Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition

Barbour Publishing Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition

Here's your invitation to "come away" with your loving heavenly Father - with a handsome, two-tone leather look edition of the classic devotional Come Away, My Beloved. This million-selling book has been lightly updated for ease of reading, and features scripture from the New King James Version of the Bible. A book "forged in the crucible of life," Come Away shares the ministering spirit of the heavenly Father to those in need of encouragement, hope, comfort, and conviction, and is equally helpful for new Christians or long-time believers seeking spiritual renewal. Beautiful top-stitching detail; tan/burgundy; measures 8.5" x 5.5".
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 out of 1984%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
Review 1 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marty
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given this book as a gift. What a beautiful book!!!
When I run into a SPECIAL person who has bleesed my life
I give this book to them as a gift. I have given this book to many people and will continue to do so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Gift Edition: The Intimate Devotional Classic Updated in Today's Language.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Midget
Location:Taylors, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional has been very applicable to my every day life and has been both inspiring and encouraging! I love the style of writing, as if God Himself is speaking to me personally!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Grundyson
Location:Braham, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best devotional book I have ever read (and I've read many). Every small section is like God is talking right to me and knows me and loves me anyway. I've known this, but Frances Roberts puts it in such a way that my heart hurts from the reality of it. I wish I had known about this book long time ago, although God probably knew this was the time I would need it most.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patsy
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A powerful devotional.....not much reading but great impact!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Gift Edition: The Intimate Devotional Classic Updated in Today's Language.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beatuifully done inside and out

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Location:Apple Valley, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant book for devotion time. Very easy to understand and apply to your life and situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
SisterJo
Location:New York
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has blessed me every time I open it up. When I need a word or encouragment this is where I turn. To me it's the heart of God speaking to me each time. I purchased it for a friend and she couldn't thank me enough...she was so blessed by the words. Thank you Frances for sharing God's heart with us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DANGER!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
HisForever
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Pg 226
"I have called you to come into the secret chambers of solitary communion. They are dark, but the comfort of My Person is there. Out of darkness comes great treasure." LIE FROM THE PIT OF HELL!
Scripture verse for this? NO, BECAUSE THERE ISN'T ONE! I John 1:5 - "This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in Him there is no darkness at all." THIS IS THE TRUTH
Pg 250
"a multitude of souls are searchiing for Me and would never come into contact with Me in a personal way through the channels of the organized church."
Really? Jesus established the church. Anyone who subtly, or not so subtly, woos you away from a Jesus-ordained church is an enemy of Jesus.
Pg 236
"This knowing Me in secret is an experience alien to the world. This union with Me is the source of your life, of your strength, of your health and vitality. Nothing can substitute. Prayer is good, but prayer cannot substitute for solitary communion."
Hello! She has found another way to communicate with God other than Biblical prayer called solitary communion? I don't think so. There is no such mention of anything like this in the Bible. She is recommending an experience that is meant to put you in an altered state of consciousness. BEWARE!
Pg 232,233
"I call you through the trees. In the soughing of the pines, it is My voice speaking. I call you in the wind. In the breaking of the waves, it is My voice you hear. In the tumbling waters of the brook, it is I, calling, ever calling."
"Let the voice within you answer the voice without. Be at one with the trees, with the waves, with the flowing brook."
"So the trees would say to you, Speak. Speak to Me, speak of Me - for I am always speaking. And the lake would say to you, Be Still. Be still before Me in the communion, and be still at times even in the company of others, so may enjoy the lesson of the lake in mutual fellowship."
Please - if you want to call this a new age, panenthestic devotional - go ahead. BUT PLEASE DO NOT CALL IT A CHRISTIAN DEVOTIONAL! God does not talk through nature; He doesn't want us thinking in terms of being 'one' with nature. God talks through His Word, the Bible. Read that! That is where you will find the comfort you are looking for - not through some creepy devotional where a woman is talking as if she's God, saying things God has never said.
Charles Spurgeon said, 'Discernment is not simply a matter of telling the difference between what is right and wrong; rather it is the difference between right and almost right." Wake up, church! "He who is spiritual judges all things." I Corinthians 2:15
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This a remarkable book

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find more and more how much God is with me; the words ring true of what God says and that of the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Gift Edition: The Intimate Devotional Classic Updated in Today's Language.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Devotional

