Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Tithing: Test Me in This

Thomas Nelson Tithing: Test Me in This

Journalist Douglas LeBlanc travels the nation to talk with believers whose lives have been enriched by the ancient spiritual discipline of tithing. Along the way, LeBlanc discovers people see this practice not as burdensome or obligatory, but a calling to a life of generosity and compassion. LeBlanc, in addition, talks with a variety of Christians, including a pastor on Chicago's south side, a progressive Episcopalian and an Eastern Orthodox priest. Through his discussions, each of these demonstrates tithing to be a blessed gift that allows us to draw deeper into a life of joy that begins in the very heart of God.
Average Customer Rating:
3.069 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
1
11 out of 1765%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tithing: Test Me in This
Review 1 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I found it to be rather dry...

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Osunny
Location:Shepherd, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just finished this book and it surprised me. I thought it would be an instructional book on tithing and it turned out to be stories about people just like me and my friends who tithe out of a love for God and His Word. It started out rather slow and kind of dry and I probably won’t read it a second time any time down the road. It is encouraging to know that God has a plan and His plan is perfect. I would recommend this book to those that are unsure about the value of tithing and how God blesses the tithe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Tithing by Douglas Leblanc Book Review

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Torntores
Location:Fredericton N.B.
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"When we tithe, the blessings keep flowing in faster than we can bail them out again."
A quote from the book which has great meaning. When you give to God, He keeps blessing you over and over again.
This book is simple to read and it shows stories upon stories on the subject Tithing.
I would not use this book in explaining tithing, there is no real in depth on the issue but more or less just for a book to read on how people have tithed and live happy lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Foolishfeathers
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is part of the Ancient Practices Series which is a set of eight books that explore eight different disciplines of faith. The Author explores the particular topic of tithing through the telling of stores about people who practice this discipline. Each person told about are from different spiritual, social, and economic backgrounds. Some stories are from the Author's personal knowledge and interaction with the person or interviewed. While there are persons introduced that are part of those person's circle (i.e. a parishioner, or spouse or background on family history of those interviewed). There is a study-guide included for each chapter at the back of the book. I picked this book to read because frankly it is a topic that I rarely hear about in the pulpit these days. The stories shared by the author opened my eyes to thoughts and discussions about tithing. It's more than a lecture and a call to open up the checkbook. It's all about a call to open up the purse-strings of one's heart. There are some debates about a certain portion being given as mentioned in the Old Testament and the idea of "grace" bringing in an age of more service-orientated tithe. In the end I have to admit that i was pre-disposed to dislike the book, but the actual reading of it change my mind! The stories were warm and engaging and tackled the information in a way that a regular person can understand without seeking a Masters degree in Theology. I have a firmer grip and understanding of the discipline of tithing and why I should practice it for myself. I truly enjoyed this book and plan to look for more books in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through a book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

to tithe or not to tithe

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"'Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this' says the LORD Almighty, 'and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.'" Malachi 3:10, NIV
when you pick up Tithing by Douglas Leblanc there's a question on the back of the book: "In these uncertain economic times, does it really make sense to tithe?"
do you ask yourself this question?
does your community of faith ask this question?
i've been challenged by this question and the importance of tithing.
Tithing is a volume in the wonderful Ancient Practices Series from Thomas Nelson. edited by Phyllis Tickle, the series covers beautiful spiritual practices that have been observed throughout spiritual history.
Tithing is a great addition to the works. it's well written and easy to follow.
it's not merely a book about tithing, it's a book about community and fellowship with God and with others.
Tithing contains thoughts and reflections from many generations and many traditions. Leblanc shares from the many conversations he had regarding the ancient pracitce of tithing.
this is a wonderful book. i recommend it for anyone on a spiritual journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thoughts are presented in a non-traditional format

