELLENT GUIDE IN MY LIFE EVERY DAY FOR THE PAST 30 YEARS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This devoutional is a strong foundation.

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devoutional is a strong foundation for a believer's walk of faith. Oswald Chamber's insight is truly Holy Spirit inspired and is great teaching to linger with you forever. It's hard to only read one a day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for My Utmost for His Highest, The Christian Library
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tricia Wilson
Location:Augusta, Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Christian should have this as part of their collection. We read this devotional daily as part of our Bible reading and prayer time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.