Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oaktara Publishers Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1

Oaktara Publishers Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1

She thought she had her love life ironed out. Now there's plenty to stew over...Jemmabeth Forrester doesn't learn from anybody's mistakes but her own, so she's obliged to make plenty of them. She's always been a good girl, and she has a boxful of Sunday school perfect attendance certificates to prove it. Someday she'll marry Spencer, the hometown guy who's been in love with her since the first grade. But is that all there is to life? Or is there something more that she's missed? It seems that half of Chillaton-a small farming community where everybody knows one another all too well-is giving her advice. But Jemma's like the Texas Panhandle wind-strong and shifty. When she meets Paul, a buckaroo lawyer, trouble is afoot...
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Review 1 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dee Hooper
If you are weary of today's news and frustrations, walk down the tracks with the young heroine of this fresh little novel. Jemma may have "man troubles", as her great aunt surmises, but the good people of her farming community are doing their best to keep her on the right track. I got a kick out of her friends and family. The romance will appeal to a broad range of women readers. It has all the makings of a hit series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Velez
McAnear's writing style and dialogue capture the warmth of the folks of the Texas panhandle in the late 1960s. Her characters come alive, from Jemmabeth, with her big dilemma, to Lester, with his irrepressible stories and courting of Lizbeth. The symbolism in Corner of Blue is also apt. I especially appreciated the comparison of Lizbeth and her courage in facing her grief with fallow ground becoming productive again. McAnear's ability to describe falling in love and its resultant confusion speaks directly to the reader's own experience and emotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mac Wordster
I love this book! It is perfect for a clean, fun, yet touching read. The characters are delightful and their predicaments remind me of my own childhood in a small town. I was looking for another series to read after the Mitford and Harmony books, and I've found it now. I'm buying each of my granddaughters this series. It's an intergenerational story, and I'm anxious to read the other novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jaylyn Richards
I would call Jemmabeth, what Anne Shirley coined as, "A True Kindred Spirit"! The writer sends a message of hope and virtue which I took and placed in a little corner of my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
S. Thweatt
I'm so glad that I will be able to follow Jemmabeth Forrester through a series of adventures as "Corner of Blue" was such a delightful read. I bought it for my daughter, but I couldn't put it down after the first page. The author created such a compassionate, honest, and highly spirited character, who isn't afraid to take risks, sometimes with painful consequences, to pursue her passions. Jemma has gumption and I laughed and cried with her as she discovered some of life's unpredictable "corners". Share the Jemma Series with your daughter, mother or a friend - they will be forever grateful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Hall
"Corner of Blue" is a captivating story of a delightful young woman as she goes through that joyful but also challenging time of entering adulthood. Having grown up in a small town in Oklahoma myself, it was fun to read about and identify with some of the different characters and also that "special" intimacy that comes with knowing everyone in town and them knowing you! Sharon McAnear has a wonderful talent in revealing her characters through their life experiences and entertaining Texas drawl with humor and sweet sincerity. I highly recommend this book and am excited to read the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
K. Parker
What a fun book to read. The author writes with a warm sense of humor that makes you chuckle all throughout the story. I loved the wholesome feel of the story, the characters and the town. Sure makes you feel you'd love to go visit Lizbeth and Jemma, share stories with them and have a meal at their little kitchenette. I can't wait to see where Jemma's next phase of life takes her. Who knows, maybe we'll see a whole generation or two spring up. Great book... get it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly Lee
I'm ready for the next adventure! This book is so sweet you can't make yourself put it down, even if you aren't a well behaved Christian girl like Jemma. It made me wish I had been more like her when I was young! She is an EXCELLENT role model for young girls. She is a good person, lovable, unselfish, beautiful, honest, talented...with a strong sense of faith and morals. Still, no one is perfect! Since she learns about life the hard way, the book is loads of fun. Who wouldn't want to be like her or to follow her around as she is presented with one interesting and exciting adventure after another? The best part about this book is the author's ability to create likable, interesting, warm, and believable characters and situations that make you laugh out loud. Through her vivid but not too long-winded descriptions of Jemma's surroundings, other characters, and social dialogue you feel like you must have driven through Chillatown once, and that you must know these people from somewhere. One can't help but really want to know more about them. You end up feeling as though they are all just basically really good people who have entertaining stories of their own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dottie Newkirk
Sharon has captured what life in the Texas panhandle was like in the 60s. Having grown up in the Texas panhandle, it brought back a lot of memories. Sharon was able to capture family life and life in a small town so well that I felt I was "there". I'm really looking forward to Book 2! Great job, Sharon!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
