Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charlotte Mason Research Lessons at Blackberry Inn

Charlotte Mason Research Lessons at Blackberry Inn

Sit yourself down for a spell, and restore your soul! Infused with Charlotte Mason's gentle art of learning, this calming book follows Carol, a 1930s homemaker, as she adjusts to her first year living at Blackberry Inn. Refresh yourself as you drop into her idyllic world of canning, cleaning, homeschooling, baking, and other scenes of faith, hope, hospitality, love, and the lost art of homemaking! Written as a sequel to Pocketful of Pinecones, Lessons at Blackberry Inn may also be read as a stand-alone novel. A delightful treat for the homeschool mother. 224 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Review 1 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a charming sequel, and a lovely read as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cozy and heartwarming

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Pocketful of Pinecones I just had to get my hands on this book. This book seems so simple; yet really becomes a book with many layers. Godly characters, home making, and homeschooling are all covered to give encouragement. A nice bonus is the "chatterbox" in the back. I enjoyed reading Mrs. Andreola's information and learning more from it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read of Simpler Times

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a reminder of simpler times amid our modern day chaos. It was nice to pick up and dream of the days of apple festivals, canning, gardening for food, wood heat, and sewing. Nice story line-but ending not adequate for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Maine
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is all I was hoping it would be and more! Refreshing, lovely read, with bits of nice sketches mingled within the pages. Inspiring quotes, little poems and loads of wisdom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BUY THIS BOOK!!

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Carterville, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not just a wonderful book, but what a spirit lifter! Whether you are a CMer or not, this book will lift your spirits and rejuvenate you in your homeschooling journey. I have read pockets and lessons over and over and over again. You will not tire of reading these books. Karen is a wonderful person, writer, reviewer. I have ALL of her books and almost all the books I use in our homeschool have been suggested by her......and I've NEVER been disappointed. You need this book. It's just that good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Behrens
This book is beautifully written and inspiring. I have been anxiously waiting to read it ever since I finished Pocketful of Pinecones and I was not disappointed! It restored my vision and touched my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy
I love anything by Karen Andreola. This is very enjoyable, I am only at the begining of the book and I am loving it!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rain Whittaker
Loved this book! After reading a Pocketful of Pinecones I couldn't wait for another in the series. Lessons at Blackberry Farm delivered. It's so helpful to see how to put Charlotte Mason's philosophy to work through Carol's daily life. Gentle learning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shawna Hawkins
This is a delightful read! I have read all of Karen's books and was so happy when this became available. It helps us to remember what a Christian influence we have as wives and mothers. 'Gentle' is the operative word.We can speak volumes just by our actions -as our children are always ready to absorb what we do!! If you haven't read any of her books before, I urge you to try this one. It's a blessing for anyone, but especially for those of us home educating our children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lessons at Blackberry Inn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Egan
When I finished reading Lessons at Blackberry Inn, I smiled and sighed with contentment. I didn't think there could be a better book than Pocketful of Pinecones. I was wrong. This books retains the flavor of the original while being completely fresh and new - explaining Charlotte Mason concepts in a way that will leave you feeling inspired and grateful. A great story, great writing and a great CM homeschool book. It just doesn't get better than this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.