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazingbookreviewsbystarr
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eleven different stories come together to tell the story of peoples experiences with tithing. Each story discusses how they came to the decision to not only tithe, but to tithe faithfully. Some of the stories are shared as a couple invites Leblanc in for a glimpse of their life. Some are the stories of individuals. But the connection that ties all of the stories together is the fact that tithing has made a tangible difference in the way that they live out their faith but how they view their finances.
The stories were inspiring and gave a refreshing look on the aspect of tithing. There is much debate about whether tithing should continue, whether to tithe of the net or gross income. But that was not what this book was about. It was a gathering of people who decided to share what tithing meant to them and how God fulfilled the promise of Malachi 3:10 in their lives. This was not a typical approach to the topic, but it allowed the book to be read with an open mind and open heart/ Depending on how open you are to the topic will determine how much of impact the book will have you and your view on tithing.
I finished the book with a better understanding of tithing, Tithing doesn’t just offer scripture and the Biblical perspective, but it’s personal. It’s also not just a matter of “ I gave my tithe and God provided”. The people who shared their stories struggled and they had to wait, they had to adjust their living so that they could faithfully tithe. I also leave with a different impression of what tithing is really about. It’s not simply an obligation, or a discipline of faith. It is good stewardship.
I received a complimentary copy of Tithing: test me in this by Douglas Leblanc through Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. Opinions stated are my own. A positive review is not required. This is disclosed in accordance to Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
bailey
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tithing is an ancient practice that is viewed in many ways by many Christians. This book interviews many Christians and their views on tithing. Whether they tithe their money, assets, or time. Many of the people interviewed describe how they find God's grace through this process, and how they believe in giving as much as possible.
I found this book very challenging. I have always known about giving the ten percent but to read about people who give much more than just ten percent and still have no worries astounds me. People giving their financial problems over to God and then giving more and more, while still being blessed is very hard to understand. This book was very insightful and really made me think about were my own money goes, and how I can give more. If you are looking for an in depth challenge or a clearer view on what tithing is, this book has great examples. You will find yourself asking what more can I do, or can I learn to live with the basics instead of name brands?
BookSneeze has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what you think

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is about being blessed through tithing it is not a demand to give more money. It does make you think about where you spend your money. I would have liked to have seen more interviews with average people and not just clergy/ministry leaders. Overall a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Focus on Recent Christian History

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lola
Location:Miami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tithing: Test Me in This by Douglas Leblanc is one of the books in the Ancient Practice Series that discusses how the ancient practice of tithing is applicable to our busy lives in modern times. The author interviews several religious leaders, families and individuals to find out what they think about tithing, why they are in favor of it, and how tithing has improved their financial situations. The responses that the author got were varying, and some of the responses were unusual. All of the people interviewed were of the opinion that tithing had improved their lives and their relationships with God.
I liked this book, but I would suggest it to someone who knows a little more about the history of Christianity and has more religious vocabulary than I. The author discusses a few events from the recent history of Christianity, but I sheepishly admit that I didn't always know what he was talking about. There is also some unclear Christian vocabulary in the book that most people probably won't fully understand. There is a lot of talk about “stewardship”, for example, but it is never really defined. Different people who were interviewed had various opinions about where the command to tithe comes from and how much people should tithe. Some of the individuals suggested some weird ideas alike “You should tithe, even if you are really too poor, because God doesn't want you to know where you will get your next meal.” I don't agree with them, but I still liked reading this book because it discusses tithing in detail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stories, not Theory

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This book is the fifth in the Ancient Practices Series.
It addresses one of the most controversial practices, too.
The concept of giving God at least 10% of our income is a significant challenge.
The author avoids theory in favor of story. LeBlanc interviews twelve couples and individuals to learn more about what they have experienced as they live a life shaped by generous giving.
The first half of the book was quite inspiring. But some of the later interviews were more difficult to connect with. I'd suggest picking and choosing your favorite stories and skipping the rest.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Essence of God is Giving

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elder Wiggins
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book “Tithing: Test Me In This” by Douglas LeBlanc and Phyllis Tickle is one of the books in the Ancient Practices series. The foreword gives a good clarification about the difference between disciplines and practices. There are seven ancient disciplines (though these are not all explained in this series):
Fasting
The sacred meal
Tithing
Keeping of the Hours
The Hallowing of the Sabbath
The Observance of the Liturgical Year
The Making of Pilgrimage
The first three govern the body, its product and appetite. The other four govern how we spend our time. Two of the seven are listed as being awkward and more private to most people: fasting and tithing. This book covers the latter.
I was reminded in the introduction of when I first became a tither. As a new believer, I learned about tithing and immediately began to tithe 10% of my gross income (which was a stark contrast to being a child watching my grandparents pay “dues” in the traditional Baptist church where they were members). That was in 1998 and I’ve been tithing ever since.
This book was not about historical significance or to bombard you with scriptures to encourage you to trust God with your finances. It was full of personal accounts from people with varying backgrounds and experiences in their own words. There were two analogies that I appreciated. The first compared tithing to exercising “the overflowing of Jesus’ compassion, love and self-giving”. Like with any muscle, the more you use it, the more that muscle grows. The more you apply God’s principles, the stronger you get in the Lord. In the second analogy, tithing was equated to having training wheels on a bicycle. It feels like a constriction at first, but after a while grace moves you to a place where you no longer have to think about it, but somehow you are being sustained. To a tither and to God, there is no such thing as a fixed income or a salary freeze. God can move in miraculous ways when we are in covenant with Him.
Tithing is not about legalism, it’s about faith. The essence of God is giving. If we are made in His image, then we should be givers as well. While I could not relate to a few of the stories in the book and even disagreed with some of the comments, the people interviewed watched God move in amazing ways in their lives because of their willingness to trust God by keeping material things in perspective.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book of tithing testimonies

