Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Barbour Publishing A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1

Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 1385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Review 1 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:lacon , il
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just couldn't put the book down I read until the wee hrs of the morning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Location:British Columbia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just completed reading all 3 of the Sister's Series Books and couldn't put them down until I had finished them. With all the twists and turns in the story a person's mind is put to work trying to figure out what direction each story character's life will go in. It's wonderful to share in the sister's hopes, dreams and even their struggles to get a sense of what life can bring to one family. Although tragedy struck this family their love and committment to one another sustains them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotion packed.

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:South East Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A web of events that keep you guessing and pull at your heartstrings. I recommend to anyone who likes a good love story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
hendie
Location:Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put the book down until I could find out how she solved her predicament. I love stories of the Amish, marvel at their strength and beliefs, especially when hardship occurs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cliffhanger

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lois Cooper
Location:Cleveland, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book before and wanted to buy it for my daughter-in-law. It keeps your attention and is hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story/author; Amish life interesting.

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
oldsinger
Location:Panama City, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I am really getting into these stories about the Amish people; their life is so different from ours. They are excellent examples of devout obedience to their elders. Sometimes this is a bit hard to accept for an outsider, but these people are very admirable. I was sorry the main character in this story had kept her secrets from her family, but then I got very impatient with her husband for his mean treatment before he finally repented and got himself right with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love to read books about the Amish

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judith V
Location:Elgin, Albet County, N.B., Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For this books I have already read them and I gave this three books to a young friend as she loves to read also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trish
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series - I read the series, good light reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not impressed

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gertrude
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a fan of Amish books, so I picked this one up thinking it would be an interesting read but was disappointed. I felt no connection whatsoever with any of the characters. Throughout the book, Grace is weak, cowardly, and a worry wart. It was ridiculous to the point that I found it amusing. There was no climax and the book was not as suspenseful as I had hoped. And I got tired of Grace's constant stuttering.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

it's an okay read.

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shotann
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's no great page-turner because it moves as slowly as the horse and buggy rides they take.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great read

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
izzie
Location:Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great read, really enjoyable, a book one can lose yourself in after a heavy day at work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish mystery

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
faithful reader
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend you read all 3 books in this series.....you definitely won't be disappointed. GREAT SERIES
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
lglmbs
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is entertaining right from the start. I haven't come to a "boring" part yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Morag Fraser
Got this book, while on holiday in New York State, from my cousin. Thoroughly enjoyed it but was a little disappointed at the end when I did not find out who did all the damage to the property. Hope to get the next in the series to find out what happened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Kaipio
The whole series was wonderful it showed how God can work in one's lives .I really enjoyd the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
As I read this Amish novel, I thought that of the four I've read, it was the best. However, when I came to the final page, I had changed my mind.Secrets are dangerous things to keep. Grace, the protagonist, is haunted by the secrets in her past life. She desperately wants to tell Cleon, her fiance, but the time never seems appropriate. One day, the truth is revealed, and Grace's world turns upside down. It is interesting to see the Amish way of forgiveness at work. But does it always apply? Will Cleon be able to forgive and accept Grace? Fortunately, for the reader's satisfaction, that question is answered.Attacks against the Hostettler property cause unexplained damage and increase in intensity. Who is responsible? Throughout the novel, the question is asked over and over and discussed at length. Yet the final page is turned without revealing the answer. Talk about a cliff hanger! This ends so abruptly, this reader is left totally frustrated.If you're a fan of this author, you'll enjoy this one. But when you buy this book, be certain to buy the sequel A Sister's Test. It's the only way you can find out how it ends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Barton
I couldn't put this book down. It just keeps you going. I can't wait to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
This book was excellent and well written. I am anxiously awaiting the next one to try and figure out who did it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Jones
I always enjoy reading Wanda Brunstetters books and this book was no exception. I could not put the book down and read all three of the books in the "sister" series in one week!!!! Keep up the good work Wanda and I hope you add more to the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Sister's Secret, Sisters of Holmes County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda E.
From the moment I started reading I just couldn't put it down. I enjoyed this book so much. I couldn't wait to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.