Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vance Publications The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition

Vance Publications The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition

This book is a detailed examination and critical biblical analysis of the philosophical speculations and theological implications of Calvinism. Extensively documented from Calvinistic authorities, this book presents the other side to the over 400-year-old debate over the doctrines of Calvinism.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Review 1 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent treatise against Calvinism

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tommy
Location:Wilmington, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calvinistic theories are weak when compared to what the Bible clearly states. Calvinism must twist the Scriptures to make them say what they clearly do not say. This book plus Dave Hunt's "What Love is This?" should be read with an open mind and heart by anyone who has been troubled by Calvinism.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Turner
I am finding this book is an excellent review of the historical facts of the development of Calvinism. I appreciate the thorough research the writer has done.The author is respectful when surveying a subject with which he holds an opposing view. Great read !
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
heshimu
You're foolish to hate the God of glory. Vance does the best job i've seen in coming up with concise statements from others and unfolding the doctrine of God with honesty and without flair. This will help anyone desiring to know truth.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Ingersoll
This book was very disappointing. His exegesis and hermeneutical approach to scripture is extremely lacking. On the up side the first 200 pages or so give a fascinating historical account of Calvin, Augustine and Arminius. Other than that I really cant recommend it.Although I don't consider myself a Calvinist, I am closer to that side of the debate then the Armenian side. I really don't know how predestination and the sovereignty of God works with the free will of man, and I am content to leave it up to God and find out when I get to heaven. However, I do believe that God is sovereign and that the Holy Spirit dose has to work in a sinners heart convicting of sin, righteousness, and judgment, in order for that person to be saved, and I do believe that God also has to draw the person to himself as well. No one can be saved on their own. Nevertheless, each person also has free will, and salvation is possible for all people. I also believe that repentance and submission to the Lordship of Christ are essential for genuine conversion to take place. Vance does not believe this, and that is my biggest problem with the book. It doesnt really matter if you believe in the Calvinist definition of predestination, or not, but it does matter what you believe about the requirements of salvation because that has eternal consequences. Whether Calvinist or Armenian, the most important issue is that we are preaching the gospel biblically, that is, preaching sin, law, righteousness and judgment. Preaching that people must repent, (turn from their sin) and turn to God, trusting only in Jesus Christ to save them, which includes submitting to the Lordship of Christ.
+1point
11of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Gray
Bravo Mr. Vance! The reviews of this book show how the teachings of Calvinism are very polarizing to believers. I was becoming very frustrated in trying to find a good refutation of the endless supply of pro-Calvinist books. My frustration is over. After reading this book, I fully expect an honest Calvinist to deplore it. Thus I'm not at all surprised by the reviewers who scored this a "zero". This book fully disproves the reformed position that God's allowing man a free will to embrace or reject Him diminishes His sovereignty. In fact, the Calvinist position is the one that limits God's sovereignty-along with His love and compassion. THIS IS A MUST READ!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Ayers
There is no doubt that Vance has hit a mainline nerve of the Calvinist community. To give this book Zero stars shows the contempt of the ones whose system has been exposed for the sham of a theological system that it is.Reformed theology in general and 5-point TULIP Calvinism has been weighed in the balance of Vance's book and shown that it is found to be wanting.There is no other book on the market on Calvinism that is in the same class as this work. I have read it "kiver to kiver" twice and each time I leave impressed and surprised at how thorough and biblical it is.No one who is even remotely interested in the subject of Calvinism can afford to not read this book.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ricardo O'Brien
Absolutely the best expose of the teachings of Calvinism ever written. Dr Vance exposes the contradiction of the teachings of Calvin and the proponents of Calvinism in their own writings. He exposes the snowball effect of wrong doctrine in their appealing to Greek texts and by creating jargon to defend an indefensible position. Dr Vance's sections of proof texts should be studied and learned by all who are concerned about the dangerous teachings of Calvinism. He shows how utterly ridiculous some of the positions are by appealing to the most simple exegesis while dealing with complex issues with equally brilliant scholarship. This book will surely get a few TULIPERS hot under the collar as it uncovers how dangerous the human intellect can be.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dr. Abraham Fakhouri
More garbage. Filled with false exegesis of Scripture. Spends most of the time lost in Ad Hominem, fallacious arguments and emotional appeal, rather than proper exegesis of Scripture to defend his position. Avoids many tough verses, and when he does approach some, he adulters the Greek language to fit his view. PLEASE, LET THE TEXT SPEAK. But in his defense he is excellent at using EISEGESIS, and defiling the written word of God.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Don Sivyer
Well written, throughly thought out,and superbly documented. This will help equip any one who desires to have a workable defense of the heresy of the reformed position. Well done Dr. Vance.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Paula Fether