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cleverly Changing
Location:DC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Douglas Leblanc's "Tithing: Test Me In This" is a part of his Ancient Practices Series. The book presents a series of testimonies from various people that tithe. The book focuses on the application of the Bible's principal of tithing and outlines why it is practical and relevant today. Additionally, Leblanc's stories reveal that tithing is a lifestyle and not a legalistic form of Christianity.
The book subtly makes a case for tithing, but not by stating it bluntly or quoting scriptures. I like Leblanc's approach to the subject because we live in a society that is concerned about practicality. The myriad of people represented come from all types of religions and professional backgrounds. There are however, three common links: one, they all tithe; two, financially they are content; and three, they believe in a strong since of community.
While the book is enjoyable overall, some of the testimonies touched me personally more than others. Therefore, I am curious about how he decided to order them the way he did. I also would personally lean more toward a balanced approach and provide more information about the history of tithing and mention more texts about the subject. Nonetheless, the book is a good read overall. Does it compel you to want to tithe? No, but if you already tithe, it encourages you to feel good about your decision. For these reasons I would give the book 3.5 stars out of 5.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Personal Examples of a Biblical Truth

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shanee
Location:Kingston Springs, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book "Tithing" by Douglas Leblanc is a great compilation of stories about God's blessings on those who tithe. The practice of tithing as supported in this book show that tithing has no denominational boundaries. People from all walks of life and those who hold differing doctrinal beliefs all seem to have one truth that binds them together- "God blesses those who tithe." The stories found within the pages of this book are stories of people with a true passion for Christ, and it is not just in word, but in deed as well.
The one thing this book lacks is a true sense of why tithing is important. The book was very strong in displaying the end results of what God will do for those who tithe, but there was very little Biblical referencing to the act of tithing. It is an encouraging read for those who may be questioning whether tithing has its benefits, but it would have been more effective had it given a stronger biblical foundation for it. I was expecting this to be somewhat of a commentary on the concept of tithing and giving, but all in all, I found it to simply be an intimate display of those who were faithful to tithe and see God follow through in His faithfulness to provide.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 DFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tithing test me in this is a interesting book. The author Douglas LeBlanc speaks on a very controversial subject, and that is about giving our money to God. I found myself interested in what the author had to say about tithing. I thought that I would be able to use it as a Bible study, but that was not the case.
The author references the scripture Malachi 3:10, and some others, but Tithing test me in this is not a book you can use as a bible study class. In his book Tithing Douglas LeBlanc shares with his reader testimonies of clergy, liberals, activist, and some conservative Christians, and what tithing means to them, and the fruit of tithing. Some testimonies were touching and heartfelt, but others were just unrealistic. I found myself searching for every day examples of tithing, and with each testimony I did not find this. It is easy to tithe when you already have money, and an education, but what of the every day person who lives paycheck to paycheck, and their testimony of tithing. I did not find these such testimonies. I only read of people with multiple degrees, and money also.
