Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Prodigal Comes Home

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson The Prodigal Comes Home

Eleven years ago, amidst scandal, sin, and shattered lives, Michael English fell from the pinnacle of the Christian music world. Newspapers around the world blared the headline, "Gospel Singer Named Artist of the Year Turns in His Awards After Confirming He Had an Affair with a Fellow Married Singer." From 1994 to 2002 Michael English's life went from bad to worse--public shame, divorce, broken relationships, drug addiction, even homelessness. But in 2002, God reached out and rescued Michael from himself. Today Michael is whole again and for the first time he tells his story of redemption. 240 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
22
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Prodigal Comes Home
Review 1 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
stitches47
Location:Clinton, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Michael's for just a short time and have admired the emotion he puts into his singing. I have also seen some interview footage and realized how humble he is. I wanted to get into the depths of the man and this book does that. My heart goes out to him and thank God he did what he did to come back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book of Recovery of All!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Location:Los Angeles
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an awesome book, to see how far down Michael went, only to allow the Lord to bring him back up again, this time with his priorities in order. Very encouraging, as well as painful, in the way he treated his first wife concerning the other womans' baby. But praise be to God, He has fully restored Michael to continue praising in song and worship, with an even greater anointing than the first time around!
Pat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aimsley Porter
English is honest and presents his testimony with sincerity. Choices after his rededication however raised a question.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
William j. Colton
Sexual sins are destroying the fabric of Christian homes and it was refreshing to see someone deal honestly with this issue. My question is regarding the second marriage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brad Summerland
English is transparent regarding his rise and fall in the public's eye and as a leader in our men's ministry I appreciated his honesty. His shift after his rededication brought a red flag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Howard
I fully support English in his restoration to God. He wrote a transparent testimony and encourages men to stay the faithful course in the marriage and if they've fallen to humble themselves and seek God's grace. My confusion came with his remarriage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Davis Howard
English presented a heart felt and direct testimony. The clarity was refreshing. It's obvious God has and is working in this brother's life. My confusion came with his choice to remarry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Henley Stockdale
Excellent, endearing testimony of one brother's fall from grace and how God reached out to him in restoration. My issues lies with choices after his rededication.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
John D. Hobbs
Our society cares little about honesty and that is why this testimony touched me. English is so raw and it is appreciated. His choice to remarry however puzzled me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Radcliffe Hunter
I believe it is impossible to "rank" a testimony outside of its spiritual impact. English is refreshing, honest, and obviously wrote to encourage other fallen brothers. Thank you. The rank I selected had to do with a point of understanding remarriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nathan T.E. Mason
I was remarkably impressed with the honest concerning Mr. English's rebellion and restoration. Yet, too many questions swirled in my mind concerning his post rededication decisions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Conner Byler
English is open and vulnerable from page one. It was interesting to see how he finally realized God was the answer to his issue. I flinched about ten pages from the end knowing he wasn't going to bring closure to certain areas however and that left me feeling very unsure of his choices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
William C. Stoner
It was most refreshing to read a brother's startling honesty concerning sin and restoration. I only wish he would have clarified his position regarding remarriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Caitlyn Alley
This was a most encouraging account of Michael's challenges and restoration. However, it did fall short, leaving some questions unanswered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Desmond Rice
English is painfully honest concerning his fall from grace and the tragic consequences that followed. God was amazing and English appears indeed grateful. I was puzzled by omissions concerning his marriages from a biblical perspective
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Desmond Turner
It is easy to appreciate the honesty with which Mr. English shares his fall and rededication. It is hard to understand some of the choices after he was restored.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trent Parker
I attended an English concert years ago in the US and was so moved that it was hard to reconcile that man of faith with his fall. It was a sobering reminder of just how easily and quickly we can all succumb to our sin nature. I greatly appreciated the forwardness of English in his painful disclosures, but found it disheartening he avoided major issues enveloping his marital decisions.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr. Mitchell Darryn Gold
A highly revealing account of one man's struggles. God's grace and restoration are clearly evident. But plaguing issues remain regarding both marriages.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dodtson
I was very glad to see the honesty in Michael's testimony that many public figures, even in the Christian community lack. Too many unresolved issues remained however when the book ended; thus the low rating.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Prodigal Comes Home
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Valmont
Solid work reflecting real redemption and restoration. But it lacks completion. Where is Michael's compassion for his first wife? Why did he not reach out to her? Regardless the years, God mandates making amends. That one factor distanced me from all he shared. Sorry if that sounds judgmental, but how does he expect his life to be "whole" as he says with a gaping wound from his first marriage. How does he enjoy his second marriage knowing he has failed in this? Should he actually have married a second time? Too many unanswered questions. He just seems to have moved on too easily and too convenient - for him.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.