I ordered this book with some reservation, just because I knew the author was KJVO. But happily, there were only a few spots where he appealed to this unfortunate bias, and they were not significant to the subject. But as a resource for answering the Calvinist who cries 'misrepresentation' it is indispensible. It shows, from the Calvinists' own mouths, what a twisted monstrocity it takes to obscure the simple gospel. Excellent work.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Stephen P. Kingman
Dr. Vance has given us a great deal of worthy historical information on men like St. Augustine, John Calvin and Jacob Arminius and for this I say thank you. However, when it comes to the discussion of the Five Points of Calvinism he simply sites verses out of their context when building his arguments. The book is worth the investment, but purely from an historical standpoint.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2004
Customer Avatar
joy
The best book on this subject!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2004
Customer Avatar
Mike Bondurant
This is an amazing piece of research! The details of each point discusssed are outstanding. This should be read by all who are interested in Calvinism or Arminianism. Definitely, the most complete coverage I've read on the subject manner.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jeffery Thomas Strange
Someone once said, "you cannot con a man unless he's crooked!". All the substantive reviews for or against Vance's book are of great use to this reader. It is apparent to the point of frightening that truth-denying men (at his best state vanity - saved or lost) will strain at a gnat and quite literally swallow a camel. What an honest man will see from these reviews after reading Vance's book is the polar opposite from that seen by a crooked man - saved or lost. For Rom 3:4, God Almighty says (through Paul of course, and who says you're not crooked?!) "God forbid: yea, let God be true, but every man a liar; as it is written, That thou mightest be justified in thy sayings, and mightest overcome when thou art judged." To be as honest as I am able to be, I would have to give Vance's book on Calvanism 5 stars, since 7 is not an option in this world...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
DAVE GRAY
AS A FORMER ARMINIAN WHO FOUGHT CALVINISM ALL MY LIFE, I WAS FINALLY BROUGHT FACE TO FACE WITH MY FALLEN HUMANITY BY THE SCRIPTURE AND WHEN I FINALLY ADMITTED THAT I EMBRACED THE CHRISTIAN DOCTRINE OF THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD IN THE PROCESS OF SALVATION. ABOUT 4 YEARS AGO A FRIEND GAVE ME A COPY OF THIS BOOK AND I WAS AMAZED AT THE POOR LOGIC AND EXEGESIS THAT IS USED. ALSO, MANY TIMES MR. VANCE TOOK THE QUOTATIONS COMPLETELY OUT OF CONTEXT AND DIDN'T DEAL WITH THE BEST OF THE CALVINIST WRITERS. IT'S THIS TYPE OF WEAK THINKING THAT HAS DEFROCKED THE AMERICAN CHURCH OF IT'S POWER. FOR A COMPLETE REFUTATION OF THIS WORK READ JONATHAN EDWARDS' "FREEDOM OF THE WILL" AND LUTHER'S "BONDAGE OF THE WILL".
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2002
Customer Avatar
Michael Thayer
I was once an ardent Calvinist -- supralapsarian, airtight, die-hard John Gill-style predestinarian. I heard the logic of the 5 points over and over again and was ready for any objection from the irrational fool who would dare challenge the system. Eventually I saw some cracks in the system not only when held up to the light of Scripture but also as I observed that members of the 5-point community displayed some of the most intolerant and rancorous behavior one could imagine as they attacked one another in various media - especially the Internet. Later, I came across this book titled "The Other Side of Calvinism" and decided to investigate it so I could blast the heretic who would dare challenge the citadel of Calvinism. The book is sourced from thousands of statements by Calvinists as the author examines the validity of the teachers and tenants of this philosophical system. In a thorough and convincing manner, this book shows the conclusion for Calvinism is a resounding "unbiblical" and it has the Calvinist community hopping mad. Every Christian should read this book -- especially Baptists. Buy it, study and highlight it, and then go share the Gospel with "whosoever will." I also recommend "Chosen But Free" by Norman Geisler.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jan Hawthorne
Regarding the facts presented- an exceptional work in its thoroughness and intellectual integrity. The teachings of Calvinism are presented with unwavering accuracy. Regarding the author's disposition toward those who teach Calvinism- witty, though unnecessarily biting. This is what prevented a full five point(no pun intended!)rating. The work overall is educational, enlightening, and thought provoking. However, you had better be comfortable reading the KJV. For that matter, you had better be comfortable reading in general because it is a very long book with a great deal of info. If you are looking for a work in which unsavory tactics (straw man arguments, misrepresentation of the opposing view, etc.)are absent, by all means get this book. If you are looking for something in which the opposition is dealt with gently, you will not find it here.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Andrew C. Livengood, Sr.
Laurence M. Vance has gone to considerable lengths to present a historically accurate, well documented account of the sustainers and retractors of Calvinism, the events that led up to its being accepted as the 'standard' it has become over the centuries, and his own understanding as to how this all plays out in the light of Scripture. Unlike most other works of its kind, in 'The Other Side of Calvinism' Dr. Vance quotes a vast number of supporters of Calvinism - including John Calvin himself - and utilizes their own words to bolster and enforce his counter-points. To this end Dr. Vance also succeeds in conveying to the reader that there exists much confusion among the Calvinist rank and file. As noted within the book, this fact is not without its import.A down-to-earth writing style, exhaustive endnotes, Scriptural references, and large appendices do much to secure the reader and encourages one to recognize that this is a work that expects personal conclusions to be based upon a process of reasoning and Biblical validation, not general presumption. Dr. Vance takes nothing for granted in presenting the comparison of his views to those of Calvinism and its supporters.Whether one upholds the system or not, 'The Other Side of Calvinism' will undoubtedly leave the majority of its readers challenged and well informed.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Other Side of Calvinism, Revised Edition
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5