L. Hasday
Speaking as a young woman living in Texas, I particularly enjoyed this book, although it truly has universal appeal and would be a delightful read for anyone. I loved every character and feel like I grew to really know them. It's not surprising that several of the characters are talented artists because the author herself clearly is - the book is extremely well-written and captivating, with no wasted words. I read it quicker than I usually read books because I couldn't put it down for long. I can't wait until the next book in the series comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
M. Wilson
From the first page, the characters begin to grow on you. By the last page they are the folks you've always known. You're feeling right at home in Chillaton. You've developed your own Texas drawl and a comfy affection for Chillaton's residents. Thank goodness there are more books to come. The author has created a rich and satisfying story in this book, and cleverly invited the reader into the Jemma series. I can't wait till the next book is available. I'm missing my new friends in that little town! And I'm anxious to follow Jemma and each character as their lives unfold. The back of the book said it was a "coming of age" story. I'm not sure what age they are referring to. I'm sixty, and I still found many things to ponder, laugh, and cry about in this book. I felt enriched as I finished the last page...and hankerin' for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marsha Pratt
What a treat! I feel like a master storyteller has taken me back in time to her favorite place in the whole world. I'm glad the journey's just begun...I can't wait to see what these characters are up to in the next book. Maybe the Jemma series will turn into a cute and clever chick flick...it will take a charming actress to fill those cowgirl boots and dancing shoes! I'm happy to say that I've discovered a new favorite author, and would recommend Corner of Blue to anyone who needs a little get-away from 2008 reality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
D Jennings
I picked this book up on Christmas Day, and, much to my family's dismay, was unable to put it down until I had read it cover to cover - I just couldn't put it down! I found a whole new town full of friends, and a new role model in Jemma! I just hope that I don't have to wait long for the next book to find out what happens! I found myself laughing and crying and everything in between, and I for sure recommend this book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
D. Slade
"Corner of Blue," by Sharon McAnear, captivated my interest from the very first page! I found "Corner of Blue" hard to put down, and was disappointed when it was finished! (I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out, until the last few pages)! A beautifully written love story, "Corner of Blue," is also a wonderful portrayal of faith and family loyalty. The main character, "Jemmabeth," is charming. Sharon McAnear is a talented writer ~ I can HARDLY wait until the second book in the "Jemma" Series, arrives at my home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
C.J.
I just couldn't put it down! The story between Jemma and her long time love Spencer really captured my heart. Jemma an aspiring art student has pizzazz and charisma, a sweet girl from a small one horse town in Texas has dreams bigger than anyone. Spencer a student studying in Florence, has been in love with her since the first time they played red rover. Situations arise and Jemma finds herself pulled from Spencer to the snide cowboy Paul. I felt like the characters were real, because the author portrayed the language and mannerisms of a true Texas town (To be honest it reminded me of my southern family). I would recommend this book to anyone who is in the mood for a good old fashion love story, or in need of good soul rejuvenation. I can't wait for book two of the Jemma Series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andi
My goodness, what a captivating book! I say, "Bravo, Sharon McAnear!" This author took me back down those roads of the 60's and renewed my memories of growing up in a small town in the Panhandle of Texas. I feel I knew that caring, intelligent, high-spirited, God-loving, beautiful Jemmabeth. Thank you, Sharon, for such a wonderful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Josh
Corner of Blue is a novel set in the 1960s, but it will resonate among readers of all ages. It tells the story of Jemmabeth Forrester, a young woman who is learning to make her own choices, and sometimes gets in over her head. The book introduces us to many charming characters, including Lizbeth, Jemma's wise grandmother who lets Jemma find her own path; Lester, the next-door neighbor who always has a good story to tell (whether anyone wants to hear it or not); Trina, Jemma's down-to-earth friend and basketball sparring partner; and Carrie, a girl with polio whose physical disability has done little to dampen her spirit. The characters in the book seem like real people, and you will remember them long after you put the book down. I must warn you, however, that if you read this book, you may find yourself impatiently waiting to find out what happens in the next installment--I ordered my copy of In My Bones as soon as I finished this one, and can't wait to read every book in the Jemma series. This is a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Corner of Blue, Jemma Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alison Pickrell
Though certainly a love story, Corner of Blue offers the reader much more than that. Jemma, the heroine, is surrounded by a cast of colorful characters that add a depth of warmth and humor to the story. In these pages you will meet a slick Dallas lawyer who has a way with women, a beautiful victim of polio, a hairdresser who gives advice with her haircuts and an old fella who's full of stories and wisecracks. The action takes place from Texas to Paris and on both sides of the tracks. You'll get to know several characters that you want to meet again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.