I finally completed the book, and I came to my own conclusion tithing is your own testimony, just as your spiritual walk with the Lord is personal. What you do with your relationship with God is between you and God. What you give to God only He knows. You cannot out give God. He gave us so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julia
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is about the ongoing conflict in the Middle East over the land of Israel. The author gives biblical evidence that leads him to conclude that one man is the cause of all the unrest and turmoil: Father Abraham.
The book gives the history of Abraham and how his sin (adultery) lead to the crisis that is still happening today. The book is divided in two parts. The first part is the history of the "founders of the conflict". The author gives the history of Abraham, his sons Ishmael and Isaac, Isaac's sons Esau and Jacob and so on. There is a lot of references from the Bible that do back up every claim the author makes in this first section.
The second part describes the conflicting views of the three major religions who have a stake in Israel: Judaism, Islam and Christianity. The author is writing from a Christian perspective about how all three religions feel about the Jewish people and their claim to Israel.
I enjoyed this book. It is a good read, but often repetitive. He gives the history of Abraham SEVERAL times and though meant for emphasis, it becomes redundant filler. Even though this book is non-fiction, I believe the author wove a lesson for all Christians throughout the book: God's timing is perfect. He emphasizes this many times with the story of Abraham and Sarah and emphasizes that there is not a verse in the Bible that says "God helps those who help themselves."
I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for more information on the conflict in Israel. It is an important subject that all Christians need to know about and this book is a great starting place. 4 out of 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:San Dimas, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Douglas Leblanc has worked as en editor for Compassion International, Episcopalians United, and Christianity Today; and his work has appeared in Christian Research Journal, The Weekly Standard and The Wall Street Journal.
First off let me just say that Leblanc’s book on tithing is not a theological treatise on the biblical understanding of giving. It’s not quite 200 pages and the font type is very readable. So just know that reading this book is a journey and a story and not necessarily a lecture. I have read a lot of critics of the Ancient Practice Series who seem to be hungering for “meat” at the table, but I would remind them all that “learning” can also take place from the shared experiences of others. The Wesleyian Quadrilateral reminds us that we can arrive at theological understanding through four different sources: scripture, tradition, reason, and experience. And I would argue that the Ancient Practice Series tends to pull from the reason and experience side more than the scripture and tradition side.
The book is a series of eleven interviews conducted across the country gathering the views of various people who have a dedicated commitment to tithing. The stories come from a conservative evangelical, an Episcopalian priest, a progressive activist, a pacifist, a Roman Catholic monsignor, a church pastor, an Eastern Orthodox author, and a seventh day adventist who converted from Judaism.
Leblanc’s book begins with a beautifully written introduction that briefly summaries his own journey as well as a nice “shout out” to the church fathers. Leblanc offers this quote from the Conferences of John Cassian:
“So if even those who, faithfully offering tithes of their fruits, are obedient to the more ancient precepts of the Lord, cannot yet climb the heights of the gospel, you can see very clearly how far short of it those fall who do not even do this.” ~ John Cassian
I would recommend this book to people who like documentaries and stories about people. I would recommend this book to anyone who wanted to read modern tales that contained a new and perhaps fresh look at how tithing is practiced today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting...

