Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Messianic Jewish Publishers The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black

Messianic Jewish Publishers The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black

Presenting the Word of God as a unified Jewish book, the Complete Jewish Bible is a translation for Jews and non-Jews alike. It connects Jews with the Jewishness of the Messiah, and non-Jews with their Jewish roots. Names and key terms are returned to their original Hebrew and presented in easy-to-understand transliterations, enabling the reader to say them the way Yeshua (Jesus) did! For readers familiar with the Jewish New Testament, the Complete Jewish Bible is a welcome sight! 1697 pages.
  • 9-point text
  • Single-column format
  • End of Chapter Cross-references
  • Books of the Tanakh Listed in Christian Old Testament Order
  • How the Complete Jewish Bible Came to Be
  • Jewish Tanakh Versus Christian Old Testament
  • Poetry in the Complete Jewish Bible
  • The Jewishness of the New Testament
  • How the Complete Jewish Bible Expresses the B'rit Hadashah's Jewishness
  • Reasons for Certain B'rit Hadashah Renderings
  • Tanakh Prophecies Fulfilled by Yeshua the Messiah
  • Synagogue Usage of the Complete Jewish Bible
  • How to Pronounce the Hebrew Names and Terms
  • Pronouncing Explanatory Glossary
  • "Reverse" Pronouncing Glossary
  • Index of Tanakh Passages Cited in the B'rit Hadashah
  • Scripture Readings
  • 5 Black and White maps
  • Map Index
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (209 reviews)
5 stars
168
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
87 out of 9295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Review 1 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Praise the Lord

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift to my wife. She is praising God the Father for this Bible. It is a wonderful translation and God well with the KJV. If one is looking for an excellent Bible translation the Complete Jewish Bible would be a great choice. Bless God for His Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:TN.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy this version very much but find it a little difficult to read since I don't speak Hebrew. Doing cross ref. on every other word can be frustrating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fine addition to my NASB, HCSB and other Bibles

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mitch
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book offers a slightly different perspective and I greatly appreciate that. Many people have noted how they are so glad this was written by someone who is Jewish. I don't want to be negative, but the Jews of today have changed quite a bit from those of 2000 years ago (culturally speaking) as those Jews had changed greatly since the time spent wandering in the wilderness. While a good many traditions have been maintained, there have been many changes as well.
Please also remember that Saul spent most of his time teaching and preaching among non-Israelite descendants and his many epistles were written for the better understanding of who Jesus is and what we (speaking as non-Jewish) need to know to be saved.
That being said I am always striving to better understand the mindset and culture of those who each and every book of the Bible was written to/about. Why they books were written, who they were written to and what they were written for are the three most important questions to keep in mind as you read!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Completed Jewish Bible!

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jazzer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting one for over a year and I finally was able to get one. You must read the introduction (as long as it is) because it gives you so much insight into the reading and understanding of the features of the CJB. So glad to have one of my own now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One Failing

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zadok
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only failure of this product is that the embossing wears off relatively quickly, if one uses the book. The personalization has not worn off, but along the spine and part of the title is gone due to handling. Sure wish that could be fixed... I'd get another one in a heartbeat. It is otherwise a great product and feeds the spirit properly... Thanks CBD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoy the large print...makes for easier reading

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry C
Location:Huntsville, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The larger print makes it easier for reading. Both my wife and I make use of the version of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and interesting.

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chaplain DHO
Location:Williamson County, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IMHO, the Complete Jewish Bible belongs in every Christians' collection. Seeing the Jewish names for some of our Biblical hero's is quite interesting.
The text is true to our Christian beliefs and the scholarship is excellent.
The only reason for the not having a 5th star for quality is that the binding appears to me to be glued and not sewn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good addition to Bible collection

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
PianoLady
Location:Livonia, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I listen to online sermons by Messianic Rabbis who use this Jewish Bible. It makes it easier for me to follow what they are saying. It also is good to just to read on my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect translation...the real deal!

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
LesA
Location:Oregon, formerly California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all the many translations, this translation "is the real translation"...it leaves other ones in the dust because this one is "straight forward truthful". This is the Messianic Jewish choice and should be everyone else's, also!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Correct translation...Valuable and Value

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
LesA
Location:Oregon, formerly California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most correct translation. Even corrects the "tense" in an Isaiah verse like Joseph Smith did. Unique information which "matters". Even Micah 5:2 is so much better than any other translations. And of course it most correct about baptism being "immersion". Unfortunately other authors hid the truth by changing "The Word" to meet their own political means and not to lose their congregations. CJB is the one which the Messianic Jews prefer...obvious choice! Would like to see the CJB in real leather and indexed, but the present quality is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very large book.

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jazzer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book itself is very big. The print is not like other LARGE PRINT books but it is larger than in the regular CJB. It would be more of an at home as opposed to a travel bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my one and only after our L-rd

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah
if you truly would like to feel close in heart ,soul and mind to our L-rd then this translation of his word is a must to buy ... its my one and only, the first and last on a day , the guidance for your life from and through the word ...
may Adonai our G-d keep you and bless you all
may His light shine over you and give you His Shalom
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Spalding
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not what I would consider 'large print'.
Otherwise happy with product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Print not Dark enough!

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tim Hammock
Location:frisco, tx
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The print is to light, could be alot darker, maybe the press was running low on ink i dont know if its just my copy or if others have had same experience for this reason 3 stars if not would have been 5.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent bible

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ziva
Location:Panama City, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the features of this Bible. It is a great companion to my other biblical resources. Customer service was super. The mailman left my package at the wrong house. Christianbook sent me another Bible immediately to replace mine. The neighbor brought my package to me after they returned from a trip so I returned the second package. Thanks so much for being so understanding. I will definitely recommend your company to all my friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
James W
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this Bible. Well made, and meets the study needs for which I purchased it. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great help.

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roseven
Location:Manchester, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this publication aids my daily bible reading. It is an added boost as it's made me more aware of the Jewish view, their angle of things. Just seeing the Jewish names etc makes it all seem more authentic.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product.

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Evadne Davis
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will help me understand the Word in its original form.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice.

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Seeker
Location:Albuquerque,NM
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me start out that over all I am very pleased with the purchase of the "Complete Jewish Bible". It truly opens your eyes to the jewishness of the scriptures. I have always been a big fan of the KJV (poetical feel & authority) and my Interliner Bible (for that true literal read). At first it took a little getting used to the order of the OT writings and looking at the glossary for translations of hebrew words, but you get used to it and soon you are remembering the meanings and even catching yourself speaking hebrew words in prayer. This bible has become my daily reader and the more I read from it the more I am glad I bought it. It seems to bring the OT & NT together more. The only thing I would change really is the cover, I wish it was a little thicker leather. So over all a great buy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Complete Jewish Bible, Bonded Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Traveler
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I listen to Tom Bradford on Podcast. It is called Torah class and this is the Bible that he teaches from. It makes it so much easier to follow along using this Bible as he uses pages for reference rather than Chapters and verses. I Am very happy with this Bible and would recommend it to anyone trying to follow the teachings in a Jewish perspective.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...11Next >>>