Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Messianic Jewish Publishers Jewish New Testament Commentary

Messianic Jewish Publishers Jewish New Testament Commentary

The Jewish New Testament Commentary deals with "Jewish issues" that confront readers of the New Testament --questions Jews have about Yeshua (Jesus), the New Testament and Christianity; questions Christians have about Judaism and the Jewish roots of their faith; and questions Messianic Jews have about being both Jewish and Messianic. It is a companion volume to the Jewish New Testament, Stern's translation from the original Greek into English in a way that brings out its essential Jewishness.

The author calls this a "consciousness-raising" commentary. The reader should come away understanding that the New Testament is a Jewish book--written by Jews, largely about Jews, and was meant for both Jews and Gentiles. Jews should know that the New Testament presents Yeshua from Natzeret (Nazareth) as the Son of David, Israel's long- awaited Messiah, essential for Jewish individual and corporate salvation. Christians should be certain that they are forever one with the Jewish people, and that the New Testament gives no ground for anti-semitism in any form.

Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Review 1 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
L Rain
Location:Toronto
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A gift for our daughter, to aid in leading a Bible study. She was very excited about it. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Informative

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my current theological reading I have included readings from the Talmud, along with the Jewish New Testament and Jewish New Testament Commentary.
For a long time the brand of Protestantism I had been taught for most of my life did not make sense because it was replacement theology. The Jewish New Testament and Commentary has helped to fill in some of the gaps in my knowledge about the Jewish view of the Messiah and Jesus as the Messiah. I can't say enough good things about this series.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded My Expectations

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrueBeliever
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I have been a Christian for many years and have read the bible in many different translations, I did not realize how much I was missing by not knowing and understanding the Jewish root of Christianity. Anyone who is interested in moving from drinking milk to eating meat as it relates to the Word of God, should get this commentary. It will most definitely help you grow not only in knowledge but also in faith!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Commentary for the Jewish New Testament

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
1940ryan
Location:S.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd one; I wore the first one out and have loaned it numerous times. For any really serious Bible student, I highly recommend David Stern's Jewish New Testament and/with the companion Jewish New Testament Commentary. I do not agree with all of any author's thoughts, but this is highly enlightening and educational for students who seek the full truths of the Bible including thoughts and culture from the Jewish and Hebrew perspective.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what expected

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
glynnes
Location:Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I was hoping that this had more explanations of Jewish traditions, rituals, laws, etc. to help with leading bible studies. It is probably good for Jewish people themselves as many of the names and terminologies are Jewish ones and not ones most of us are familiar with.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very informative

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
rhodie
Location:London UK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It giave me a better understanding of the Israel historical & spiritual perspective in todays situation, & also a greater wonder of the Trinity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Clementine Cuppen
I bought three copies: one for myself, one for a daughter in Bible College, and one to send to my brother in The Netherlands who is a pastor at an International English speaking church. We use them alongside the Complete Jewish Bible and are enormously blessed by the way it brings so much greater understanding of God's word. My brother says he uses it often with 'much fruit'.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Lola Glenney
I find it quite insightful and useful for Christians to have this information available so we can get a better perspective on our Jewish roots.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Raymond Patchen
This book is definitely for a Scripture seeker and able to be mature enough to accept the truth.Definitely a book to study with the Jewish New Covenant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Boge
While I have some issues with his Biblical interpretation at times, I still would recommend this book. Why? Because his explanations from a Jewish perspective is excellent. It makes you stop and think, even rethink that some of those long cherished beliefs and opinions you hold need to be revised.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lars H. Alhaug
Just sit down and have a "sunrise" of new understanding when you read this excellent commentary by David H. Stern. Who can better explain the Bible, which is a totally Jewish book, originally (written by Jews), than a Messianic (Yahshua-believing)very skilled Jew?Full rating from me. Together with the Complete Jewish Bible, you will be in no need for anything else in your bible studies - for a long while. And you will probably have to rethink a passage or two that you had taken for solid and set, after reading this commentary and the Bible translated by Stern -
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cedric Credle
I like the commentary because I like the Complete Jewish Bible; the sad thing is that Commentaries seems to have one flaw,they do not always place in detail about the verse at times,going around it instead of hitting straight at the middle. From the contents in which I had purchased,the reason is that there is more about the Bible that we in America seems to get from our Pulpits. The content is a Jewish Book; I believe it should be taught from that perspective because of the Land, the God of the land and its King.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vladislav
I think every Christian need have Jewish New Testament and Jewish New Testament Commentary. Thank G-d!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Carpenter
Stern adds an incredible wealth of information, insight, inspiration and value. Although I have studied the Bible for decades, there was always a hunger for an 'insider view', which he adds. What an incredible gift!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jason Carlettini
This commentary is a must have for anyone truly seeking to study and understand the Word of God. You will find great culture background material that is not typically thought in conservative evangelical circles but that is crucial to truly understand the words and meaning of Jesus the JEWISH Rabbi and his JEWISH followers who wrote the rest of the New Testament.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Savannah Tuggle
Jewish New Testament Commentary is a great complement to the Jewish Bible, goes even deeper into giving you a better understanding of the Bible. Don't buy one without the other!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Malkiel
An excellent and very thorough resource! Illuminates and elucidates not only the New Testament texts but puts them into context with the Torah, Prophets, and Writings as well as Taludic sources. It is very interesting to see how much of the New Testament is echoed from Rabbinic sources! Serves as a fine introduction to Talmudic study for contextual references. My only complaint is that there is not a hardcover version available!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jewish New Testament Commentary
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Lee
I don't read this enough.I remember the day I got this book, I began reading through it the way you'd read a book. I started out in Matthew's Gospel. One of the things that I noticed was that Y'shua had a brother named Yosi. I noticed it because I have a friend whose son is named Yosi. Then, it dawned on me that Yosi is diminutive for Yosef, the Hebrew/original name for the English Joseph. Of course, he would have a brother named Yosi!As you look at the items in this commentary, you will probably also be struck by the Jewishness of Y'shua HaMashiach (Jesus, the Messiah).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.