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Banks
Location:Kansas City, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am blessed and encouraged EVERY TIME I read this precious devotional. It's as though it was written specifically for me - or you when you read it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Gift Edition: The Intimate Devotional Classic Updated in Today's Language.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DANGER!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
HisForever
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Pg 226
"I have called you to come into the secret chambers of solitary communion. They are dark, but the comfort of My Person is there. Out of darkness comes great treasure." LIE FROM THE PIT OF HELL!
Scripture verse for this? NO, BECAUSE THERE ISN'T ONE! I John 1:5 - "This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in Him there is no darkness at all." THIS IS THE TRUTH
Pg 250
"a multitude of souls are searchiing for Me and would never come into contact with Me in a personal way through the channels of the organized church."
Really? Jesus established the church. Anyone who subtly, or not so subtly, woos you away from a Jesus-ordained church is an enemy of Jesus.
Pg 236
"This knowing Me in secret is an experience alien to the world. This union with Me is the source of your life, of your strength, of your health and vitality. Nothing can substitute. Prayer is good, but prayer cannot substitute for solitary communion."
Hello! She has found another way to communicate with God other than Biblical prayer called solitary communion? I don't think so. There is no such mention of anything like this in the Bible. She is recommending an experience that is meant to put you in an altered state of consciousness. BEWARE!
Pg 232,233
"I call you through the trees. In the soughing of the pines, it is My voice speaking. I call you in the wind. In the breaking of the waves, it is My voice you hear. In the tumbling waters of the brook, it is I, calling, ever calling."
"Let the voice within you answer the voice without. Be at one with the trees, with the waves, with the flowing brook."
"So the trees would say to you, Speak. Speak to Me, speak of Me - for I am always speaking. And the lake would say to you, Be Still. Be still before Me in the communion, and be still at times even in the company of others, so may enjoy the lesson of the lake in mutual fellowship."
Please - if you want to call this a new age, panenthestic devotional - go ahead. BUT PLEASE DO NOT CALL IT A CHRISTIAN DEVOTIONAL! God does not talk through nature; He doesn't want us thinking in terms of being 'one' with nature. God talks through His Word, the Bible. Read that! That is where you will find the comfort you are looking for - not through some creepy devotional where a woman is talking as if she's God, saying things God has never said.
Charles Spurgeon said, 'Discernment is not simply a matter of telling the difference between what is right and wrong; rather it is the difference between right and almost right." Wake up, church! "He who is spiritual judges all things." I Corinthians 2:15
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Gift Edition: The Intimate Devotional Classic Updated in Today's Language.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes a great gift!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
SueV
Location:Albuquerque NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my favorite devotionals for many years. Always share it when I can. This is a beautiful edition that was a pleasure to give...and from the reactions (I gave 6 of them), it was a pleasure to receive. I plan on giving many more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent when you need a personal touch from God

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Conn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this favorite of mine to a friend . (I had already given her a Bible which she asked for). She and her 3 sisters all loved it and I ended up buying each of them a copy! There is love on every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dean
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading the first page of this devotional brought tears to my eyes. It is truly one of the best I have ever read. I am planning on giving this one for Christmas to close friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Personal

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Lou
Location:West Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is a wonderful book. It is exactly like God is speaking directly to you. It speaks of those things that you have felt, thought, or said and didn't know how to deal with them. Being in first person and God as the author it becomes so personal and so applicable to your life. I can say that it is truly a life changing book. Easy to read and one that can be read over and over and each time something new touches your heart. Don't miss this opportunity to hear from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased more than a dozen copies of this book to give to friends. When I read each devotional it is like God is speaking directly to me calling me His beloved! The last friend repeated that same phrase back to me after having read it only one day!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Astrid
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daily comfort, challenge and guidance that touches the heart. It has been my husbands favorite devotional since before we met. This is the updated version as far as the language goes and is easier to read than the original.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yoli1964
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent devotional. I highly recommend it, because it will definitely minister to your spirit!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
sptrsn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
We hear how precious we are and don't believe it - this book conveys the Love of GOD! Do You need to know the love and comfort of GOD? Buy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
This review is fromCome Away My Beloved Updated.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great decotional

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
skinchy
Location:Lodi CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was given this book as a gift and it so touched my life I oreder several for myself to give away to friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Come Away My Beloved - Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
I highly recommend this beautiful book. It will lift your spirits each and every day as you read just one page. Frances J. Roberts is an amazing woman who was truly blessed by God with the ability to communicate the words and thoughts of God. I purchased three of these books so I could give them as gifts to special people in my life. The leather look of this edition makes it a special gift. You can take it to a Bible Book store and has the recipient's name printed on the outside front cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.