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Airrykah
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Tithing by Douglas Leblanc is a very thought provoking read. It is a book about the different tithing practices of people from different walks of life. The author interviews married couples, a jewish Rabi, and African American pastor to name a few. The book shares the benefits that these people reaped in their lives after sewing financial seeds into their communities, churches and charities. With the different views concerning tithing that the people documented held Leblanc allows the reader to form their own opinion.
I am a huge fan of documenteries and anything that allows you to peak inside of the lives of others. Because of this I did enjoy the style that the author used in writing the book. My initial thoughts were that this would be a book that gave a clear opinion on whether or not the author was in favor of tithing. However, after reading this it was definitely along the lines of a written documentary. Leblanc interviewed people that practiced tithing and shares with readers how tithing affected the lives of those who chose to tithe.I don’t believe that it is the best book to read if you are looking to walk away with tons of biblical insight on tithing. If you would like to learn more about the concept of tithing in the lives of people that are totally different then this book is a great one for that.
It was a bit disappointing that the book did not really take a stand on tithing. Though I appreciated the examples that it gave I would have loved to hear a bit more about what the author’s thoughts on tithing were along with more biblical support of the practice. I must say that I think Douglas Leblanc is an excellent writer. The descriptions used throughout the book gave you the feeling that you were actually present during the interviews. I would not recommend this book to anyone looking to learn what the Bible has to say about tithing. However, for someone that wants to read individual experiences for tithers this is a great read.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tithing: Test Me in This
This review is fromTithing: Test Me in This.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
katie
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tithing, a book by journalist Douglas LeBlanc, discussed how tithing dramatically affects a variety of people of faith. In a journalistic fashion, he shares his experiences interviewing. It is part of an eight book series, The Ancient Practices.
Tithing is one of those topics that sometimes churches are hesitant to discuss, so I was intrigued by this book. However, I was a bit disappointed. I was hoping it would provide clarity to this sometimes debated topic, however it just gave opinions of others and the author didn’t actually share any theology.
One of the reasons this book was difficult for me to read was the journalistic style it was written in. It seemed to be wordy and went into a ton of background information on the people interviewed, that, in my opinion, wasn’t needed. I think if a lot of the “fluff” was removed, it would hold reader attention much easier.
This book did cause me to reflect on my own experience tithing. Also, I think some of the material and stories in the book could be helpful in a small group setting—especially if testimonies were summarized. There are discussion questions in the back would be helpful if the book was used in this way.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
John
Money has long been on the do not discuss list for dinner conversation. This makes the topic of tithing, the spiritual practice of giving resources back to God, a tricky topic indeed. How should we then address and understand this discipline?Douglas LeBlancs Tithing is not a theological treatise on the spiritual discipline. Rather, LeBlanc shows his journalism roots by interviewing several tithers about their experiences. This approach offers the reader an opportunity to see the discipline from a number of different perspectives. Hopefully LeBlanc has made the book more accessible to readers of various faith traditions rather than arguing from his own. From Episcopal churches and Christian non-profit organizations, to Seventh Day Adventists and a Jewish rabbi, LeBlanc covers a number of viewpoints.Tithing does a fair job of explaining our need to give. However, I believe readers should hear a note of caution about the benefits of tithing to the tither. There are numerous spiritual benefits for generosity and giving. However, the book suggests that tithers also reap economic benefits. Believing that giving to God ensures ones own financial security is a misunderstanding of why people should give.I received a copy of this book as part of the BookSneeze program through Thomas Nelson Publishers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan
Tithing, by Douglas LeBlanc, left me wanting more. In the book, LeBlanc provides eleven different perspectives on tithing by interviewing people from drastically different backgrounds and finding out how it has affected their lives. Overall, the book seemed disjointed and a bit fluffy.LeBlanc seemed to focus more on telling the stories of his interviews than on giving the reader any actual information about tithing. In one of the interviews, Mark Kellner says, "As far as I know, there's no mention in Scripture of tithing on money." As far as he knows? As a reporter, doesn't LeBlanc have the responsibility to research and answer that statement? It is, after all, a book about tithing.I admit to being a bit of a cynic, but there were points in the book where the theme seemed to be, "If you tithe, God will give you what you want; if you don't, He'll make sure terrible things happen to you." That is much too simplistic for my taste.As disappointed as I was in the book overall, there were some good points, too. They were just a bit too hard to find. LeBlanc does point out that tithing is less about money and more about the heart. Tithing positions us humbly before God as our provider, which is always a good thing. If you're looking for material that will actually instruct you on how to tithe or the biblical basis for it, this is not what you're looking for. If you're looking for stories that have a bit to do with how peoples' lives have been affected by tithing, (and a couple hours to spare) you might like this book. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tithing: Test Me in This
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matthew Dowling
This volume did not disappoint! I initially expected that the book would be a scriptural investigation of the phenomenon of tithing, but there is not a in-depth exegesis of the various biblical texts in this book. Instead, its just an intimate look at different people in all sorts of different backgrounds, exploring their stories for the way in which tithing and faith have met. Leblanc has really written in a style that captures the warmth and depth of the narratives of these people's lives. In some ways, the stories reveal how truly vulnerable one can become when you make yourself commit to tithing, and how that vulnerability is rewarded in so many unexpected ways.Many of the stories (each awarded a chapter in the book) are excellent and fun to read. I especially enjoyed the story of Ron and Arbutus Sider, whose powerful "Rich Christians in an Age of Hunger" inspires me. Seeing how these two faithful Christians incorporate tithing holistically into their lives of simplicity was marvelous. I also enjoyed that Leblanc interviewed those outside the Christian tradition to get their thoughts on the topic - the story with Rabbi Yisroel Miller is excellent.I recommend this title happily. The series is excellent and I plan in the near future to use it as a series for a book club. For all those interested in searching for that "Ancient/Future Faith" - this series is an excellent starting point. For those wondering how to better commit to the practice of tithing, this book will reveal the wonder and the dependency (and perhaps the glory) that is in store.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Sneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>